We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Unforgettable experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise to your Saves list
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel! Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed in the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise for 4 to 5 times. It is one of our favourite hotels. I highly recommend you to join the President Club. Beside free internet you will also receive emails from the President Club with great rates every month.
We spent our Thanks Giving holidays in the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. We got a free upgrade to a junior suite. Really loved the room!
The Lake was extremely beautiful. It was quiet and peaceful too. We Loved It! (We went there in the summer time it was very busy. Too many people! ) Definitely will come back again and again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,032
    803
    344
    188
    79
See reviews for
801
1,765
88
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Amazing views, a free upgrade with lake view made a wonderful experience even better. Friendly staff who advised that a free membership to presidents club entitled us to free wifi and Internet and this was arranged for us.
Highly recommend the 4 hour hike from hotel to tea house (6 glacier track) was excilerating !

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
The hike from Lake Louise to the Tea House is one we cannot recommend enough. The views are certainly spectacular. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay, and also that you are now a Fairmont President's Club member. Whether it's at The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise or one of our sister properties, we hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castroville
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

They've gotten by on location WAY too long. Yes, the view from our Jr Suite was amazing but there were lots of negatives. The room itself was in need of some minor rehab (ie club chairs both had threadbare spots on the seats; mildew in the shower). Mostly the staff was in need of some attitude rehab. I guess it's our own fault for going in the off season but for dinner Thursday night other than the sandwich shop only one of the four restaurants was open and it was "completely booked" although to walk by you saw plenty of open tables.

Room Tip: If you aren't willing to pay for a view of the lake don't waste your money staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Beautiful architecture and serene surroundings. Quite busy with tourists but we were still able to find some quiet space

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

If you come to Lake Louise, you just have to stay here as it's right on the lake. We got an upgrade to a suite which was great. It's everything you would expect. Take a walk on the lake's edge, the views are stunning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for your recent response! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, as well as your upgraded room. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Top Contributor
449 reviews 449 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 175 cities Reviews in 175 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This was a special night on our trip across Western Canada (which of course included the Rocky Mountaineer). Our travel agent recommended us to stay here - and that was one of the best recommendations we have ever had. We were in a lake-view suite, so the view from the window was unbelievable. We walked along the side of the lake to the far end, and the view back to the hotel was fantastic. Service was impeccable; staff extremely friendly; the food was lovely; and what a great night's rest!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the best - if you're lucky, you get to see a stunning sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

This hotel is everything that you would dream it would be. I can't imagine why anyone would book a room here and take anything but what is probably the best hotel view in the world. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. Our room had a foyer with a large wardrobe. A huge bathroom with separate shower, toilet and bath were located off the foyer. A door separated this area from the bedroom/living area and provided additional privacy from the hotel hallway. The bedroom was spacious and included a lounge suite, coffee table, chairs and desk. A substantial afternoon tea was provided in the lounge. We didn't feel like a big meal afterwards so ordered room service for dinner. The food was excellent, beautifully presented and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was also provided in the lounge. The quality and range were excellent. The rooms are airconditioned but we chose to open the windows. This was the only downfall. People arriving to see the sunrise were noisy and their voices carried up to our room. Apart from this problem the accommodation is isolated from the disruption of day tourists. There are some lovely walks in the area and seasonal activities on the lake. We chose a canoe paddle led by a ranger. It was an informative and very enjoyable way to see a different perspective of the lake. This hotel should be on your 'must do' list for Canada.

Room Tip: Spend the money and take a lake view room with lounge access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.