We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rooms, Poor Service, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4TH NIGHT FREE!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Small Rooms, Poor Service, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Beautiful view from my room, but rooms are small and the service quality is lacking.

Rooms:
Rooms are extra small with limited to no extra amenities. Make sure to pack everything you need. You will get towels, one small shampoo, one small conditioner, one small lotion, and a standard body/hand bar. There was a blowdryer but I packed my own.

Staff:
The front desk staff were courteous and professional. The bellman on duty Tuesday evening (white guy, a bit chubby) was very friendly and helpful. Service staff in the pub on the main floor was severely lacking. Could I get a drink? Well, I was only asked about 2.5 minutes before I had to leave. They are stickler with you moving any tables or chairs to accommodate larger parties. Obviously neither the guest nor increased profit through sales comes first. I wonder what does...

Location:
Great location on Lake Louise. Beautiful views, grand interior, and many stores to keep you from having to go off property.

Overall:
A nice, grand place to stay. If for some reason you are planning to stay in your room (but why would you?), then make sure to upgrade to a suite. I have heard that they can be quite nice. Don't expect much from servers and you won't be disappointed. If you plan to just go out and experience the wilderness, you will likely enjoy yourself just fine.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,445
    618
    270
    149
    64
See reviews for
580
1286
60
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Plain, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had the chance again to stay in Lake Louise for a conference. Location is the perfect setting for meetings and personal relaxation. The view over the lake even covered in snow was breathtaking. Was able to walk to end of lake and use the steam bath every day before meetings. Saloon was nice casual dining with great atmosphere. Thanks again for what was an excellent 5 days.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Attending a conference in Lake Louise can almost be like having a vacation, and I'm glad you were able to experience everything we have to offer. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Service is the key at Chateau Lake Louise.......bell hops, room service, restaurant servers, front desk, concierge, people just walking the halls.....everyone was so warm and polite, we were made to feel very special. We liked it so much we wrote seven commendations before leaving.
Over the four days and nights we dined at the Poppy's Brasserie for breakfast (you don't have to do the $30 buffet, try the eggs Benedict or the Spa breakfast - wonderful!) the Deli for brekkie lunch and in betweens and also entertained a german friend at the Walliser Stubbe - who was very happy to get a really good schnitzel. We booked the Ski and Play package which gave you a resort credit or two adult ski passes each day, from research this represented pretty good value. We paid for the larger Deluxe Room and were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a lake view.
If you think you may never pass this way again then treat yourself to the chateau. It has all the atmosphere of yonder years and big enough for 10 kids to have a great hide and seek game (if allowed) while adults enjoy a great tapas in the Lakeview Lounge with its amazing view over the lake and mountains.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The manager Leslie was awesome! She took really good care of us, as there was an issue with our Spa appointment. The person in charge of the Spa was not very nice, as there was some miscommunication with the hotel staff and the Spa people. They should have better co-ordination, which I told Leslie and she was very receptive to our feedback. We appreciated her hearing is out and making amends. Also, the Ian the manager at the Fondu restaurant was awesome! I highly recommend eating there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
While it was disappointing to read that you experienced some issues with your Spa appointments, I'm thrilled to hear that Leslie was so capable and able to rectify the situation. I'll be sharing your comments with her and with Ian. Thank you for your review; we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly bell man who helped us with our luggage and offered valley. When checking in we were asked if we would like an upgrade for $70 to the top floor with two windows to look onto lake Louise and also to the left. The gentleman also threw in free valet so this was totally worth it. The room was amazing, I didn't want to leave and the King bed was very comfortable. We ate at the Saloon which was fairly priced and great atmosphere.
Only downfall was you had to pay for wifi and use of Internet at the business centre. We were there for one night passing through and I wanted to stay longer.
Only place to stay while visiting Lake Louise.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a super time at Lake Louise Fairmont. Our room looked directly onto the lake and as it was the quieter part of the season we never felt busy or rushed. We had some great food and the room was spacious and well furnished.

Room Tip: Lake view can mean looking across the car park and through a gap like our first room! I complained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are incredibly lucky to be able to offer such an amazing view. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Location of this hotel is second to none, I just loved sitting on the patio overlooking the lake having lunch superb setting
The facilities at the hotel are also very good, Breakfast was lovely in fact, all meals i had at the hotel were excellant - wine list was a bit pricey - I suppose its to be expected due to location
Rooms - this is where i was really disapointed - rooms are really small, and furnishings are quited dated, again this is probably in keeping with the area, if you are going to stay at the hotel upgrade to a lake view if you dont in my opinion probaly not woth staying here then

Room Tip: upgrade to lake view well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. PLEASE NOTE: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is undergoing renovations to the aquatic centre and the pool facilities will be unavailable for swimming or usage from April 22-June 30th, 2014. We apologize for any inconvenience as we undergo these exciting enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.