We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre to your Saves list
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
203 Village Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“top stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in a dorm room, only 4 beds in the room which is great, even better there is a toilet and sink in every room! And a communal shower out in the corridor with amazing water pressure. I thought it was a good set up.

Kitchen was big, plenty of space for lots of people to cook. Salt and pepper was available, and a few other spices that guests had left behind. There is a bar/restaurant if you don't want to cook.

Lovely communal area upstairs to relax with a pool table and sofas. Also had daily activities such as movie night and bonfire night. I didn't take much advantage of these as I was off doing my own thing and hiking. They have a sauna, which was awesome after a huge day hiking.

Location wise, it's pretty great. It's just on the edge of town, you can get a shuttle bus up to the lake or it takes about an hour to hike up there and about 5 mins to walk to the grocery store/information center.I loved my stay here and would stay here again in a heart beat

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    69
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
51
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I planned a trip with 3 days of hiking in and around Lake Louise. I just didn't want to pay the crazy rates, even in the off season, so I thought I would try the HI Hostel. Check in was easy and the place was clean and well maintained. My room was a 4-person dormitory style. Community showers and wash rooms were adjacent to the sleeping rooms. The place was full, so all bunks were taken. Unfortunately for me, there was one guest in the room the first 2 nights who was not very considerate of the rest of us. My last night was fine. So, you take your chances. I really saved a lot of money, but I did have 2 nights with less than great sleep. Don't know if I would do the dorm room again. I might try a private room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed one night in a private room while passing through on my way to Jasper. Beautiful little area.
Room was largish with a bunk bed - double on the bottom, single on top, with a large locker.
As most backpacker hostels it looked a little worn but it was clean and comfortable. Very quiet, and had different bunch of travelers, ranging from young backpackers to older couples and families. Showers and toilets were spotless.
Close to everything in Lake Louise Village, and plenty of parking for the rental car!
Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Absolutely loved my stay at this hostel. Staff were really nice and helpful at all times. The rooms were really nice and I had lots of my own private space. Showers were okay; although there weren't many, I never had to wait for a shower. The other common areas were really comfortable and welcoming. I also liked the fact that it's so close to the town. Totally recommend it! The only thing was that it was bit hard to meet other young people as many people there were older folks and families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The only place to stay in Lake Louise! Very friendly helpful staff! Great rooms at a really good price! Minutes away from a Parks Canada information centre! Front desk, and housekeeping staff were amazing! Truly a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Spotlessly clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms and excellent showers. An excellent kitchen with a good quality restaurant attached if you prefer! Location is excellent. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Pros
• My friends and I really liked our room ($143.30/night for 3 people)- we had a 6-person dorm as a private room. The room was quite spacious with 2 bunk beds and a double bed on the 2nd floor so the ceilings were really high. Each bed had their own reading light and had boxes to lock your luggage in if you shared with strangers.
• Very comfy mattresses with clean sheets.
• I liked how we had our own sink and toilet. There were plenty of communal clean showers right outside our room.
• Great common space with study tables, pool and lounge chairs. Wifi is strong there.
• They do fun activities like a nightly bonfire Friday-Sunday, the front desk gave us metal sticks to make smokes with!
• Good food at their cafe- highly recommend the breakfast burrito. The french toast was just OK so don't get that.
• If you need delicious dinner food, go to Explorer's Lounge in the B&B across the street, very nice staff and yummy steak burger and sweet potato fries! The bison burger had too many spices in it.

Cons
• Faint smell of feet in our room
• The wifi was OK- not the strongest signal, fast free wifi at B&B across the street.
• The floors are very thin, and the guests downstairs were extremely angry by the "wooden shoe dances" we were doing upstairs. He got so irate that he banged loudly a couple times in the night and mornings.

Highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre

Address: 203 Village Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Lake Louise Alpine Centre Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.