We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife was right (as usual!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4TH NIGHT FREE!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“My wife was right (as usual!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We booked this hotel as part of Canadian Rockies trip primarily because my wife wanted to stay here - if I'm honest I didn't expect to like it as I thought that it would be impersonal becase of is size. Well I was completley wrong - he hotel iz buzzy but not noisy - there's loads of facilities and the customer service was absolutely excellent.

2 tips - get a lakeview room it is definately worth paying extra and if you are planning on a walkround the lake in the summer months - forget about doing between 10.00 - 6.00 when the lake is full of tor buses. Either do it first thing in the morning or in the evening (as it didn't get dark till after 11pm when we were there) .

Room Tip: Get a Lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,655
    691
    303
    172
    71
See reviews for
681
1478
64
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (925)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We paid an optional very small fee to upgrade to the Fairmont Gold experience, where do I start.....worth every single dollar, the experience was amazing.
From valet parking to the no queuing check in thanks to the 'Swiss Guides' who greeted us and checked us in.
I will never forget the stunning view when opening to door, to see the most magical scene.
Large room,two windows, you can lay in bed and gaze at Victoria Glacier or sit in comfy leather chairs and gaze at the glacier....fridge, TV, safe, full bath with shower, spotlessly clean.
The Gold lounge lacks the lake view, but the staff are attentive and courteous, fabulous breakfast, hot, cold, every type of beverage you can think of. They will even serve a party in the lounge area.
Thank you so much Fairmont, my stay truly exceeded all my expectations and that view, it's one of the gotta do experiences if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Lake view and if you can reserve a Fairmont Gold Lake view room
See more room tips
Green Features: As friendly as all the other large Canadian hotels.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very busy tourist hotel. Stopped for lunch. The food and service were great but you had the added animal photo op of squirrel and mouse not moose in restaurant.
Been in many country hotels but never seen so many little visitors.
Did slightly detract from good food and service, but saw black bear a d a proper moose on our travels after that which gave better photo ops.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Camping through Alberta and BC and decided to splurge here for our 30th wedding anniversary. Made reservations early, was surprised at the full payment up front, no refund policy. I joined the "President's Club" rewards program...for the heck of it. From the moment we arrived until we drove away, the service was amazing! Pulled up with a travel trailer, crossing my fingers I could park it somewhere...close? Parking people SO nice...allowed me to park entire rig in valet for our stay. Wow! Went to check in...apparently we were chosen President's Club member of the day which included a sweet, suite upgrade. OMG! Giant living room with full bath, upstairs bedroom with giant bathroom, 2 balconies on the 8th floor (view of mountains and Lake Louise). We also had access to the 7th floor lounge with private concierge and full breakfast every morning. Did I also mention we got free parking? Housekeeping was awesome, everyone was friendly, many greeted us by name. Had a special dinner at the Fairview dining room, got a great window table with view of the lake, the food was delicious and everyone from the waiter to the maître d' wished us a Happy Anniversaire! Yes, staying there was a splurge but it was definitely worth it!!!!!

Room Tip: Pay the money for lakeview!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very Eco Friendly. I appreciate that what they had done in their hotels through out the world.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Good: View, the Grounds, Afternoon Tea.
Bad:The service and the public interior. Check-in slow. The room wasn't ready at check in time. The pool & facilities were not available. Concierge staff was rude. The room was frightfully hot. $$$$$$

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

gorgeous hotel,breathtaking views from most windows in hotel.hiking and boating next hotel. Wonderful service and food. Chocolates on pillow at night
Super comfortable beds, soaking tubs all wonderful

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were only able to spend one night in a Lakeview room. The view of the turquoise lake, snow covered mountains and the grounds from our room was spectacular. The room was very nice, the bedding delightful for a good nights sleep. Dinner in the Fairview Dining Room was pricey, but incredible with a great view. All employees were very attentive and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view. Sign up for the Fairmonts Presidents club to get free wifi at all Fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. PLEASE NOTE: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is undergoing renovations to the aquatic centre and the pool facilities will be unavailable for swimming or usage from April 22-June 30th, 2014. We apologize for any inconvenience as we undergo these exciting enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.