We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola

Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola
Hwy. 1 | Lake Louise exit, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-522-3555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 15 Attractions in Lake Louise
Type: Trams, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cruise for fourteen glorious minutes, in an open chair or a fully enclosed gondola, to one of the world's great views! From the top, at 2088m (6850ft).The end of the lift and gondola ride is only the start of the adventure. At the top of the lift and gondola Interpretive Programs are available daily, including indoor presentations and themed guided walks.Stop by and enjoy a delicious buffet breakfast, lunch, or dinner prepared fresh, and served daily in the Lodge of the Ten Peaks!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We took a trip up the gondola which is well worth the money, if you can take the open gondola rather than the closed one as the views on the way up and down are stunning and unhindered by any glass. We were told that under the path of the gondola was a good place to see Grizzly bears, sadly for us this was not the case as we didn't see anything however the views from the top of the gondola were brilliant, we paid and did a small walk with a guide who was able to point out some of the signs of bears and other wildlife, this is well worth doing if you have the time and it only cost a few dollars.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmacqueen, Marketing Communications at Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Smileycat13

Thank you for sharing your review of the sightseeing gondola. We are sorry that you did not manage to catch a glimpse of a wild Grizzly while you were here. We do see Grizzlies from the lift nearly every day from June to September. But there are unfortunately times of the day where they are out of sight off doing bear stuff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    122
    38
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Priceless View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

View like you're in a magazine. Rode all the way to the top in a gondola, took a bunch of pictures, had ice cream, and touched snow in July!! Truly unforgettable.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmacqueen, Marketing Communications at Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review of the Sightseeing gondola.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy the view and an ice-cream!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Got to go the last day it was opened for the season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great view going up, though they could clean the plexy glass a little better. Unfortunately, Lake Louise was so far away from the gondola

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmacqueen, Marketing Communications at Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi and thank you for posting your review.

We do attempt to replace the plexiglass on the sightseeing gondolas regularly. The gondola you were riding in must be getting closed to be being replaced.

You are correct, the Gondola is located to the other side of the valley to Lake Louise. This is how we get such a great view of the Lake, Glacier and valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hanover, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Rode to top of the Gondola, the view was great. We walked all the way to the top and took pictures of the scenery.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmacqueen, Marketing Communications at Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi and thank you for posting a review of the sightseeing gondola.

The top of the gondola is a great place to start a walk. You are already as high as most of the mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING GONDOLA VIEWS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had high hopes for this gondola trip, but were spoilt by the Peak 2 Peak in Whistler and the Banff Gondola where the mountains were more spectacular. We found the slopes disappointing and the higher lift was closed due to winter preparation

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmacqueen, Marketing Communications at Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi Anne,

Thank you for posting your review. We are sorry that you found the view of Lake Louise disappointing.

During summer operations we only ever use the lower lift. This is done to take visitors to the viewing platform and interpretations center. At the interpretation center we hold free presentations and displays on the plentiful Grizzlies in the area. Guests are free to walk the upper areas of the mountain but find the views at the viewing platform some of the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Louise Sightseeing Gondola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.