We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay and sleigh ride.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4TH NIGHT FREE!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One night stay and sleigh ride.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Because we were only staying one night, we brought our own food to save some money. Even though it was chilly (minus 10 to minus 20 degrees celcius) there was little wind and that made it tolerable.
There's something magical about being here in the winter that you don't get in the summer and we loved the snow covered landscape.
We went on the reasonably priced sleigh ride which takes you along the north side of the lake to almost the end - it's a much larger lake than it appears from the shore of the Chateau. Our driver was quite personable and friendly, and treated his team (Chuck on the right and Charles on the leftt) very professionally; and, he was careful with the trail users and his horses as we progressed. Blankets were provided, but we dressed warm as well - the blankets would not have been enough, but they certainly helped - DRESS WARM!
Our room was a bit small and there was no heat control in the room so it was also a bit chilly.
The decor was beautiful, and of course, being Christmas, there was even more sights to enjoy.
They had a nice pool, but not very large and almost too cool. They had a large hot-tub, though.

Room Tip: We had a room with a lake view - it's a bit more cost, but the view is breathtaking, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,459
    624
    272
    150
    64
See reviews for
587
1298
60
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

There is no better place to stay in Lake Louise, especially at Christmas time when the lake is frozen and they clear out an area for you to skate at night. The place is big but so cozy at the same time. Had a wonderful time here - perfect winter getaway.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

My stay 3-9 December room 620. Must start by saying I would go back it was a fairytale place awesome surroundings etc. good location 5 minutes on courtesy bus to ski park. My meal I mention about was at the main restaurant glacier saloon. The steak was the rarest one I have ever saw. They apologised and supplied a new meal. I was violently sick shortly after and had D+V for the next few days. They called me the next morning to say there were investigating it and at 4pm to ask if I was ok. Very disappointed being my honeymoon, I approached the head of security and was made to feel like I was Looking for a freebie when explaining my concerns he said "what do you want a free meal or room service or something?" I took no liberties and asked only for an update concerned for others and an apology. I explained i could pay my own way and had water in my room. Even when I checked out I mentioned my stay was excellent apart from the food poisoning the reception girl laughed and I said to her I didn't find it very funny. There may have been something on the screen.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you very much for posting your review. It is incredibly disappointing to read of your experience. I will send you a private message as well, but please contact me at the hotel at your convenience so we can ensure this is resolved in investigated promptly.

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We loved our stay here in December. Great activities, wonderful winter wonderland ambiance. Great service, beautiful room. We will be returning when up in Canada during winter time. Our room was very clean. We had no difficulties booking dinner reservations and activities such as the sleigh ride.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel is old but still in good condition. A little bit like in a train station at the lobby with many outside guests sightseeing. Guess it was due to peak season. There are some shuttle bus that will take you to some spots nearby. Some free, some don't. You don't have to worry with recreational activities, all were taken care of. Definitely good for family. Not to forget, the view from the room was just gorgeous! Took my breath away. I'd love to return, and definitely longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Had a wonderful stay & my family enjoyed all the amenities & we tried things that we thought cost a lot but surprising quite reasonable.
Had dinner at Glacier Saloon, great food and very reasonably priced for a family of 5...
And the Chateau Deli was a great alternative to a quick meal & good coffee...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you want to relax and get away from it all, the Chateau is where to be. From the minute we arrived we knew we were in for a treat and it only got better each day. So peaceful and idyllic. It was late November and the snow was beautiful. We literally hiked for miles each day and took hot chocolate breaks between excursions. The evenings were filled with cocktails and delightfully delicious food. Our mornings began with a breakfast to die for on the 7th floor reception area.. We have traveled all over and this trip and home (the Fairmont) will be remembered as one of our best and most relaxing.

Room Tip: Opt for the Gold
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
The hikes around Lake Louise, whether in summer or winter, are some of the best in the world! And hot chocolate breaks are just the thing in the snowy seasons. We hope you'll be able to visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. PLEASE NOTE: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is undergoing renovations to the aquatic centre and the pool facilities will be unavailable for swimming or usage from April 22-June 30th, 2014. We apologize for any inconvenience as we undergo these exciting enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.