We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room at a Reasonable Price for the Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountaineer Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mountaineer Lodge to your Saves list
Mountaineer Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Door to Door Ski Shuttle
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Salmon Arm, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice Room at a Reasonable Price for the Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

For being in a popular national park, I found the Mountaineer to be reasonably priced and the room, although not 'special', was fine for an overnight stay. We travelled in May so there was little traffic -- the hotel is near a main intersection so not sure of noise level during the busy tourist season. Room was clean and with enough space to spread out a bit. It's a very short walk (less that 5 minutes) to the town square for restaurants and a bit of shopping. I'd stay again.
As I ride a motorcycle, I liked that there were ground level rooms with easy access -- no need to go through a main building to get to a room, or to have to lug saddle bags up stairs.

Room Tip: During peak tourist season you may want to ask for a room furtherest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    183
    154
    69
    30
See reviews for
163
230
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Not a large selection of places to stay in Lake Louise - the room I had was average, tho there was no phone in the room. (tho Cell phones worked) & they seemed to have an extensive cable tv channels in their package.

Only other notable observations are that there is no restaurant at the hotel, tho a couple of places not far. Also, I stepped on a beer bottle cap under the bed as I was pulling back the sheets - leftover from a previous guest...

An ok stay, but not a great value.

Room Tip: Check out the hostel close by instead - HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre. If I had known before hand h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel decor may be a bit dated, but the service, location and cleanliness are great. Easy walking distance to restaurants and pub. Very quiet in the off season. Steam room and hot tub were spacious and clean. We could stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I booked this hotel sight unseen online based on a great combined price ski/stay package. I arrived and was greeted very quickly by friendly staff. She upgraded us to a bigger room without me asking citing that the hotel was rather quiet and since it was my first stay we should get an upgrade! The room was clean, albeit basic. The mini fridge was making a rattling noise which drove me to unplugging it! The hot tub/steam room was very clean and enjoyable after a long day of skiing. The same staff recommended a great dinner and breakfast placed which were spot on. My next trip here will certainly be back to the lodge, what a gem! My only complaint other than the noisy fridge was that the beds were rather hard.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main lodge, this is where the hot tub and steam room are located!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great service, nice large clean rooms. The view from the hotel is very nice. The bed was a bit hard for my liking. Also our room was very hot but there was a fan in the room and the windows open. Friendly staff! Would definitely stay there again


Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Mountaineer twice since Jan 1. It is inexpensive and simple. The rooms are large and service is pretty good. I reserved rooms for 2 other families on our last stay. The reservations got messed up (part our fault part the hotels). But everything was looked after by the hotel and they got us the rooms we needed (Our friends booked 2 queen beds with the ski package for about $300 includes 2 lift txts worth $85 each making the room only $130/night. There is no restaurant in the hotel but everything in Lake Louis is close. We took advantage of the free bus service to the ski hill - way better than parking and walking - door to door service. The kids thought the TV was small (not a real issue). The shower blasted out the water and the tub drain could not keep up - I assume they will get to those renovations some day. But all in all this place is a great-inexpensive place to stay

Room Tip: Family queen is very spacious for not much more money - although regular two queen rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Mountaineer. The total overall experience was great from the ease of booking through the front desk to check in and out. The room was well maintained and the cleaning staff did a good job of keeping it that way while we were there. The older VRT TV took a little bit of getting use to again as we are more use to a larger flat screen now, but it worked fine. I hear a breakfast room is coming later this year which will be good but bringing our own wasn't really a hassle as we have done that before. The only setback to the town site of Lake Louise on a whole is the lack of a evening eating place that doesn't close before 8 pm that has reasonably priced regular type meals. The next time we travel to Lake Louise we will definitely check out the Mountaineer as long as they keep the rates in check.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountaineer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Lodge

Address: 101 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountaineer Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great central location in the village, 5 minutes from Lake Louise ski area, free breakfast, free ski shuttle and affordable accommodations makes the Mountaineer Lodge a popular spot to stay in Lake Louise. This 78 room hotel offers a variety of including rooms with one king, two queens, family suites and two bedroom suites. All rooms have a fridge, high speed Internet (Wi-Fi) and most include a microwave as well. Complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the Breakfast Room. Popular with skiers is our secure ski storage, waxing room and free ski shuttle to Lake Louise ski area. The hot tub, steam room and spectacular mountain views are sure to round out your Lake Louise vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mountaineer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountaineer Hotel Lake Louise
Mountaineer Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountaineer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.