We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Save Saved
You added Moraine Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 70, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed for the first 4 nights of our holiday and it was just a perfect place to unwind and relax. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. Our room was really cosy and I loved having the real wood fire to light in the evening. Very romantic! We had an idyllic view of the lake from our balcony which was breathtaking and the lake really was as blue as the pictures showed in the brochures. We found the choice of food for breakfast very good and suited all tastes and the evening meal was excellent though very expensive due to the current exchange rates. Plenty of things to do in the area and we were very excited to see our first Black Bear and Mule deer from the Lake Louise Gondola.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    87
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
56
297
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I have to admit that I was anxious when we had to drive though the public parking lot for Moraine Lake to reach the Lodge - the lot is crowded mid-day during high season and I thought we were going to a more secluded location!

But don't be fooled - Moraine Lake Lodge is just that - secluded but with everything at your doorstep. Some of the best trails start right outside your door. We spent 4 nights of our honeymoon here and wished we could stay longer! We were greeted with champagne and chocolate as well as a beautiful coffee table book on the Rockies. Our cabin was quiet and cozy, with a large king size bad and a large floor to ceiling window to enjoy the views! With a cabin, you will need to walk to the amenities in the main lodge (like breakfast) but we didn't mind this - its a beautiful place to walk!

The breakfast buffet was great - offering a variety of items. The staff are all young and cheery - all doing hikes on their off days so they are well equipped to help you plan your hikes and other adventures! We had dinner at the Lodge one night - it is 5 star dining and well worth a visit even if you are not staying at the Lodge. We did some hard core hikes and it was just glorious to come home to these accommodations. We would definitely like to come back! This is most certainly NOT the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise - if you are looking for large, stuffy, old world hotel with someone playing a harp in the lobby - Moraine Lake Lodge is not IT. But if cozy, comfortable, and thoughtful is what you're looking for, head to Moraine Lake Lodge now! It is expensive though, especially in peak season.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Wonderful setting, matched by the superb and attentive service. Rooms are superbly and tastefully furnished with a big wow factor on entering the room. Restaurant served quality food, albeit in small portions. Service here was again excellent, knowledgeable and attentive. The complimentary guided walk and canoe trip are well worth taking. The only downside was the log fire in our room which filled the room with smoke, so much so that we had to open the doors and windows to clear the room.

Some of the best service we have had in a hotel. Expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

I'm really picky about inns and hotels and this is very very good, especially If you want a lodge in the Banff area go here. If you want a big hotel, do the Fairmount Banff and Lake Louise. DO NOT go to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge until renovated and call before you go to confirm. The restaurant is good too but be ware there are tourists very close by.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We have travelled quite a bit, and I can truly say that Lake Moraine Lodge is one of the best places we have ever stayed! The staff was outstanding, very kind and friendly, and meeting our every need.

The location could not be better! It was amidst the trees and mountains, and right beside the lake. In fact, there was a view of the lake from every room.

The lodge provided many amenities, including complimentary buffet breakfasts and complimentary canoeing on Lake Moraine at any time of the day. We also had a guided hike to Consolation Lake (1.8 miles each way and very scenic) as well as a very entertaining and informative nature program in the evening. There was a very nice restaurant at the lodge that served an evening meal, and a cafe where you could buy sandwiches and picnic supplies to take with you on a hike. There was even a very tasteful gift shop in the lodge.

When we were canoeing on the peaceful lake, we felt as if it were a dream since we were surrounded by the clear turquoise water, trees, and glaciers. We didn't want to leave, but if we had the choice, we would stay at Lake Moraine Lodge again at a moment's notice!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, MI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The experience was wonderful from our initial interaction to our checkout. Moraine Lake is located a few miles form Lake Louise in Banff National Park

The room overlooked Moraine Lake and the view and ambiance was superb. The rooms come with a wood burning fireplace and the fireplace is ready to light and there is a plentiful stock of fire wood. The rooms are perfect for two people with a comfortable king bed, a generous bathroom and a small sitting area and a balcony, large picture windows overlook the lake and the mountain scenery. The staff is very friendly and many services are included in the room rate. Canoeing, hiking with a naturalist, a very nice buffet breakfast, etc.

The restaurant is excellent, with great entrees, desserts, and wonderful service and a very nice place to spend an evening.

We did not have a reservation and got the walk up rate that was very way under the normal rate so give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane99206
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I read about Moraine Lake Lodge in a local newspaper (in Spokane, Washington State, USA) when they rebuilt and thought that I'd like to visit someday. Well, someday finally came in 2008 and -- I absolutely fell in love with the Lodge and the Lake. It is SO MUCH better than Lake Louise (please don't let this information get out; I want to preserve it for my own). The canoeing was incredible, the service impeccable, the dining was excellent, and the room was -- in a word -- superb. I had a view of the incomparable lake from my balcony. OK, let's see if another year holds out on my first impression -- I visited again in 2009 and you better believe it -- it totally did. The staff, rooms, dining room and everything else was awesome. The only downside was that there was alot of rain in the summer of 2009. So what? Moraine Lake Lodge is so relaxing and there are many other options to explore. Hmmm, hiking, canoeing, seeing other local sites..., etc.
So I decide to visit and spend another trip this July in 2010 to the Lodge -- WOW. The weather is awesome, the hiking is incredible, the room is great, the scenery is MAGNIFICENT, and I find that the dining room is still excellent! Thanks to Ryan Crawford, Nick, and Denise, as well as Michael Clark, the General Manager. You all
rock! I will be there again in 2011; I'm already planning on my dates.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: PO Box 70, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;