We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Tourist Trap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crossing

The Crossing
Bag 333 | Saskatchewan River Crossing,, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
(403) 761-7000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 29 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Typical Tourist Trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Located halfway between Jasper and Lake Louise this place has a monopoly on the icefield parkway.

There is a cafeteria, gas station and souvenir shop.

We didn't dine as we always like to take a picnic and enjoy a peaceful stop with a view. As we were there off season there was some bargains in the gift shop.

All I will say is that you should prepare yourself for a trip along the icefiald parkway (full tank of gas and some snacks) and just stop here to stretch your legs and use the bathroom.

The place was clean, however would imagine it is a nightmare in the summer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    10
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crane Hill, Alabama
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“No Other Choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Crossing is located half way between Banff and Jasper and there are no other choices for many miles. There are two parts to the restaurant, a Buffet and a Cafeteria Line. We tried both. The Cafeteria line has a lot of fried food choices and very little healthy food to choose from. The Buffet has selection of overcooked meats and vegetables and again little healthy food

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We were warned.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were told by the B & B owner we where stayed not to stop at The Crossing Resort for a meal on our way to Jasper , why we didn't listen I don't know .
The food in the cafe was sub standard verging on disgusting , two of the orders were fish and chips which were burnt to a crisp , I think they had used rubber chicken in the soup and the whole cafe is in need of a big clean up , the Mt Wilson Restaurant was closed even though it was supposed to be open for lunch and the Parkway Pub was open but you had to cook your own , that was the last thing we wanted to do due to the amount of travel we still had to go .
This place knows that there isn't much choice along the Parkway Icefields so they can treat the travellers like a " cash cow " . Shame on you !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Il
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best place to get souvenirs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

They have a little of everything and at reasonable prices. I like to top it off with a popcorn to go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The crossing had good food, much better then the Icefield, and it was a good portion but it is very expensive. We ate in the cafeteria, they have a restaurant but every time I've been there, they are also a good bathroom break, it's been closed for a private function. I wish it wasn't so expensive, they get to take advantage of the fact there's not a lot of choices on the parkway. Make sure you have a full tank of gas as they are the only gas station between Jasper and Lake Louise so they charge a lot for that too. They have a nice gift shop, but I saved my shopping for Jasper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crossing also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.