We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a sight!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moraine Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Moraine Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glendora, Ca
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“What a sight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We arrived at Moraine Lake Lodge on a sunny and warm Sunday, the 13th of June, the third day of our 12-day Canadian Rockies trip. The temperature was 21 degrees (70 degrees F) and we were in shorts after a brisk hike around Lake Louise. That was the last sunshine we saw for our 6-day stay at Moraine Lake.

My wife and I had booked a King Lake Cabin. Michael, the General Manager, offered us a substantial discount--beyond the 10% AAA discount advertised--for a stay of five nights or more. The room was grand...fireplace and a view of the lake. The room was spacious and offered very nice amenities and furnishings. Someone complained earlier about having to move the coffeepot into the bathroom in order to use it. And that took how long? The massive picture window offers a panoramic view of the valley cut by glacial action and the terminal moraine that dams the lake we see today.

Given a very cold spring--to which we can attest--the lake is low but rising and the peaks around the valley still hold the promise of bountiful water, once the sun shines enough to melt the snow. We used the lodge as a base for seeing Jasper, Banff, and parts of Yoho and Kootenay National Parks. It worked very well...but they didn't provide enough sunshine! On at least 4 days, we had snow. All kidding aside, we made the best of it and having a fireplace to warm up in front of afterward made our forays all that much more enjoyable. Be advised, this is bear country! We had a good sized male grizzly amble down the path in front of our room just minutes after we had taken it to walk back from dinner. Given the northern location, you don't have to worry about stumbling along in the dark since it is still light at 11PM.

The lodge has a dining room, small "cafe", gift shop(discounts for guests), and free use of canoes for guests. There are many hikes to be had and the staff are eager to give you tips. Larch Valley and Consolation Lake are two of the more popular hikes and each has its own unique list of attributes. Pay attention to the bear warnings; in July and August, grizzlies are in the high country and an encounter can be very dangerous. The requirement to travel in groups of 4 are for your safety and should not be ignored. Buy a bear bell, strap it on your significant other's pack and then hope the bear follows the bell (just kidding).

See our comments about food and wine under Emerald Lake Lodge in Field, B.C. Food is expensive and beverages border on, well, too pricey? Sure, you are in a remote and unique locale, but the wine prices, especially, seem over the top, though not as bad as what we found at Emerald Lake.

The dining room enjoys stunning views of the lake and the glaciers perched above but it is by no means fancy. For a stay of more than three nights, the menu selections can become a bit repetitive but we tried almost all of the entrees and found them to be well prepared. Again, I will say that "presentation" seems to be the vogue these days in food preparation so prepare yourself for the odd geometry plates and the little flourishes that chefs seem to feel make them artisans more than food preparers.

The staff at the lodge is mostly young college-age people, many from Australia, and seems very friendly and genuinely interested in making your stay an enjoyable one. I give the lodges in the Canadian Rockies credit for retaining the charm of exuberant young people for staff as opposed to cheap immigrant labor that too often cannot even communicate with their guests due to language barriers.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge, although we were disappointed when they pulled out a sunny day as we checked out!

Michael: good staff and a great time!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    92
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
59
321
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We spent one night at the Moraine Lake Lodge at the end of May 2010. They opened a few nights early this year, and the rooms were half price so we had to take advantage and check it out.

We had never been to Moraine Lake before, and were not entirely sure what to expect. What an amazing place it is. I can certainly see why they can charge so much during the summer. It would certainly be worth the price. I have heard this place can get pretty busy during the summer tourist season, but it was not busy at all during our stay.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. We checked in and they gave us a full tour of the lodge, and helped us make reservations for dinner there as well.

We stayed in a queen room of the main lodge. The room was simple and cozy. Just a bed, chair, gas fireplace, bathroom, and balcony. The bed was comfy, but firm. Probably the most romantic room we have stayed in. The view from the balcony is spectacular.

Another thing I liked was that there was no phone or TV, although we knew that before we got there. It was very relaxing. They do have a computer and phone near the lobby if you absolutely have to get in touch with the outside world while you are there. But it was nice to take a break from things and just enjoy the mountain air.

We stayed in the room closest to the lake, but that was also closest to the kitchen. There was some sort of noise (we figured it was the kitchen exhaust system) that we could hear as we layed down to go to bed. But it stopped at 1030pm and we didn't hear it again. It was very quiet after that, as could be expected when staying in the mountains.

Speaking of the restaurant, the food was very good. The menu was not big, but everything looked good. . It was definitely pricey. We tried the chicken breast ($35) and the flavors were awesome. The steak and salmon were $45-$48 so it is certainly not a place to eat if you are on a tight budget. They had a very nice dining room though, and the service was excellent. It was snowing while we ate, so we did not take advantage of the outside patio tables, but they must be very popular in the summer.

I would definitely recommend staying here, and we will certainly go back again. There are so many hiking trails in the area. We only had time for the rockpile trail, but will definitely go back to check out some of the others.

Since this review is for the lodge, I am only going to add photos of the lodge. If you would like to see the photos of Moraine Lake and the surrounding mountains, you can check out my photostream on Flickr:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/44964056@N04/sets/72157623303142745/

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

My husband and I spent 1 night in a deluxe king cabin overlooking Lake Moraine. The ultimate rustic experience. The bed was so comfortable, the room was huge, the windows overlooking the lake were from ceiling to floor. The wood stove was great. It was a very romantic setting. We went for a free canoe ride around the lake. The staff was so nice helping me into the canoe, and paddling was no problem, even with my arthritis. It was a real calming experience on the lake, the water is turquoise. We went for fine dining, at the hotel and it was the best meal I've ever had. After dinner we went to the Library and enjoyed a very entertaining talk by a Naturalist about the local wildlife. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Can't wait to go back. We drove to Banff Hot Springs and then up to Columbia Ice Fields. Views are fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

We stayed one night here in a Deluxe King Cabin - which cost a little more cash but worth it for the view and wood buring fire which gave a real homely atmosphere. The location is simply awesome being right on Lake Moraine - in our opinion by far the most stunning lake we saw in or travels through Banff, Yoho and Jasper Parks.

The restaurant is fairly expensive with limited choice - but what we actually had was good. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed for 1 night as part of our Rockies fly drive holiday. The hotel has a unique position on the edge of a very picturesque lake with free canoes for the use of guests and a gentle path walk to the head of the lake.

The bedroom was clean and comfortable but very small and felt cramped, it was nice to have the big balcony deck to sit out on for a bit of space but being mid September it was getting quite cool in the evening. The evening meal and the breakfast were both excellent.

Not a cheap place to stay and the area gets over-run with buses full of camera toting tourists during the day which swamps the place but it returns to peace and tranquility by late afternoon when the hordes have left.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed at the Moraine Lake Lodge for several nights this August. The hotel is quite pricey but we decided not to be on a budget hoping to get quality. This was the case but our expectations were not completely fulfilled. We stay at a Deluxe King Cabin in the second row of them with beautiful views of the Lake, which is quite spectacular, although less than Lake Louise or Emerald Lake. The room was much better than the ones, from the nº11 onwards, situated in the lower first row. These have less view because the trees and most of all they are located very near from a public walkway full of loudly crowds of people from early in the morning until late in the evening.(It has to be noted, as others reviewers have writen, that nothing about these public walkway is mentioned in the hotel's website).
The room was nice and confortable, but had surprising flaws for a place which wants to be considered one of the best in Banff National Park. For instance, it had a coffemaker as anounced, but inside a closet with no socket to plug it in (If you like you can see that in one of the photo enclosed herewith). So, if you want to use it you have to put it on the floor or in the more than small table the room had. On the other hand, the bathroom is quite small for a place so priced and the anounced Aveda amenities were present in our case just the first day of a stay of five. More, the soap bar we use for several days was not a new one. We discover that only on our third day when we get an other one much bigger. Just surprising?
The fact can not be explanined by the effort too reclycle reduce and reuse presumed by the Lodge. They ask you to help them to be environamentally friendly with the bathroom linen,but they do what they want about it. On day, we leave the linen in the bathtub to get them changed and we find them in the tonel rack (or in other places but no new linen at all). And others days we leave them in their place and we find that all them changed.
Besides all that, Moraine Lake Lodge is a wonderful place to stay (not the restaurant that I will never recommend to a friend). Perhaps just for a couple of days if you dont want to drive too much. It is 12 Km. far from any other place (or from HW1) and most mountain routes, al least in 2009, have to be done in groups of four people or more because Bear activity in the area. If you just want to relax and not socialize that could be a problem.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

The lakeview cabin could have been a picture in the L.L. Bean catalogue- rustic elegance all the way. It was a chilly night, and the woodburning fireplace, which we didn't expect to light in August, was an added bonus. Dinner in the restaurant was much better than one would expect from a hotel dining room- much nicer than the Fairmont's in both Banff and Lake Louise which we had been at nights previous to here. The weather had been iffy all day until around the time we checked in, and cleared out just in time for our arrival :) Canoes, which had been shut down all day, opened up for the last couple of hours that day, just in time for a paddle to the end of the turquoise lake, which was just a sublime experience, with a view of late afternoon sun on the glacier and river running into the lake. The staff was about 30 years younger than us and pretty hip, yet friendly and helpful. Will remember this day for a long time!! There was a naturalist speaking in the library that evening, but we were tired, and enjoying wine in front of the fireplace in the cabin.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.