We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Day weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Family Day weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent three nights at the Chateau over the Family Day weekend. We booked using our Ski Louise card rate which includes parking, so it was a great deal and we were upgraded to a deluxe lakeview room with two queen beds (#509). These rooms on the 5th floor have balconies, a large washroom with two sinks and a very large walk in closet with built-ins which are great for a family of four coming on a weekend of skiing and skating as you drag a lot of gear with you.

A couple of tips learned from this recent stay:

-- regularly scheduled maintenance on the hot tub is done on Thursday evenings, while the sign says “until further notice” all was up and running as usual on Friday

-- the refrigerators you find in your room are not exactly that, they are more like plug in coolers, they do not get very cold and staff indicated this is commented on by many guests – we called down and they actually sent us up a real refrigerator, which worked great but does take up extra space in your room

-- Lake Louise is a part of Banff National Park and is a tourist attraction that draws visitors all year long, most of which are not staying at the hotel, this is indicated by the very full large parking lot adjacent to the hotel as well as busses that bring in tourist to see the lake and hike around it – if you are surprised by the number of people visiting the lake and it’s view, keep in mind that the hotel has been built right beside a national treasure and not the other way around!

-- the ski shuttle should have a sign in process – on busier days you can have people waiting for 15 minutes and clearly by the numbers know that not everyone is going to get on the next shuttle – and then people show up at the very last minute and cram onto the bus with their skis in hand – this is not fair and there should be a sign up sheet so it is truly first come first served. Also, if people ski they should know that you do not get on ANY shuttle with your skis in hand – so the hotel is not responsible for poorly mannered guests!

-- if you want or need foam pillows, as we did because our son was allergic to feather pillows and spent his first night very stuffed up as we were not delivered foam pillows as was requested during our reservation – then be prepared to call several times – it took me 4 phone calls in total to get 1 foam pillow for my son to sleep on – twice they brought up more feather pillows – so this is another area where the hotel can improve.

Room Tip: If you live outside of the area and this is the only time you are going to stay here then get a Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Family Day weekend is certainly a busy one for the hotel and the Lake Louise area but I am very pleased that the service you recieved was still top notch. Your tips are excellent. I have shared your comment about the foam pillow with our Executive Housekeeper, as it certainly should not have been such a hassle.
We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,749 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,563
    655
    293
    167
    71
See reviews for
653
1389
63
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (874)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel is in one of the most scenic locations in the world. The mountains and lake are beautiful. However, be prepared to pay top dollar. The rooms facing the lake are worth the extra money. Most of the rooms are small, with small bathrooms. Suites are available. The service is great and the recreational activities world class. There is a pool and a hot tub that the kids enjoy. In the winter their is skating on the lake, and ice carvings to enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It's an iconic hotel and a must do at least once when travelling to Banff National Park. You will get a 5 star experience. The staff and service is top notch and the hotel and grounds are post card perfect. The only area that might be a bit of a lunch box let down is the recreational facility. The pool and hot tub are small and not what you would expect to find in such a grand hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay; we're so lucky to live and work in such an exceptional place. I have shared your comments about the recreational facilities with our Executive team who will look into renovations. We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I have spent (4) days at the Fairmont Gold. I have been traveling a lot in luxury hotels but never experienced such an outstannding service. The staff here went out of their ways to make your stay as superb as possible.
There are many issues with the hotel itself (too old, not having a outdoor heated pool, too small shuttle to the Ski hill, etc.) but the friendly staff and service comoensate for all of the issues.
I am coming back here next year!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food wasn't great at the restaurant and I honestly expected the place to be more beautiful and bigger it was ok but blah nothing special. The thing I liked the most was the lady playing harp in the hall it was magical she was great it made my day

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. It was disappointing to read that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. I've shared your comments with our Director of Food & Beverage who will speak with our Executive Chef.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the "Harp Angel". She is a very special part of the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have to start off by saying Fairmont hotels are by far the most consistent hotels I stay at. They may not be the absolute best, but I can always count on good service and nice, clean rooms.

The Chateau Lake Louise was no different. My room faced the Lake - what a surprise! IT was small, but you have to remember many of the Fairmont hotels were built back when traveling by train was popular and these hotels were CP hotels. So the rooms are always on the small side. My only concern was our bathroom was TINY! Two people could not fit in ours.

Staff were so friendly and helpful! We ate at the Glacier Saloon most nights - great service and good food. We tried one lunch at the Lounge overlooking the lake. It was nice, but its not really worth the money more than once. We had a few apre dinner drinks at the Walliser Strube wine bar. Again, the staff were very knowledgeable.

My only complaint was the room service breakfast was truly out of this world expensive for what you got. I tried it our first morning and I only had a smoothie, muffin and fruit cup and I ended up paying over $25.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Want a big hotel with a view - well this is it. We stayed 2 days, and really that was enough as we are not skiers. Remember, there is not much else to do that is not snow or winter related. The town is some kilometres away, and from the look of the town, there is not much there anyway.

None the less, the skating on the lake is fun, and a must do – even if you can’t skate like me. I think that most Canadians must have been born with skates.

Not all the restaurants are open all the time, and strangely, one closes at 7 pm, and the Saloon Bar downstairs was not really our taste. We are not sports bar people.

The room was very comfortable, and we were in the new wing, with a great view of the lake and mountains.

The walk around the lake was a good morning out, and can be done without snowshoes – just make sure you have good boots, socks and toe warmers.

You do have to watch out for the bus loads of others that come to gawk at the place and the ice sculptures during the day, but after about 4 pm, they seem to have all gone. If you’re interested in getting some good pictures of the ice sculptures, try very late in the day to get some good lighting.

Room Tip: Always get a room with a view - why else would you be there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were still able to experience Lake Louise, even though you're not a skiier. Skating on the lake is an experience, especially if you have a chance to have your picture taken next to the ice castle. We hope you'll be able to make it out here again!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. PLEASE NOTE: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is undergoing renovations to the aquatic centre and the pool facilities will be unavailable for swimming or usage from April 22-June 30th, 2014. We apologize for any inconvenience as we undergo these exciting enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.