We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chalets in a beautiful, quiet setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Baker Creek Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great chalets in a beautiful, quiet setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here in winter, Feb 2013, a beautiful time in the mountains all the more for staying here for 10 days to soak it all in.
We had a chalet for the 3 of us (Me, Wife and Son) that easily housed us in comfort. Wood delivered as required for the blazing fire, meals at the bistro magnificent, ample facilities to cook your own feeds as well as required with a full kitchen.
We rented a car in Banff and toured all over the valley, skied at the lake Louise ski hill and did all those things you do when visiting this area. Baker Creek is perfectly located for all this but tucked away from the hustle and bustle.
I hope to come back one day in the summer to see it in all its glory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    100
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
128
230
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Nestled away from the tourist trails of Lake Louise and Banff, Baker Creek offered everything we were looking for. We stayed in a Jacuzzi Loft room which overlooked the creek and was extremely spacious (would comfortably sleep a family of 4, we were only 2).
The kitchen was well equipped for low-fuss dinners however make sure you do the dishes yourself because they will charge you an additional cleaning fee if they are left unwashed.
The train does come by quite frequently at night and can be noisy however we were not right next to the tracks so it didn't bother us too much.
On our final day we saw a grizzly bear wandering down the train tracks just 2km from the accommodation, amazing!
We also ate dinner at the Baker Creek restaurant and whilst it was pricey the food was fantastic!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the train line if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location is ideal because the surroundings are beautiful with mountain views and Baker Creek. The grounds are lovely and well maintained. The rooms are very clean and the kitchens are well stocked. The noise from the train that passes very close to the resort was not an issue for us. We had a wood stove in our loft chalet, and complimentary wood and kindling is provided for your whole stay! No chopping required, which was a real bonus.
The rooms are not equipped with iron and ironing boards, however they can be borrowed from the front desk.

Room Tip: In the one bedroom Chalet with loft, #14, we didn't have a fire for the last two out of three ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked our trip looking at trip advisor and this definately was the spot to stay. It is outside town by about fifteen minutes. We did Banff first staying there two nights (Hidden Ridge Resort) and drove to Jasper (Bear Hill Lodge) for two nights and did Lake Louise last. We found out it was only 2 hours to the Calgary airport so we chose this instead of staying in Calgary. The cabins were so cozy and they had firewood and the wood stove all ready to light. It was chilly on September 24th. We had dinner at their Bistro that is right on the property. It was wonderful. The owner started a fire for us in the restaurant fireplace. We were two couples and wanted our own baths so we had two log cabins right next to each other. The front desk folks were amazing, so friendly and helpful and we loved the cat that sleeps in the box at check in! We woke up the next morning to find 3 inches of snow after a 75 degree day! It was so pretty and peaceful. Since Lake Louise is not all that big we rented ATV's in Golden and would highly recommend doing this. The vistas were spectacular! Baker Creek may be a bit pricey but worth it!

Room Tip: We liked having a frig and stove and a table to sit at. We cooked breakfast in. The log cabins were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've stayed at a number of resorts and lodges in the Rockies and this is one of the best. It is not back-country but it has a similar feeling, but you can access by car taking as much as you wish.
We had a jacuzzi suite on the second floor in a lodge, not a cabin and it was great. We also celebrated our wedding anniversary there, bringing our own snacks and wine to supplement the half bottle of bubbly that was included in our package. We went hiking around Lake Louise on two days (Little Beehive back to Lake Agnes Teahouse & next day, Plain of 6 Glaciers) with a very nice dinner at their Bistro.
The resort is about 11 km from LL village / info centre and we went there for breakfast (coffee & muffin to supplement our fruit & juice) and picked up sandwiches from Laggans for a trail lunch. Coffee is available in the room but we had to buy some milk.
We had no concern with the adjacent CPRail mainline as the track is fairly level and the room was quite sound-proof with the door closed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Well tended grounds, lovely staff, good on site bistro. An on site shop would be useful as there is only one general store in Lake Louse so if self catering it would be a good idea to call for provisions before arriving. We visited in August & had to go & buy fly spray as the Mosquitos were horrendous! The location is beautiful, our apartment looked out on to the river & it was wonderful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited Baker Creek for our Wedding Anniversary. A short drive to Lake Louise. Our cabin was very cosy and romantic nestled amongst trees and the snow. The open fire place and no TV made for some nice R&R. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was good. All in all a lovely private getaway in our own little log cabin. Thanks for the hospitality.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baker Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Address: Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baker Creek Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, Mountain Chalets, situated on scenic Bow Valley Parkway, 6 miles east of Lake Louise & 25 miles west of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Baker Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Creek Chalets Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker Creek Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.