We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious setting in the heart of the Banff National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SKI FOR FREE!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glorious setting in the heart of the Banff National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just spent 5 wonderful days with my husband & kids at the Chateau Lake Louise. We usually shy away from large hotels , preferring to stay in intimate, boutique hotels We chose to stay on the Fairmont Gold floor which made our stay very enjoyable. As they say, its like a hotel within a hotel. Small dining area with great breakfast and snacks each day. Pleasant and very helpful concierge staff. Loved our diner at the Walliser Stube but found the Poppy Lounge completely void of any ambiance! Had a great snow-shoeing walk at night with the hotel's naturalist which was fantastic. He was incredibly friendly and a fountain on knowledge on Canadian history, local fauna & flora.
Pool area & Spa need to upgraded!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,739
    723
    316
    178
    76
See reviews for
704
1,565
71
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had one very enjoyable night in this hotel at the end of a rather wonderful Canadian Rockies holiday. Even though this is appears a very upmarket hotel, we felt very relaxed and not at all awkward, there's no pretentious atmosphere. Our room (which we upgraded to one of their Junior Lakeview suites) was lovely and because it was our anniversary we found a bottle of bubbly on ice waiting for us. Being almost Christmas, the decorations were up and were very nice indeed. Service was faultless and the food from the breakfast to the afternoon tea and dinner was top notch. Defintely intend on staying here again sometime in the future, perhaps over Christmas (had a conversation with a nice couple from Montana who have been going there every Xmas for the last 18 years! They love the Dickensian theme that they have) or in summer when the lake really looks stunning looking at the promotional tourist photos.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, we had a Lakeside view (apprarently the other option is a Mountain view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I'm so pleased you chose to spend such a special occasion with us and that we were able to help celebrate. Christmas is a splendid time of year to visit - we have a wonderful white Christmas every year, guaranteed! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel sits right on a lake, nestled between mountains. Hotel itself is quite nice but location is beautiful. You either have to drive or take a shuttle from hotel to Lake Louise Skiing, which is only a 15 minute drive. If you want quiet and no crowds, this is the place for you. But if you are looking for somewhere with night life, pick somewhere else to go. We had a two bedroom, two bath suite which is nice when separation is needed. Lol. Rooms are big as well as living area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband & I recently spent 4 nights at this wonderful property. Our goal in traveling to the area was to go skiing, and I was torn between staying here or at Fairmont's sister property in Banff Springs, so I split the week with 4 nights a Lake Louise and three nights in Banff Springs. After reading the reviews on trip advisor and elsewhere, I was thinking I'd prefer the Banff Springs property but booked the Chateau due to its proximity to the Lake Louise ski area. However, we loved the Chateau! We were on the gold floor and received an upgrade to a one bedroom suite that was one of the most magnificent rooms I have ever had the good fortune to stay in (room 703). This was a corner suite with breathtaking views of the lake and glacier. But most of all, the service was fantastic! The concierge efficiently and graciously handled all our requests, including setting up a special birthday meal for my husband in our room. All hotel staff were friendly and helpful, from check-in, the bellmen, housekeeping, the ski valet and the shuttle drivers, as well as the wait staff in the restaurants. The hearty and delicious breakfast in the gold foor lounge were great pre-ski meals, and the hor d'ouerves in the lounge were perfect while enjoying a drink before dinner. I am so glad we choose to stay here, and the accommodations were far superior to those at the Banff Springs, which are nice, but dated. The only improvements I would suggest would be a bigger spa (the one at Banff Springs is spectacular) and adding ski boot driers to the ski valet (which they also have at Banff Springs). I also heard that the hot tub and pool were not great, but didn't check them out myself.
TIP - If you drive from Calgary, DO NOT SPEED!! I have never seen so many cops on the road pulling people over!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the lake view, and if you can afford it, suite 703 is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Room 703 is our Marquis to Lorne suite, one of our signature suites. With full views of the lake, glacier, and mountains, it is truly an experience just waking up and enjoying the views. I'm so pleased you were able to experience it, as well as the exceptional service offered by our Fairmont Gold Concierge team. I will also certainly be looking into the excellent suggestions you've made on improving the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Chateau is a grand and lovely hotel that has the good fortune to be located in one of mother nature's most spectacular settings. The view from our window seat looking at Lake Louise and the glacier was breathtakingly beautiful. We spent a winter weekend enjoying as many amenities as possible. The sleigh ride on a snowy afternoon, a skate on the lake before dinner and a stroll among the ice sculptures, were followed by a day skiing. A perfect getaway. The lakeside lounge was worth it for the view, friendly service and tasty appetizers. Poppy brasserie was a bit of a disappointment with a high price tag. The deli has a good selection for grab and go food. I had high expectations and they were mostly met.

Room Tip: A view of the lake is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Once upon a time traveling British Columbia and Alberta we stayed one Night at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. Our Group Dinned at one of the Restaurants but I forgot it's Name but not the great Meal we had namely the Swiss Cheese Fondue. If you never had it it's a must try just make sure you have some Schnaps after it.

The Views from the Hotel of the Lake and the surroundings are just magnificent and a must see. The standard and Service of the Hotel is top notch as expected from a 5 Star Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
The Walliser Stube is a personal favourite of mine - the fondue experience is simply amazing. I'm so pleased you and your group enjoyed the meal and that you were able to appreciate the magnificent location we are so lucky to work in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night last week, and was very impressed. I love the grandeur of this hotel and the views over the lake are unmatched. We took a sleigh ride around to the glacier, and that was truly amazing. Also did snowshoeing, and learned that it is much harder than it looks. Did not have time to try too many restaurants, but the gold lounge was most excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. PLEASE NOTE: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is undergoing renovations to the aquatic centre and the pool facilities will be unavailable for swimming or usage from April 22-June 30th, 2014. We apologize for any inconvenience as we undergo these exciting enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.