We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bill Peyto's Cafe

Bill Peyto's Cafe
203 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Healthy
Description: in the Canadian Alpine Center-- it's in the youth hostel
Restaurant details
Description: in the Canadian Alpine Center-- it's in the youth hostel
london
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Yes it's part of the Hostel but the staff were lovely and the food and drink excellent and good value

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    79
    24
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best deal for the best hearty food in Lake Louise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This restaurant is attached to the Family Hostel in Lake Louise. It is right outside the little village of Lake Louise. The prices for a great meal range from 10 to 13 dollars. We love the chilli which is a meal big enough for two people. We also enjoy the greek salad.The beer is cheap,about $6 for a pint. They provide generous french fries. We like to pay a little extra and get the sweet potato fries. The decor is rustic with old hiking boots attached about the fireplace. There are tables next to the fireplace. The staff is young and helpful. Our waiter was from Australia. We started to dine here because the price, value, and hospitality were great for us because we couldn't afford many meals at the Chateau Lake Louise and Deer Lodge. whether you are on a budget or spluring, this is a great restaurant. I recommend this chilli about Madison Wisconsin's favorite chilli restaurant Dotty Dumplings. They also have a great borwning and ice cream dessert which was terribly filling . They play extreme skiing and snowboarding movies all the time.,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hostel Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Visited Peyto's cafe for breakfast on a trip to Alberta at the end of September. A little hard to find, the dining room is an open room with large wooden tables and chairs. They had a relatively short but adequate list of breakfast choices. Beware the open room- a couple of screaming children in an open echo chamber-not addressed by either parents or management can try ones patience.
We ordered eggs-scrambled and over-easy, both OK .Bacon very overcooked,toast was good, potatoes nice and fresh. Coffee was OK. This meal cost less than 1/2 of what had routinely paid elsewhere during our trip ($30 for 2), and we considered it a bargain. Our server (Mairead?) was efficient and very pleasant. If breakfast were not my favorite meal of the day, I would return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Really Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The service is somewhat inconsistent, however if you can look past that, it is a great place. Good is really well done. Always fresh, hot and made correctly.

Bill Peyto burger is my go to, along with a poutine. BBQ Chicken wrap is another great option too.

Highly recommend Bill Peytos!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Awesome find in Lake Louise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We were searching for any place to eat and were recommended to try this cafe. The food was awesome, service great and atmosphere lovely. Great find!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Peyto's Cafe also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Bill Peyto's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill Peyto's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.