We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a repeat visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Baker Creek Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“a repeat visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is our second annual visit to Baker Creek Chalets. In the middle of winter it is an awesome place to stay. Real wood-burning fireplace in the cabin, and a kitchenette depending on the unit. Lots of snow, and ample places to hike. Lake Louise is 15 minutes away so there is lots to do. The family owned property has chosen an excellent service team, always helpful and cheery. It is off the beaten track on the 1A highway between Banff and Lake Louise, so you miss all the traffic. If you are lucky, you will hear one or two freight trains ramble through the mountains at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    100
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
128
232
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon. The staff were friendly & left us a bottle of wine, a card, & maple crunch bars.
The jacuzzi suite was beautiful & good price for the off season. The only complaint we had is the shower needs some plumbing work, as it gets really hot after you run it for 5 mins. & there was a water leak under the sink in the same washroom - we informed the staff & they are aware of this now. We also found that the restaurant is not "Vape" friendly - electronic cigarettes not allowed. Overall though - it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in the deluxe Jacuzzi room with another couple. Very easy drive to/from Lake Louise, the staff were friendly and incredibly helpful with every request. We spent most of our time downhill skiing but there is so much more to do (ice skating, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing) that I would love to come back for a longer time stay. The cabin was cozy, impeccable, and the perfect size for four people with plenty of storage area for our skis and snowboards. The kitchenette is somewhat limited with a very small fridge and no specialty sort of appliances, but if we did the stay over I would cook more in the room. All of the food options nearby (including the bistro) are good but pricey. But, I highly recommend this place for comfort, location, and value! We visited the Fairmont Chateau for dinners and I much preferred the atmosphere at Baker Creek if you prefer a less stuffy and more peaceful hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe jacuzzi room all the way!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Loved this place. the lady at the tourist centre recommended bakers creek as a genuine Canadian experience. It's about 15km out of lake Louise and in an awesome location. The cabins are beautiful little 2 bed homes with a wood fireplace. There is also a very nice (but a little pricey) bistro on site and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at Bakers Creek for a week in June 2012. The cabin was very clean and the location was amazing. Everyday we saw wildlife from bears, moose,deer and much much more. The location of the cabins is great your near lake louise and downtown Banff. Bakers creek is very much get one with nature so if your looking to party stay in Banff. We loved making smores after dinner and taking long walks around the river. This was a wonderful family getaway and we will be returning in 2013. I highly recommend Bakers Creek to everyone. The Bliss Family

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Recently moved from New Zealand to Calgary - our 2nd visit to this wonderful location..this time in the Heritage Trappers Cabin - what a great cabin! We spent 6 nights over xmas, A great location to visit other tourist spots. We loved the fireplace & even managed to use the BBQ! The staff were great hosts and we even received a nice gingerbread house on xmas day!
Our only disappointment was the Bakers Creek Bistro (2nd time in a year) The Xmas dinner was a set menu which we booked in well on advance and yet they ran out of the listed soup! Our main course was luke warm & it took 20min before we rec`d our first drinks....overall disappointing! The food is nice but for the $ they charge, one would expect better service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Alberta
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our third visit to the Chalet. We called last minute for a cabin. None available due to Christmas Holidays and the New Year. But they did have a Jacuzzi Kitchen Suite so we took that. To our surprise it is almost as nice as your own cabin. Looks just like one. So cozy. Even had a small Christmas Tree with lights and garland around the fireplace mantle. We had an 11 hour drive to get there, so after we checked in we went into their Bistro for a bite to eat. We've been in the dining area before but never the lounge. This time we went both evening to the lounge. The staff are very friendly, the drinks were great and the food was delicious. It made for a very relaxing, inviting atmosphere. The grounds are gorgeous and were decorated with Christmas lights and Santa Hats. One of the evenings they had a Bon Fire out by the creek which we went. Had Hot Chocolate with Marshmallows. Nice time. They also have a large skating rink. Already thinking about our next visit. Reminder there is no phones or tv's... and limited internet.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baker Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker Creek Mountain Resort

Address: Bow Valley Parkway, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baker Creek Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, Mountain Chalets, situated on scenic Bow Valley Parkway, 6 miles east of Lake Louise & 25 miles west of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Baker Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Creek Chalets Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker Creek Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.