We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous! First Class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4TH NIGHT FREE!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zanesville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous! First Class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The Chateau was stunning! The site was incredible. My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont for one night during our honeymoon. The room was perfect. And the lake was a blast. It was very inexpensive to rent skates for a day and just spend time on the lake. The scenery is breathtaking. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend some time here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,414
    606
    259
    144
    60
See reviews for
562
1259
58
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Amazing and Gorgeous is how I would describe the view out our room window. We are happy that we paid the extra to get a lakeside view room. There was a window seat that allowed us to sit and "drink" in the view. For breakfast we purchased food from the deli downstairs and pulled the table over to the window to further enjoy the gorgeous view.

The room is clean and the bedding and pillows are great. The bathroom is small but it did not bother me in this instance as the decor and the view made up for it.

No matter what season, Lake Louise offers activities to enjoy outside. If going in cold weather be sure to take proper clothing so you can enjoy walking/hiking, canoeing, skating,....
Get Ready to step into a real "postcard"!

Room Tip: lakeside view and higher floors offer best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is our second stay at the Chateau Lake Louise and would highly recommend it. The location alone is magestic! We don't like the crowds, so we always book our trips to Lake Louise in the winter and it is truly a winter wonderland here. Having access to winter activities such as snowshoeing and skating right outside your hotel door is wonderful.

We booked a Lakeview Jr Suite and were upgraded to a Lakevieiw Jr Suite on the gold floor. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The room was very spacious and impeccable. We had dinner in the Walter Stube. The service was fantastic and the food was wonderful.

Room Tip: avoid the crowds and book in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here a few times and enjoyed it every time. It's an old hotel so you should small rooms but they're nicely furnished and comfortable. We went for the powder rates which made the room very affordable but you'll still pay a fair bit for food. The breakfast buffet at the Poppy Brasserie is worth every pennie though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

If you are looking for a fantastic hotel to stay at while enjoying some of the best skiing in the world, treat yourself and stay at the Fairmont Lake Louise. This hotel is beautiful top to bottom. The staff are friendly, the rooms are appointed very well and spotless and quiet.
The view out the back of this hotel looking over the frozen lake and into the mountains is a sight to be seen. lake Louise itself hasnt much to offer in the way of stores and restaurants so stick with the hotel. Its only a short drive to the ski slopes and coming back to the Fairmont after a great day of skiing is compforting especially the hot tub.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Breathtaking views - a stay at the Chateau is worth it for the view of Lake Louise alone, summer or winter. The service is 5 star where the staff are extremely friendly, attentive, working very hard to ensure you have a great visit. Great range of food from regular dining, to pub to swiss fondue. Rooms are comfortable and if you are lucky to have a view, well, dreamy!

Room Tip: It is worth paying for a room in the summer months when the sun sets late. In the winter, if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Chateau Lake Louise from December 30, 2011, to January 1, 2012, along with another couple. What a great mini-vacation and way to spend New Years!

In terms of activities, there is world-class downhill skiing five minutes from the resort, at the Lake Louise ski area, which we took advantage of. We also participated in a sparkling wine education class, which was absolutely fabulous (lots of learning about bubblies as well as sampling them). We also tried cross-country skiing (there are multiple tracks around the lake and surrounding area), which was easy to learn, and a lot of fun. There was also sleigh rides (which I highly recommend!), skating, and snow-shoeing.

The Walliser Stube restaurant was really good too. We had the traditional cheese fondue on New Years eve, which was delicious!!! We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. PLEASE NOTE: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is undergoing renovations to the aquatic centre and the pool facilities will be unavailable for swimming or usage from April 22-June 30th, 2014. We apologize for any inconvenience as we undergo these exciting enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.