We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Relaxing Retreat in the Canadian Rockies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moraine Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Moraine Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Most Relaxing Retreat in the Canadian Rockies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Moraine Lake Lodge is still one of the most relaxing retreats in the Canadian Rockies.
Staying in one of the cabins is the ultimate in quiet. During the day you can read, relax or go hiking on one of the beautiful trails that start at your doorstep. Save the trip to Lake Louise or Banff or Johnston Canyon until after you've checked out. Enjoy your time here. Stop in at the Library in the Lodge for afternoon tea (or coffee) - it's included in the price of accommodation.
Breakfast and dinner in the Walter Wilcox Dining Room are great - reservations recommended for dinner.
Lunch in the Snowshoe Cafe can be an issue unless you enjoy lining up with all the tourists visiting for a few hours or a day. Time your lunch carefully.
At night the day trippers are gone and silence - real silence - returns. There is nothing to hear but the sounds of nature, the crackle of the fire in the fireplace and whatever noise you make.
I recommend an all inclusive package, though it appears from the lodge website that there is less choice of packages in 2011.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    92
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
59
321
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balsall Common, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

In short: The most amazing views ever, fantastic accommodation, divine food and brilliant staff... Perfect! I can't wait to go back!!

We stayed at Moraine Lake Lodge at the start of June for 4 nights in a Deluxe King Cabin - it was for our wedding so we decided to splash out on their "Romance in the Rockies" package :-D
We arrived 2 nights before our wedding and were greeted by name by the receptionist and then the manager, Michael. Immediately we were made to feel very welcome and found them to be very accommodating.
Our cabin had an amazing view out of a full height window and from the balcony across the lake with the mountains behind and the log fire was lovely... I especially liked the fact that room service would re-make the fire each morning ready to be lit :-)
Our wedding was on the Thursday and the hotel staff were amazing, they let us use their kitchens to store flowers and the cake and were happy to give us access to them any time, they allowed us private use of the dining room at lunch time (the food here by the way, is amazing! See my review of the restaurant) and use of the library in the evening.
We left on the Saturday after our wedding, and after taking the canoes out on the lake, and were quite sad to leave, I cannot wait to go back and we definitely will!
We spent a lot of time emailing and speaking with the Lodge to get things arranged for our wedding and they were fantastic (and very patient!) throughout the whole process, accommodating a lot of things they wouldn't normally.

A really big thank you to Michael and the rest of the staff at Moraine Lake Lodge for making our stay, and our wedding, perfect in every way! Thank you! x

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

In a stunning location, this hotel excelled in every way. Service was fantastic, it was completely relaxing and just an all around wonderful experience. We seriously considered changing our entire itinerary and extending our stay.
Extra bonuses are not even apparent until you arrive. Afternoon tea with pastries is served in the lounge from 3 till 5 every day (free). The best perk was the free access to as many hours as you might want in a kayak on the stunning lake. Much as the general public can hire kayaks during the day, hotel guests can also have access out of hours and with a bit of a smile, we were even allowed to take our life jackets and padels back to our room so we could go out 1st thing. Paddling the completely still lake as the day lightened around 6am is one experience I will remember for the rest of my life...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

I'd kept our last 2 nights of our stay in the rockies a secret from my husband so was hoping and praying that it lived up to my expectations and it didn't disappoint.
(This is by far the most expensive place we have stayed - usually we use B&Bs.)
The location is simply stunning - Moraine Lake is by far the most beautiful and dramatic lake we saw during our trip. Because of this there are lots of visitors to the area but, when they all leave for the evening, you you feel very special to have the lake to yourselves (and the fellow guests).
I'd opted for the 'Getaway Package' which included 2 nights in a king cabin with three course meals in the restaurant.
The cabin was stunning - the furnishings seemed nicely in keeping with the lodge and the views were amazing - you could lie on the bed and look out onto the lake through the huge window. The log fires, with plenty of wood suplied, made for cosy evenings with a book. It was definately for the best not to have televisons is the rooms. We also had a small bottle of sparkling wine in ice awaiting us with a lovely handwritten note.
The food in the restaurant was lovely and the waiting staff really seemed to know their stuff. Although my husband was worried they might be small, overly presented plates of food (he loves hearty, simple food) we were both full by the time we'd got through 3 courses and he was converted.
We loved the extras included and managed to make the most of the guided walks, evening talks, canoe hire and afternoon tea in the library.
My dream now is that we can one day afford to return to the rockies and, especially, here for a distant anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Very much enjoyed our stay at the lodge. The staff is friendly and ensures all your needs are met. The cabin we stayed at was clean with decorating fitting for the Canadian Rockies. There are a lot of visitors that come to the lake but the lodge does a good job keeping them at a distance. The dinners are pricey but the food is outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

While the location of this hotel is without a doubt spectacular, the hotel itself was disappointing. We do not often stay at hotels in this high of price range, but we do like to splurge every once in awhile. Rooms are approximately $300-500/night during high season. When I called to book a room, I requested one of the cheaper rooms and was told none were available. I was offered an 'upgrade' and thought that was quite nice. Our room was in the main lodge above the restaurant. The room had a small gas fireplace and lake view. Did not think the location of the room would be a problem when we checked in - but realized it was indeed a problem when we went to sleep and had to listen to the exhaust fan from the kitchen making alot of noise. Be aware of this if you are staying in the main lodge, especially if you are offered an upgrade from a cheaper room!

I told a staff member in the morning about the noise, and he seemed unconcerned. He looked up our reservation on the computer reminded me that I had recieved an 'upgraded room'!! Hmm? When we checked out, I mentioned the noise to the general manager and told him we did not get a very good sleep at all. He said the fan was 'supposed to' be turned off at night, he mumbled something about the architecture of the building being responsible for the noise traveling, abruptly changed the subject to the weather, smiled broadly and wisked us out the door as fast as he could!

We were really looking forward to our stay to celebrate a special occassion and just wish our experience would have been more positive. Will choose one of the other mountain lodges on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapSuspensionBridge, Owner at Moraine Lake Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Moraine Lake Lodge. We have tried to contact you about your recent visit, to no avail. However, your input ensures that the something like this won't happen again. We strive to create an experience that leaves our guests wanting to come back, and in your case we failed. Please call it is our desire to have you return in the future.

Nancy Stibbard, Dave Hutton
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
639 helpful votes 639 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I cannot add much more to all the positive reviews of this brilliant lodge. I travelled the Rockies before and have stayed in places like the Rim Rock Resort in Banff, the Fairmont Hotel in Lake Louise, and the Lake Emerald Lake Lodge, so I know what to compare.

For the luxury minded travel, this is my advice :

- skip the larger communities of Banff and Lake Louise. They will not give you the intimate, unforgetable experience that you are looking for in the Rockies. The fact that you are reading this review and as such are interested in Lake Moraine Lodge is already a good sign. Opt for either the Lake Moraine Lodge or the Emerald Lake Lodge.

- The Lake Moraine Lodge is located at the shore of the most beautiful lake in the Rockies (much more stunning than every other easily accessible lake out there), so you cannot go wrong with the location. The lodge is about a 15 min drive from Lake Louise. The best photography of the lake is done in the morning

- The lodge itself is beautifully maintained, both the common areas as the rooms. If you can afford it, go for a cabin as these will give you the most luxurious accommodations in the Rockies. The bed is heavenly, the open fire brilliant (wood is provided everyday), the decoration very nicely done and cozy. Nothing is better than sitting at the open fire after a day of hiking. Moreover, rooms were very silent and sound-proof (which was not the case at the Emerald Lake Lodge were you could hear every step of your upper neighboors if you stay a groundfloor room).

- Not only is the lodge located near the most beautiful lake, it is also located in grizzly bear habitat. While driving to the lodge from Lake Louise, we saw an enormous grizzly bear close to the road. Near Lake Moraine, you will have your best chance of seeing one in the Rockies (especially when you take on of the nearby trails).

However, there are some things that I did not like that much about the lodge or that one has to keep in mind :

- the lake is open to the general public. This means it will get very busy there in summer between about 10 am and 5 pm. People will walk on the paths through the lodge and pass in front of your window. However, this should be a non-issue as you should be out of your cabin during the day to explore the area, and you will have the lake for yourself during morning and evening.

- Rooms have no open view on the lake. The view is obscured by trees.

- although the dinner served in the restaurant is very nice, I think their prices are too high (even taken into account that the lodge is pretty isolated from town). In comparison, the food at the Emerald Lake Lodge - which is also isolated - is of the same quality, but they charge about 10 CAN $ less per entree. Also, the ambiance and decor of the restaurant felt more like an average dinner place, not in line with the rest of the lodge.

- breakfast (continental) is mediocre and not compatible with a lodge that aims to be luxurious. For example, they should serve freshly squeezed juices instead of bottled juices, and offer more choices.

- Although we are used to paying sometimes more than 1000 US $ per night for a hotel, we feel that the rates at the lodge - 400 CAN $ a night excluding taxes - are somehow overpriced (but nevertheless worth the experience). In comparison, rates at the Lake Emerald Lodge are about 60% of those at the Lake Moraine Lodge.

- What would make this lodge trully exceptional is the addition of a hottube (as hottubes can be found in quite a lot of the hotels in the Rockies these days). The hottube at the Lake Emerald Lodge was just brilliant.

So, to the owners of the Lake Moraine lodge, it would like it to give you the following advice : keep your lodge the way it is, as it is one of the nicest lodges - if not thé nicest lodge - in the Rockies. However, try to upgrade your breakfast, drop your rates by 20%, and consider the addition of a hottube and spa, and who knows ... you may end up on the Conde Nast Gold List.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.