We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola

Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola
Hwy. 1 | Lake Louise exit, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-522-3555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 15 Attractions in Lake Louise
Type: Trams, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cruise for fourteen glorious minutes, in an open chair or a fully enclosed gondola, to one of the world's great views! From the top, at 2088m (6850ft).The end of the lift and gondola ride is only the start of the adventure. At the top of the lift and gondola Interpretive Programs are available daily, including indoor presentations and themed guided walks.Stop by and enjoy a delicious buffet breakfast, lunch, or dinner prepared fresh, and served daily in the Lodge of the Ten Peaks!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Ask for Joel Ali at the ticket center. He is an enthusiast who will guide about different ideas. He also guided about times when there would be less crowd, and since we were a family of 9, we did need less crowd. He also mentioned about the buffet next door. I think that was also a great experience, although the food was ok.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmacqueen, Marketing Communications at Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review. The sightseeing gondola is a great activity for families and we are glad that you were able to share the experience with yours.

The buffet is a great way of increasing the value of any visit. For only $2.20 or $6.50 you can upgrade your gondola ticket to include the breakfast or lunch Buffet.

Hopefully you can come back one day with your family and see the area in winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    122
    38
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A great experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Unlike the Banff Gondola, here you have the option of taking a ski lift chair or enclosed gondola up the mountain. The ride is up is OK, its over the ski slops so not as pretty as the Banff Gondola up Sulfur Mountain. Once to the top there is a walk down the hill (back up later) to the interpretive centre - which we really enjoyed. Great information about the local wild life with rangers available to answer your questions. They also offer presentations, although we did not hang around for it to begin. Again, costly but worth once - we won't go back unless we go skiing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmacqueen, Marketing Communications at Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Joe,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the sightseeing gondola.

We like to tell visitors that to get the most value out of their visit they can upgrade their gondola ticket to include the buffet. This way they can include a Breakfast or Lunch for $2.20 or $6.50.

See you in the winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“No bears, but great views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We didn't realize there was such a slim chance of seeing a grizzly this early in the season so high up. We were told later that in May you are more likely to see one in the valley. Which we did see along 1A a few days later. The wildlife center at the top was very informative.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmacqueen, Marketing Communications at Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi smileyeye,

Thank you for posting your review.

The area under the sightseeing gondola is a wildlife corridor which wild Grizzlies frequent all through summer. It's true that we tend to see more from June to August.

Luckily the views and interpretive center are always there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
69 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Best Gondola views in the Rockies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is in my opinion is the best view from a Gondola in the rockies. You get to see Lake Louise, "the Jewel of the Rockies" from across the valley. There is just nothing that compares to it. The Banff Gondola is nice too, but nowhere near the same scenery. I would recommend this gondola to anyone and there is a pretty good chance of seeing a Grizzly on the ride up as it is prime grizzly feeding area in the summer. Don't worry though, there is an electric fence around the resort.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmacqueen, Marketing Communications at Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Darren,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Sightseeing Gondola. Maybe you can come back in winter for some skiing and to check out the winter landscape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Highly recommend this activity at sunset on a sunny, winter day. The beauty of the Rockies and the color changes on the sommets of the mountains was stunning. Very romantic and amazing experience and with the trail on the top, you can really milk the scenery for all its worth :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmacqueen, Marketing Communications at Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi KE

Thank you for your review.

What a fantastic suggestion! Sunset mid winter is a fantastic time to take in the view. As long as you dress warm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.