We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4TH NIGHT FREE!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Magical location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Fairmont chateau is in the perfect location, right on the shores of Lake Louise. The scenery from throughout the hotel is amazing. The hotel is very big with several restaurants and shops so you can easily stay here and not have to venture far except to admire the views or have fun on the slopes. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed, good bathroom and other facilities. The staff were helpful and friendly. It's expensive to stay here but is well worth it as a special treat as nothing can beat the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,731
    722
    315
    177
    75
See reviews for
702
1,556
71
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (977)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We loved this hotel and although the room was not large, the view through our bedroom window was spectacular. On arrival at the hotel, the guests are requested to choose their dining preferences for the evening. The restaurants offered different dining experiences and we chose a restaurant with an Italian flavour where the service and food was excellent. The second night we found it difficult to get into a restaurant and had a longish delay waiting for patrons to finish their meal. We hired a canoe and paddled around the lake, which was fun and offered some good positions for taking the hotel from a different angle. The hotel offered a courtesy transfer to the gondola which takes you up the mountain in two stages. Unfortunately, we were spoilt by the Peak 2 Peak in Whistler and also the Banff gondola and were disappointed by this one as it only went first stage - the second stage being closed for preparation for winter. This is a beautiful area and I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: To ensure that you have the restaurant of your choice at the time you would like to eat, it is essen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Nature lovers are in for a real treat when visiting Lake Louise. The forest and mountains are stunning enough, but the lake really adds to the experience. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, including your dining experience at Lago. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed on the concierge floor and I can say I have never experienced better service. Staff did everything they could possibly do to make our stay nearly perfect. Our room was spectacular, with one minor flaw: the air conditioning was not quite up to snuff. Upgrade the AC and I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was lucky enough to spend 2 glorious nights at Lake Louise and had a great time. We stayed in the rooms that were in a new wing (on the right as you pull up) that by the sounds of it were lovely and large. They didnt offer a complete lake view like in the main hotel but we were lakeside when the sun rose.

The property is wonderful. if you are active people spend 2-3 nights and do the walking track up to the lodge in the mountain as i think that would provide a spectacular view.

Room Tip: Lake view is the way to go but be careful with the different wings (eg painter, garden etc) as each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked Chateau Lake Louise more or less by accident. The cost was a little above what we normally pay on our travels, but this time, we had no regrets. The view from our room over the lake and to the mountains was breathtaking. The hotel met our every need and then some.

Room Tip: We were upgraded simply by joining the free "President's Club." If you don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that becoming a member of Fairmont President's Club benefitted you so much. We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a very restful experience.
The Chateau is wonderful and we received a free upgrade to Gold which gave us a room with great views of the lake and glacier.
Views of the mountains and forest were priceless and the trek into the wilderness safe but exhilarating. No Bears on our trip but wonderful views and many great photographs.
Chateau restaurants a little expensive but in keeping with the whole experience.
Well worth a stay if looking for a few days rest in the middle of a long trip

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A wonderful property with in a majestic setting. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are good as long as you don't end up with an older small room. Our original room was across from the staging area for housekeeping so we requested to be moved and ended up in the newer wing and we loved it. Make sure to check out the wonder hikes in the area!
Breakfast in our room was spectacular even if it isn't cheap it's worth it!

Room Tip: A quiet room in the newer wing suited us just fine and we still had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. PLEASE NOTE: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is undergoing renovations to the aquatic centre and the pool facilities will be unavailable for swimming or usage from April 22-June 30th, 2014. We apologize for any inconvenience as we undergo these exciting enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.