We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay... Atleast once anyways” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SKI FOR FREE!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A must stay... Atleast once anyways”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is situated on the most beautiful lake, and mountains in all of the Alberta. The prices are on the pricer side but the majestic view is priceless.
Our only downside to this hotel was the wait time for our room. Upon arrival we were told our rooms (2 in total) were not ready and to check back in an hour. No problem, we arrived early. After an hour, our rooms still were not ready. After 3 hours we were given our keys and on our way up, only to arrive in a room that was not made up, with garbage and food left out from its previous guests. The bellman even put our luggage in this disgusting room. So now we have to haul our luggage, and 2 kids back down through the maze of the hotel to the front desk. Another wait... So by the time we got our clean room, it was over a 4 hour wait. I understand the hotel was busy but it was one hell of a wait which I think wasn't necessary to be that long.
But the final room was ideal- clean, big and had a beautiful view. Despite the wait, we would return to this hotel again and again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,739
    724
    317
    178
    76
See reviews for
704
1,566
71
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Amazing views. We were there in late May 2013 and to our surprise the Lake was still frozen over quite a bit, which was very pretty. Around the edge, we could hear the ice melting and cracking before our eyes. Be warned, not all rooms are Lake View. Ours had a view of the roof, but the room was very nice, roomy, clean and well appointed. The hotel is very large and yes, that was a scramble for breakfast (see other review). There just did not seem any co-ordination at all between tour groups and they all arrived at the same time. The Deli place on the ground floor had a good selection of food for reasonable prices for lunch, although again, quite a queue and a wait. Our dinner was in a huge banquet room with huge picture windows over the lake. We walked out to the Lake after dinner when there were only 2 others out there and got some more spectacular photos without loads of tourists in them. The rest of the hotel is very lovely and a treat to walk around. Overall, it's a large hotel with some shortcomings in service, organisation, etc. but still visit and enjoy its superb location and views.

Room Tip: Request a Lake View Room, if you are prepared to pay extra for it. If not, just use their bars, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I'm very pleased your enjoyed your stay, though we clearly have some more work to do in regards to the service we offer. I will work with my team to make sure we rectify this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I agree the view i good at this place, but you can get it and stay elsewhere. the hotel is big and despite being pricey the food was not great, breakfast especially was a let down. I would have preferred a better quality product and less talk from the staff.

Room Tip: get a room at the top overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had just spent a few days at the Banff Fairmont had a fantastic stay. Expecting the same level of service we where sorely disappointed. The place was worse than Disney land times two. It was beyond crowded every place on the property. Bus after bus after bus of tourists, a complete lack of service by maintenance, servers and valet attendants.
We where absolutely baffled at a hotel that was 90 percent full would be turning away guest after guest in the poppies restaurant yet only half of the tables where ever occupied while we ate. Obviously they just didn't have the staff to be able provide service to all tables. Then, while we where waiting for our table to be ready, noticed how food and dirty dishes where being carried in and out the main entrance to this restaurant to/from the casual eatery next to this restaurant! Who has a 4 star hotel that is designed like this and how could the health dept allow this? Wait there is more.......
The only restaurant that had any outside seating on a typical great weather summer night refused to seat any new patrons past 7:00pm...again absolutely baffled by this.
Have a problem with your room ..don't call maintenance...couldn't get our a/c to work so promised to bring up a portable unit, guess what they never brought it and never called up to explain why.
Lastly gratuities included with the room ? Guess what? Every single worker was only more than eager to get a tip for car valet etc. This was a complete reversal from the Bannf Fairmont where they refused.
I will never stay here again and even though it was the most stunning location i have ever seen, this hotel fails.
Y

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel in Lake Louise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It's very disappointing to read that your stay was so far below your expectations. I will be following up with our Director of Food & Beverage concerning the service you received both in the Poppy Brasserie and Lakeview Lounge. Clearly some coaching needs to be offered to some of our team.
It is inexcusable that the portable air conditioner was not delivered to your room. I will find out why and make sure it does not happen again.
The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise does not include gratuities in our room rates like our sister property does.
Again, I am very sorry for your frustration. Should you be returning to the area, I invite you to contact me to arrange your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Lake Louise is a beautiful location creating great peace and rejuvenation. One of my favorite spots in Alberta. I would highly recommend that when you are in Lake Louise that you visit the Fairmont Chateau, a wonderful hotel, great food and stunning views. The ultimate was the harp music. Harp Angel provides an extremely unique touch. It's well worth the trip just to experience the elegant and inspiring harp music.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is situated in one of the most picturesque spots to be found. The hotel overall is dated, unremarkable and hugely overpriced. We stayed one night and probably will never return. The Canadian Rockies are full of beautiful locations and this one is inundated with bus loads of tourists.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived very early - 10.30am and were very impressed with the Chateau. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were even able to get into our room. All I can say is wow, what a view. The room itself was very small, and also warm, as no air con, but its old and I guess it cant be put it. We dined in the hotel restaurant, and the food was very good, also the breakfast was excellent too. We loved our stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is certainly worth it to get a room with a view of the lake - it's indescribable. I hope you can visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. PLEASE NOTE: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is undergoing renovations to the aquatic centre and the pool facilities will be unavailable for swimming or usage from April 22-June 30th, 2014. We apologize for any inconvenience as we undergo these exciting enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.