We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I went to Lake Louise with my husband, his brother's family and my parents-in-law and we had a great time!!

The service at the hotel was very good. We had communication with the assistant manager and he was very polite and courteous. Also, the check-in person was very efficient and pleasant. We had an issue with our keys. It didn't work and we had to go back down to get it reset. Otherwise, everything else went well.

We had a lake facing view and it was SOOOOOOOO fantastic. We spent a long time sitting and just staring at the view.

The restaurants were also good. I recommend going to the breakfast buffet at the hotel. It's a little pricey, but it's convenient and it's good.

The room itself is a decent size. We had a king bed, which was super comfortable. Our bathroom was spotless clean and always well stocked.

All in all, I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,017
    799
    342
    186
    79
See reviews for
796
1,756
87
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

My wife and I were dismayed to find the first room was dusty and dirty. There was weeks worth of dust along the sideboards and remenants of food under the bed.

The staff were excellent and upgraded us to a cleaner room but it was disappointing that the first room wasn't in better condition.

Our only other complaints were the average price of the rooms which were exorbitant for what they. Plus the food in the Glacier Saloon was substandard and expensive.

We ended up going to the local hostel restaurant that evening as a result and the food was excellent and good value.

Not recommended unless you have seriously big bucks for a high-end stay ($500 plus a night).

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Just came back from a two night/three day stay at the Chateau Lake Louise. It was a once and a life time experience and everyone should stay there at least once! It is an expensive stay but well worth it - only go if you can manage to fully take advantage of what it has to offer - upgrade your room (deluxe with a view in the NEW part of the hotel so you have a/c) restuarants, activities etc. You really can't get the full experience on a tight budget.

Check-in was smooth. We made our reservation the night before by calling the hotel directly. We paid $599 per night and as part of a promotion and got an additional $125 per day in resort credit that we could use at the restaurants and gift shops etc. The room was excellent. Not huge, but big enough with a large bathroom, king sized bed and a beautiful view of the lake.

On the first night we had drinks at the Saloon, then went to the Poppy restaurant for dinner. The food was great, but the service was only so-so. We had asked for a table on the patio (why wouldn't you with the views?) but were told by the hostess that it was reserved by other guests. No problem we thought, but this was at 8:30 and not a single person ever was sat there, so that was annoying. All the staff looked very busy and stressed out, even making comments to each other about how they could not handle all their tables, so we did not make a big deal about it.

On day two we headed to the Chateau deli for a coffee and breakfast sandwhich then headed on the hike to the other side of the lake and up to the tea house. What an amazing hike and the tea house is amazing. Primative and simple (we had PB & J sandwiches on home made bread) but it was very cool. The tea house operates on a wood burning stove with no electricity and supplies are helicoptered in just once a season. The hike took about 5 hours, round trip, but well worth it. Make sure you are prepared with good hiking shoes, water and a hat.

We had and AMAZING dinner at the german restuarant (forgot the name). The food was all so delicous and they had a great wine selection. Dinner was an event in itself and we spent a good three hours there with probably the best service I have ever experienced. Again, it was pricey (well over $200 for two people) but worth every single penny. We did not try the fondue, other then for dessert, but everyone around us did and it looked awesome - not at all what I would have expected.

Like I said, the experience does not come cheap, but it is worth the splurge if you can swing it. I

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

The good news is there are seven large parking spots at the entrance. Bad news is that they are for tour busses and there are not enough slots in the morning so an adjacent lot across the highway is use as a bus staging area.

Beautiful hotel. Excellent staff. Wonderful view. What is disappointing is that the hotel with the Fairmont brand charges high end destination resort prices while simultaneously selling downscale to busloads of Asian and European tour groups most of whom travel in packs overloading elevators, dining sites, etc. Behavior is not an issue as all were polite and well behaved. Howver, trying to swim through 30 people trying to cram themselves in the elevators is not a resort level experience. Breakfast is a 20 minute wait for a cafeteria style resort experience. It was skipped.

Better to drive and visit Lake Louise and stay at some less expensive hotel and have a better experience. If you would like to rent a canoe it is only $43/hr. At this price plenty are available.

The people exploited by this are those expecting a resort experience for which they are paying a truly premium price. It smacks of "bait and switch". We are (were) members of the Fairmont Club and were stunned by the experience. What was expected to be a high light instead was the low point of a two week trip. A truly disappointing experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We arranged our stay directly with the hotel and booked early - worth it for the discount. We had three rooms - 2 bedrooms and a lounge all with views over the most stunning setting. It was so relaxing and inspiring. The grounds are immaculate - particularly considering the number of people visiting during each day. Food fabulous - the fondue restaurant sensational and the lounge for lunch - just to sit looking through those magificent paladian windows - unbelievable - while listening to the harpist! Staff were all thoughtful and lovely considering how busy it was.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandstx
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We spent four nights here in July and had a wonderful time-it truly is a world-class hotel, on a par with the best service anywhere. The children's program was fantastic-my girls loved the photo safari, campout, art class, and a fascinating day called "a day in the life of the Chateau" where they spent the day behind the scenes with the employees of the hotel. Kudos to the children's staff for entertaining them so well. We also really enjoyed the mountain heritage guides (ask for Jeff) and canoe trip. We were on the gold floor, and the concierge service was superb. If you can possibly do it, it is worth it to upgrade to the best possible room at this hotel, as the views are spectacular and the service unparalleled on the gold floor. I highly recommend this hotel, particularly for families with children.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Decided to splash out for a special night at Lake Louise. Location is obviously stunning and our room was fine - although find it hard to understand why air conditioning has not been installed in a hotel of this class (told this was due to the age of hotel !!!!).
We enjoyed a really nice dinner (albeit really expensive) in the hotel but breakfast was a completely different experience. The hotel was full of coach parties (as I guess it is throughout the summer) and the restaurant was packed. It was a buffet breakfast but with only one serving area set up - this resulted in queues all over the place, people jumping the queue etc. - also food was not replenished in a timely fashion. On more than one occassion my husband and I approached the buffet area but had to go and sit down again because it was so chaotic.
I asked a member of staff if it was always like this - she shrugged her shoulders and simply replied 'It's breakfast'. I suggested that it might be appropriate to set up more than one food area and was told this does happen when they are busy!!
I completed a comments card and referred to the chaotic breakfast situation - I included my e-mail address so they could respond to my comments - needless to say I am still awaiting a response.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Administrative Assistant at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise.

First and foremost, please accept my apologies for not receiving a response after sharing your comment card. Our comment cards are reviewed on a weekly basis and although I have not read yours at this time, please be assured your feedback will be shared with our team. What you described in terms of our buffet breakfast service certainly does not reflect our usual service standards, and I am terribly sorry to learn this was your experience. Typically our breakfast hours within our restaurants are a busy period, and our Poppy Brassiere team is committed to offering an enjoyable dining experience to each and every one of our guests. You should not have felt rushed or have had to wait on food to be replenished on the buffet. I am disappointed to learn our server did not offer more assistance when you spoke to her.

I would like to assure you I have shared your feedback with our Poppy Brassiere Manager to review with our team. I do regret what a negative impact this would have had on your visit, and I am very sorry you and your family left Lake Louise on a negative note. If you would like to discuss anything further, I can be reached through our hotel’s email address: chateaulakelouise@fairmont.com, at which time I will be happy to assist.

Again, thank you so much for visiting us this summer and for taking the time to share your feedback.

Best Regards,
Laura Hoskins
Executive Administrative Assistant
The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.