We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4TH NIGHT FREE!
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
GreenLeadersSilver level
Strugeon County
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise for 3 nights in November. We stayed in a junior suite with a lake view and I would highly recommend spending the extra money for a lake view. It was awesome to open the drapes each morning and look at the amazing lake. The walk around the lake is beautiful. The hotel atmosphere is cozy and peaceful. The restaurants did not disappoint but high tea was a little pricey (a little over $90 complete for two) for the value, and I wouldn't recommend it for that reason. The service was superior in all aspects (valet, restaurants, concierge, shops, housekeeping, etc) and well worth the price. There's a great deli where it was easy to pick up some fancy room "snackies". At breakfast on our last morning our server very pleasantly surprised us by letting us know the highway conditions for our drive home, unasked!

Room Tip: Worth the money to pay extra for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,449
    622
    271
    150
    64
See reviews for
585
1288
60
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Spent one night in mid-September. On check-in we were upgraded to a two floor suite on the 8th floor with a minimal view of Lake Louise (if you stuck your head out from the veranda). Our room(s) were great and we found the service to be superb. Only problems we encountered were the steep prices in the dining rooms. Ate in the deli, which had more reasonably priced fare. Our thrill was to awaken on the day of departure, look out from veranda, and see a light dusting of the first snow of the season on the roadways and roofs below, all gone by 10 am. It is indeed a classic hotel in a fantastic setting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We took the children skiing (ages 12, 10 and 4) and decided to stay two nights at Lake Louise after a few days at Banff.
We had never been here before, but I had to laugh when we arrived and mentioned to our concierge that we usually stay in Banff and this was our first stay here, he smiled warmly and said, "Oh, but it's worth the extra drive!" And it was!
The view from our rooms of the lake were inspiring and breath-taking! Our children and nanny's suite had two massive windows and it was simply spell-binding! Even our youngest stopped short and was mesmerized by the view.
The children and our nanny loved their suite and right away the concierge staff gave us a scavenger hunt for the hotel - which was amazing! Our children learned all sorts of history and facts about the hotel and the area, it was so much fun and we all had a fabulous time!
The breakfasts in the lounge (on the gold floor) aren't as good as at Banff, but the rooms are newer and larger and the bathrooms are much nicer than Banff. The children preferred Lake Louise and my husband and I perfer the history, ambiance and staff at Banff - but you really cannot go wrong at either property - your stay will be worth it!
Once again, the staff here accommodated our son's allergy and were ever-helpful. Skiing was fantastic and there is some really great shopping right in the hotel!
If you have never stayed here - it's worth it! We will be back!

Room Tip: Stay on the Gold Floor and get a lake-view room! Also staying during the weekday if you can is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

We went with our children to ski. Very incredible lake surrounded by mountains. You can skate in the frozen lake! With an ice castle, or ride on a cart with horses.
You have a shuttle to the ski resort.
Very cold!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed at the Chateau for a few days this summer, and again this winter. It is one of the best hotels I've stayed at, and my favourite Fairmont. In the summer we hiked, swam, put the kids in an art program, canoed and walked the hotel dog (who is cute but very lazy). In the winter we skated on the lake beside a beautiful ice sculpture and took a sleigh ride around the lake, and skied of course. I would have liked to try the dog sledding too- maybe next time. There is a lot to do, and a beautiful setting to do it in. My one criticism is that the pool isn't that great, and it is much better at the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

The service is top notch, they always go above and beyond to accommodate us. I was happy to see we could buy ski lift tickets right from the hotel and take a free shuttle. It is expensive, but this time we managed to get a very good deal, and also had our room upgraded. The sleigh ride which is run by a different company, not Fairmont, I felt was too expensive for what you got (Over $100 for a family of 4.)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband, three children and I are from Australia and wanted a white Christmas and it was beyond our expectations. The Fairmont was amazing and the views were just unbelievable. We took trip Advisors reviews advice and paid the extra for a lake view room. It was well worth it. On our first day we ice skated and when it became dark it was flood lighted with Christmas music playing. Its so close to the Lake Louise ski fields. A tip is hire ski gear from the Fairmont to avoid the lines unless you are in ski school because the hire is free. If you don't want to spend to much on food go to the deli. The soup,toast and food is lovely. Wasn't that fussed on the Glacier Saloon. Room service was lovely and fresh. Staff were lovely, housekeeping was the cleanest I have ever known. Overall the most lovely experience. The Canadians really know how to do Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

It's hard to complain about a hotel in this spectacular location. The view from our (small but adequate) top-floor room overlooked the lake and the Rockies.

That said, if we returned to Lake Louise we'd stay at one of the boutique hotels nearby and just come to the Chateau for a drink or appetizers in the lobby bar. Our disappointments:

- overall terrible service In 2 restaurants, indicating poor training and under staffing

- the gym and pool are small and cramped, and the locker room was gross - dirty towels piled around, no clean towels, dirty showers. On 3 trips to the area I never found a hotel staff member there.

Room Tip: A room with a view on the lake side is essential. Be sure your room is in the main hotel building an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. PLEASE NOTE: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is undergoing renovations to the aquatic centre and the pool facilities will be unavailable for swimming or usage from April 22-June 30th, 2014. We apologize for any inconvenience as we undergo these exciting enhancements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.