We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the heart of the mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4TH NIGHT FREE!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aurora, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in the heart of the mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of attending this hotel for a conference. The hotel is much larger than I expected, and the lands surrounding it are breathtaking. The hotel is exactly what I would expect in a mountain retreat: lodgey feel with high-end finishes; dark wood accents and granite and marble in the bathroom. The Chateau has been upgraded/dated within the last few years, but is not contemporary/modern in feel, although rustic is not the right word to describe the old-world opulence this hotel has. Every staff member I encountered, both from the hotel perspective and the conference, were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the hotel and area. The concierge was excellent and even the guys running the shuttles to/from Ski Lake Louise were amazing and entertaining. The room I had was on the first floor, and was facing inward; I would highly recommend upgrading to a lake view room if possible. The food at the restaurants is excellent, but priced according to the chateau’s standards; the beef in Alberta is wonderful! Dogs are welcomed at the chateau and there were a number of larger dogs on the premises while I was there; I did not hear any dogs during my stay but had the pleasure of seeing them in the lobby and on the grounds---this was not an issue for me a dog owner but maybe for those who are not dog lovers---of course they were on leash and controlled at all times. There are lot of trails for hiking and walking; the views are absolutely breathtaking. The location of the chateau is out of the way and is about 30 minutes from Banff; I would recommend renting a car for your trip or you may feel isolated if relying shuttle bus services for transportation; although the shuttle service for skiing is the best way to get to/from the ski hill and very convenient. Unsure of my time at my conference I chose to rent skis rather than bring my own; the Chateau has a mountain sports service as well and they rent almost everything you need for winter sports: hiking boots, snow shoes, skates, and skis packages---including those for the very young; the people at the sports rental centre were great and very knowledgeable--thank you! I had an excellent time at the chateau and am already trying to figure out when I can get back next year with my family, thank you Fairmont!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
It sounds like you had a chance to experience everything The Chateau has to offer - including exceptional service. Thank you very much for your review and for visiting us. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,470
    625
    273
    152
    65
See reviews for
595
1310
60
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location of this hotel is spectacular. To be able to walk out and go for a world class hike to the plain of the 7 glaciers and be back in the lounge for supper was great! Views out of lounge and off patio beautiful. We stayed in a family suite and it was wonderful with 2 big bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. Got 3 rd night free so actually pretty good value. Server very friendly to us in lounge despite fact we had 3 little kids with us. Felt very comfortable here. Good pool for kids. Check in very smooth and quick. Checkout was a bit slow, but overall a really fun and special stay for our family.

Room Tip: Family suites very big and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I stay here 3 or 4 times a year. That in itself is an excellent recommendation. We are always treated well. The staff is outstanding. This year we had my brother and sister in law from Ontario come with us between Christmas and New Year. They were amazed by the views and activities. We skiied, skated, tobogganed and took a sleigh ride to the end of the lake and back. Living in Calgary it is easy to take this world class site for granted sometimes. Seeing it through the eyes of a new visitor made me really apprecite how beautiful this spot is.

Although I have read some of the reviews saying the rooms are rather small, one must remember when this hotel was built. Also having travelled a fair bit in Europe, also helps with prespective in room size. Besides, there is so much to do and see, one does not spend much time in the room.

This is truly a beautiful place. If you have a chance to visit Lake Louise, the Chateau is a must visit even if you cannot stay for the full experience.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are spectacular. Join the President's club for free internet. Can do when you che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review - it's amazing to hear that we are a tradition with your family and that you're also sharing it with other family members. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in.The staff were fantastic, the food very nicely presented and delicious,the room very clean and comfortable and the views breath taking. It was wonderful to be able to walk out of the front door of the hotel and on to the footpath that took us along Lake Louise were we could see so much wild life.

Room Tip: The higher floors have wonderful panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. We do our utmost to provide exceptional service and I'm so pleased that's what you received. We hope to see you again, perhaps in the winter so you can experience our white wonderland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Chateau Lake Louise for 4 nights. Pros: The service is outstanding. The food was very good to excellent. The setting on the frozen lake with ice skating right outside the lounge windows was enchanting. The shuttle is great for getting over to the ski area. And the skiing at Lake Louise was very good too!
Our room was a nicely appointed junior suite on the Gold level.
The con: The beds were hard. IMHO they aren't in the same class with a Westin Heavenly Bed, or a Sheraton Sweet Sleeper. When you strip away all the fluff, why do you stay in a hotel? To sleep! And when that suffers because your hips ache from the extra firm mattress, well it means you can't wait to get home to your own bed.
If you like an extra firm bed, the Chateau can't be beat. It has great amenities and setting. But we won't be back just because the beds are too hard for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff was exceptional with the food not taking a seat to the service. The food was extremely well prepared, and tasted exceptional as well. The entertainment was great @ the saloon also. The views were breath-taking and the staff were extremely helpful in booking sled rides, ski bus, dog-sledding as well as, the gift shops were surprisingly well affordable.

Room Tip: Anyting third floor or higher is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It great to hear what an enjoyable stay you had with us. I'll certainly share your comments with our entire team so they know what an impact their service is having on our guests. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everyone needs to experience this most magical of places nestled in one of the most breathtaking, magical of places anywhere. You are going to pay more but it is unrivalled by most hotels. It is best experienced in the fall when it is quiet and you have the place to yourself - however ANY time of year is superb. It is pearl nestled in the rocky mountains, right on a lake that takes your breath away.
It is 40 minutes or so from the ever popular Banff and 3 hours from the exceptional Jasper. The drive to Jasper is heavenly. Some of the best skiing in the world takes place here. A BUCKET LIST MUST.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. PLEASE NOTE: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is undergoing renovations to the aquatic centre and the pool facilities will be unavailable for swimming or usage from April 22-June 30th, 2014. We apologize for any inconvenience as we undergo these exciting enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.