We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre to your Saves list
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
203 Village Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adequate stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lake Louise is generally quite an expensive place to stay. We stayed in a private room with shared bathroom and found the rooms to be small but comfortable and there is a toilet/basin for every two private rooms. Kitchen was spacious and well-equipped and most importantly I found everything to be clean. Noise of people moving about and talking as well as water pipes can travel a bit while in your room. The place is not obvious from the road. You will see a sign with something like "Canadian Alpine Centre Hostelling International" rather than HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre.

Room Tip: There may be less noise on the higher floors but there is no elevator so you'll need to carry yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    69
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
51
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dungog, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a lovely hostel in a idyllic location. Lake Louise is magnificent and whilst I loved so much about this area, I can't recommend this hostel (if you are looking for a reasonably priced private room). After staying in lovely b&b's in banff and jasper (for around $75 plus tax), this room (just under $100) was way overpriced and under loved. A shared bathroom and probably the most basic room I have ever stayed in. My suggestion......stay in banff, where there heaps more options and better value and make lake louise a day trip. It is only a 45 minute drive from banff and you will have a better nights sleep and get more bang for your buck. I would like to say, the hostel is very nice and seemed to be well run. The situation and pricing may well be different in the dorms. This review is specifically about the private rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I lived at this hostel for almost 2 months and can say it was probably the best 2 months of my life.

I really get upset when I read reviews criticizing the fact that it is basically a HOSTEL, I mean its pretty ignorant in my opinion to stay at hostel and complain you had communal showers, or other people sharing your room, its a hostel not a hotel ( there is an S in it to clarify). In comparison, 2 bunk rooms for 4 people is alot quieter and private than huge 16 bunk communal rooms you typically encounter at a hostel. This communal living accommodation is kinda of what a hostel is...

I have stayed in hostels all over Europe and this hostel is one of the best i stayed at, A Luxury hostel by all means. Rooms have private baths, free wifi, huge well equipped kitchen with actual fridge space, great communal spaces, theater room, sauna, fire pit outside. Staying here for the length I did I feel i have a better perspective on the place than your typically reviewer and can say that the place was always kept clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. With a hostel you get what you put in, meaning, you need to put yourself out there, be social, make friends and try new things.

If you do some research you will find that there is something going one almost every other night of the week, Sunday "Church" night B&G (church meaning drinking), Monday Dance night at stables by lake louise, Tuesday karaoke at the hostel, and I think Thursday explorers dance night. Just remember everyone that live in town works in tourism so the party nights are not the weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in a dorm room, only 4 beds in the room which is great, even better there is a toilet and sink in every room! And a communal shower out in the corridor with amazing water pressure. I thought it was a good set up.

Kitchen was big, plenty of space for lots of people to cook. Salt and pepper was available, and a few other spices that guests had left behind. There is a bar/restaurant if you don't want to cook.

Lovely communal area upstairs to relax with a pool table and sofas. Also had daily activities such as movie night and bonfire night. I didn't take much advantage of these as I was off doing my own thing and hiking. They have a sauna, which was awesome after a huge day hiking.

Location wise, it's pretty great. It's just on the edge of town, you can get a shuttle bus up to the lake or it takes about an hour to hike up there and about 5 mins to walk to the grocery store/information center.I loved my stay here and would stay here again in a heart beat

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I planned a trip with 3 days of hiking in and around Lake Louise. I just didn't want to pay the crazy rates, even in the off season, so I thought I would try the HI Hostel. Check in was easy and the place was clean and well maintained. My room was a 4-person dormitory style. Community showers and wash rooms were adjacent to the sleeping rooms. The place was full, so all bunks were taken. Unfortunately for me, there was one guest in the room the first 2 nights who was not very considerate of the rest of us. My last night was fine. So, you take your chances. I really saved a lot of money, but I did have 2 nights with less than great sleep. Don't know if I would do the dorm room again. I might try a private room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed one night in a private room while passing through on my way to Jasper. Beautiful little area.
Room was largish with a bunk bed - double on the bottom, single on top, with a large locker.
As most backpacker hostels it looked a little worn but it was clean and comfortable. Very quiet, and had different bunch of travelers, ranging from young backpackers to older couples and families. Showers and toilets were spotless.
Close to everything in Lake Louise Village, and plenty of parking for the rental car!
Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Absolutely loved my stay at this hostel. Staff were really nice and helpful at all times. The rooms were really nice and I had lots of my own private space. Showers were okay; although there weren't many, I never had to wait for a shower. The other common areas were really comfortable and welcoming. I also liked the fact that it's so close to the town. Totally recommend it! The only thing was that it was bit hard to meet other young people as many people there were older folks and families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre

Address: 203 Village Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Lake Louise Alpine Centre Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.