We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very grand !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Lake Louise Dr., Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
403-522-3511
Update attraction details
Ranked #6 of 13 attractions in Lake Louise
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas
Attraction Details
Lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very grand !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

you can walk round the hotel when you visit Lake louise, we didnt stay in the hotel but wished we had done as I dont think the rates were very expensive (we had a motorhome at the time), the shops in the hotel were very nice and the grounds loverly. worth a stroll round if you visit the lake.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    75
    33
    5
    4
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mother Nature at her Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Winter at the Chateau cannot be better. Snow, cross country and downhill skiing, walking, fondue, waiting patiently for the Lake to freeze for skating and ...... So much more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“High Tea in a gorgeous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

When my mom and I went to Banff, one of the things she most wanted to do was have high tea at Lake Louise. It was very busy the weekend we were there, but the beauty of the surroundings still stood out. The hotel is beautiful and we got to have a lovely tea and snacks against the back drop of Lake Louise. Pricey, but worth it and a memory I will always have and cherish.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautifully set on the lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It is a Fairmont Hotel on the eastern shore of Lake Louise. The original Chateau was gradually built up at the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century by the Canadian Pacific Railway, so it is a relatively new building. Its interior has nothing really special to grab one's attention. Same applies to its exterior architecture
It's only the amazing views from the hotel (and the restaurant) to the lake and the setting of the hotel on the lake that make the entire combination beautiful.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lake Louise Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Went to Lake Louise for the day.
The Fairmont Chateau was a lovely hotel there was plenty of facilities they had a lovely cafe/restaurant with lots of lovely food and drink. The people were very friendly.
Round the Lake you can go hiking or walking also there was canoes that you can hire and go out onto the lake.
The Lake itself is very beautiful and peaceful. The gardens where beautiful and full of flowers It just looked like the postcards.
You can also take the shuttle bus to the Gondola ride up the mountain which we did and it included lunch that was very reeasonable priced.
I would suggest to get there early before the tourist buses arrive.
One of the highlights of our trip in canada

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list