We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning scenery, excellent service. But no bar?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SKI FOR FREE!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery, excellent service. But no bar?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding, and the hotel treated us very well and responded to all of our requests promptly and professionally.

Our room was very nice, king bed and comfy pillows. But the rooms were hot. We turned off the thermostat, turned on the fan, and opened the window - and we were still hot.

Also, there is no bar in the hotel. There are several restaurants, and one is even called the Saloon, but that is just a restaurant and it doesn't open till 5:30. So there we were, 3:30 in the afternoon, and we couldn't soend our money anywhere! They suggested we go to the Lakeview Lounge, but it was a 45-60 minute wait and it was crawling with kids.

We went for a walk on the lake all the way to the frozen waterfall. The weather was perfect and it was just beautiful.

It is quite isolated, and the restaurants are pricey, so you may want to stop somewhere before you get there to get some snacks.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    735
    322
    181
    76
See reviews for
720
1,599
74
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,002)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

There's a reason I go back to Fairmont hotels. The service is just amazing. We had a wonderful stay at this fairmont property. We went for a hike behind the hotel while our room was getting ready (we got there too early - we got a room upgrade so i didn't mind!) and the view from our room is .... out of this world. I had a cold while I was staying and everywhere I went, I was presented with a lovely pot of hot water, slices of lemon and a pot of honey. The pool was great and be sure to have a high tea before you leave the property. It's so romantic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. It was so nice to hear of the thoughtful service our colleagues delivered; while we do our best to provide great guest rooms and public areas, exceptional service is our number one goal. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Since visiting Lake Louise in the summer of 1999 I have always wanted to stay at the Chateau, and the experience certainly did not disappoint.
We got upgraded to a King lake view room on the top floor and what an amazing view it was. We would stand by the window and reminisce about climbing Mt Fairview to the left and hiking up to the tea rooms at the big beehive.
Being in the older wing the room itself was not large, the bathroom was small but the bed was very comfortable as was the pillows. I know I say this a lot but I really like staying in hotels where the shampoo and condition are not combined and the hairdrier is not attached to the wall so you can use it elsewhere if your partner needs to shave at the same time. The only minor complaints about the room are that the airconditioner is a little noisy and you could hear the toilet running if you forgot to close the bathroom door. For me that was not a problem but may bother you if you are a light sleeper. In which case requesting a room in the newer wing (built in 2004) may be a better option, but I loved being in the older wing.
The service was excellent too. It is not a cheap hotel and hence the drink and food prices reflect this. Cocktails in the Lake View Lounge are around $16 + tax & tip.

Room Tip: The newer wing has more modern A/C and some of the rooms are larger. The lake view rooms in the olde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The structure of this hotel is really original and charming, view on the amazing natural setting is also an attraction, even though I guess it should be even nicer in summer. If you go in winter and you get only snowing days, probably it cannot be fully appreciated. Interestingly enough, it really reminded to me the hotel of "Shining", with Jack Nicholson! A negative aspect of the rooms is that they are not well protected by the sound of the shower of the other rooms, so if you want to sleep and the guest in the nearest room decides to have a shower, it is like to have a room overlooking Niagara falls, really very noisy. A really good thing is the food: I ordered twice the room service and it was really excellent, soups are great (especially the onion soup cooked with the beer, amazing!) and also the focaccia with vegetables. Amazing for a room service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your response. I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, your experiences with in-room dining, and the structure of our hotel. We're so lucky to be around so much history every day. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A great energy is radiating from the place. People are particularly happy to be there. It's a treat they waited long for. Service is outstanding. Room look is great. Loved to be there and talk with people at the pool.
The downside were the incredible heat in the room. Thermostat was set at off and window open all night with -21C exterior weather and had hard time to fall asleep. The pool – hot tub area would benefit greatly of some renos. New wood and new tile would be required to upgrade the look that deserve this place. I still recommend people to go there en enjoy the Chateau experience. Surrounding décor is magical.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Spent 3 days /2 nights at the Chateau during spring break. Glorious cannot describe the views of the frozen lake and snow covered mountains. The Hotel is a special place, a throwback to the more refined days of travel. Joined the Fairmont Presidents Club and stayed on the Gold Floor. Well worth the extra expense. The Gold lounge was open till 10 pm and offered snacks, breakfast, afternoon hor d'oeuvres, coffees, teas, etc. Worked out well for our family because everyone could wander in when they felt like it, great for those on different schedules.
Our sons did the cross country ski excursion with the guide, who did an excellent job with them.
Highly recommend this hotel, would love to return during the summer to enjoy it then as well.

Room Tip: Gold Floor worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Whether in summer or winter, Lake Louise is a magnificent place to be. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay on Fairmont Gold and hope to see you again in a few months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I fell in love with the Chateau Lake Louise upon arrival! The resort itself is so charming and welcoming. Nestled into the mountains, there are views from every window (of the lake or of the mountains). When we arrived from a day of snowboarding (they had made special arrangements to take our bags to the hotel in the morning for us) we were immediately upgraded to the Gold Floor. This included complimentary breakfast and complimentary happy hour hors d'oeuvres, among many other perks! Although there were some complications with our booking, they more than made up for it! Because of the complications - a small mistake on their end - they compensated by upgrading us to the Belvedere Suite! It was our LUCKY DAY - this room was stunning. 2 floors, 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies. We were in love! It was a special trip for my husband and I, so we appreciated the incredible customer service.
The room was clean and comfortable, equipped with amazing bath products (Rose 31, I think?) and a blow dryer. The best parts of this room was the sitting room/dining room (where we ordered an intimate dinner through room-service - such a nice evening!) and the views were spectacular.
During our stay, we also took a horse sleigh ride around the lake at dusk (organized through the concierge), walked across the lake during the day (beautiful!), used the hot tub and pool (this was just OK - very busy), had a drink at their lovely bar, walked around the grounds, had a massage & facial at the spa on-site and visited the cafe. We LOVED everything about this hotel/resort and will definitely return!

Room Tip: If you sign up for the Fairmont Presidents Club, you will get free wifi. I believe that we were upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.