We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Bucket List" Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SKI FOR FREE!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A "Bucket List" Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It's an iconic hotel and a must do at least once when travelling to Banff National Park. You will get a 5 star experience. The staff and service is top notch and the hotel and grounds are post card perfect. The only area that might be a bit of a lunch box let down is the recreational facility. The pool and hot tub are small and not what you would expect to find in such a grand hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay; we're so lucky to live and work in such an exceptional place. I have shared your comments about the recreational facilities with our Executive team who will look into renovations. We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,835
    744
    325
    182
    76
See reviews for
725
1,622
78
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I have spent (4) days at the Fairmont Gold. I have been traveling a lot in luxury hotels but never experienced such an outstannding service. The staff here went out of their ways to make your stay as superb as possible.
There are many issues with the hotel itself (too old, not having a outdoor heated pool, too small shuttle to the Ski hill, etc.) but the friendly staff and service comoensate for all of the issues.
I am coming back here next year!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food wasn't great at the restaurant and I honestly expected the place to be more beautiful and bigger it was ok but blah nothing special. The thing I liked the most was the lady playing harp in the hall it was magical she was great it made my day

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. It was disappointing to read that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. I've shared your comments with our Director of Food & Beverage who will speak with our Executive Chef.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the "Harp Angel". She is a very special part of the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have to start off by saying Fairmont hotels are by far the most consistent hotels I stay at. They may not be the absolute best, but I can always count on good service and nice, clean rooms.

The Chateau Lake Louise was no different. My room faced the Lake - what a surprise! IT was small, but you have to remember many of the Fairmont hotels were built back when traveling by train was popular and these hotels were CP hotels. So the rooms are always on the small side. My only concern was our bathroom was TINY! Two people could not fit in ours.

Staff were so friendly and helpful! We ate at the Glacier Saloon most nights - great service and good food. We tried one lunch at the Lounge overlooking the lake. It was nice, but its not really worth the money more than once. We had a few apre dinner drinks at the Walliser Strube wine bar. Again, the staff were very knowledgeable.

My only complaint was the room service breakfast was truly out of this world expensive for what you got. I tried it our first morning and I only had a smoothie, muffin and fruit cup and I ended up paying over $25.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Want a big hotel with a view - well this is it. We stayed 2 days, and really that was enough as we are not skiers. Remember, there is not much else to do that is not snow or winter related. The town is some kilometres away, and from the look of the town, there is not much there anyway.

None the less, the skating on the lake is fun, and a must do – even if you can’t skate like me. I think that most Canadians must have been born with skates.

Not all the restaurants are open all the time, and strangely, one closes at 7 pm, and the Saloon Bar downstairs was not really our taste. We are not sports bar people.

The room was very comfortable, and we were in the new wing, with a great view of the lake and mountains.

The walk around the lake was a good morning out, and can be done without snowshoes – just make sure you have good boots, socks and toe warmers.

You do have to watch out for the bus loads of others that come to gawk at the place and the ice sculptures during the day, but after about 4 pm, they seem to have all gone. If you’re interested in getting some good pictures of the ice sculptures, try very late in the day to get some good lighting.

Room Tip: Always get a room with a view - why else would you be there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were still able to experience Lake Louise, even though you're not a skiier. Skating on the lake is an experience, especially if you have a chance to have your picture taken next to the ice castle. We hope you'll be able to make it out here again!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Wow, service with a smile and nothing was a problem. We stayed overnight and the hotel was not full so everything was easy. The walk to the end of the lake was such fun we did it twice, anything to walk off the meals. We are not al carte eaters so the lake view restaurant and the saloon bar was our preferred choice. Not to sure about the lake view restaurant, little bit too formal wherenyounhave to wait to be seated....but I am sure this is because when it gets busy it could turn into a free for all. We had a sunny day and the heat coming through the window was uncomfortable, especially since the heater was on as well. Minor complaint only. Food prices are reasonable soups, sandwiches are all well priced. Saloon bar downstairs was very nice. Overall a very nice trip, we stayed in room 469 with a view of the lake with a king size bed, no other view like it from any other hotel, well worth it.

Room Tip: Lake view room if you can but don't be disappointed if you can not just means of have to get out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
The walk around the lake is my personal favourite - just about an hour there and back and you have a chance to experience the views from so many different angles. It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you also have a chance to experience the views in the summer!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Louise
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The single most amazing hotel experience of our lives, Fairmont Gold. Exclusive check in on the 7th floor in the Fairmont Gold Lounge. Romantic horse abd sleigh ride around lake louise. Beautiful ice sculptures. Canapes, honour bar. Fairview dining room 3 course fine dining dinner with paired wines. Romantic music playing in ur room on arrival. Felt like royalty!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.