We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canada Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moraine Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Moraine Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Canada Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

This is a real gem in Canada. Little lodges with a real fire by the lake. A safe retreat from the wildlife and Grizzleys (yes we saw one close up and survived!). We stayed at the end of the season. The lodge is truly memorable - great food, wine, superb shop and also a cafe if you dont fancy a gourmet meal at lunchtime. Worth every penny for a special treat. The hotel Canoes are a must and the walk around the lake spectacular.

Room Tip: Any of the lodges as all have superb views of the lake and peace & tranquility
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    92
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
59
321
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Moraine Lake Lodge is an outstanding hotel with a gorgeous view. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are beautifully decorated - comfortable. The kayaking was memorable and breathtaking. The restaurant had fantastic fine dining and delicious breakfast. I definetely plan to return one day - as it is one of the most beautiful places on earth.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueces County
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

My family has stayed at Moraine Lake Lodge twice and each time it has been a rustic delight. the first time we stayed there, we had two adjoining lodge rooms, directly next to the cozy lounge. The second time we stayed, we had a deluxe cabin near the lake. The view from each was incredibly beautiful! We also enjoyed the great food, both in the formal dining room and in the sandwich shop. Hiking is terrific! I'd love to go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Of the places my wife and I stayed at in the Canadian Rockies, including the Fairmont Banff and the Fairmont Lake Louise, this place was definitely our favorite. We stayed in one of the cabins right on the lake - pretty room with a fireplace and a little balcony to look out over the beautiful Moraine Lake. This was for my wife's 50th birthday and it was perfect. (We were originally going to stay longer at the Fairmont Lake Louise but found this place even more appealing, and less expensive, though still pricey). Nice dining room with very good food. Only drawback in the cabins is the day-hikers walking by maybe 30 feet from the balcony - but the place is so perfect that you get used to that, and walk around the Lake itself is also gorgeous. Can't recommend this place highly enough, especially for a romantic stay.

Room Tip: If you like that wort of thing, ask for a cabin close to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Moraine Lake Lodge in a deluxe cabin #9. This was a splurge but for location and experience it was well worth it.
Our cabin was on the upper level in a block of 2 cabins furthest from the main lodge. We had a view between 2 cabins & over the lower row of cabins to the lake. As a bed & breakfast proprietor I expected this standard of accommodation to provide a small bar fridge and fresh milk for tea & coffee, not coffee whitener. Also for a 3 night stay I expected regular replenishing and adequate supplies of tea & coffee.
The location is superb. There are walks for all levels of ability. The lakeshore walk is a gentle stroll, the Rockpile for the CAD$20 bill view of the 10 peaks is easily achieved by most people. The longer walks to Consolation Lakes, Larch Valley etc are sometimes ranger led. When we were there we had a day of rain so only had time for one longer walk and chose an unaccompanied walk to Consolation Lakes. To take this walk groups of 4 people are recommended for protection against bears. It was simple to wait at the trailhead and soon meet other walkers. It was an easy walk after crossing a boulder field, which really just required care, and mostly through lovely forest carpeted with soft fir needles. We were rewarded by beautiful views of lakes, mountains and hanging glaciers. The walk took 2 hours with 30-40 minutes at the lakes.
As we had a 2 night package with an extra night added so we had complimentary canoeing on Moraine Lake. As complete novices we had a wonderful hour or so on the lake. We paddled to the furthest end to the source of the lake at the Wenkchemna River and into a secluded little bay. The clarity and colour of the water was amazing, crystal clear and turquoise blue, we could almost count the pebbles on the bottom.
One evening we attended a very entertaining and interesting talk in the library on bird brains from a Great Divide presenter. We would highly recommend attending any of the talks but do make sure to ask we were not informed about them during our orientation and almost missed attending.
"Afternoon tea" is served in the library. Don't expect much, leftover pastries from breakfast for early birds and then when these are gone packet biscuits!! Really Moraine Lake Lodge you can do better than this.
Dining was a convoluted affair with greeters and waiters. The food was delivered far too quickly for enjoyable dining. We can highly recommend their scallop appetiser & beef tenderloin but the chef needs to restrain his hand with vegetables and cook meat to guests' liking. Elk tendeloin ordered rare was served barely warm and medium rare served blue. The vegetables on the plate did not compliment the meat. Braised red cabbage, asparagus, baby carrots and potatoes with red wine reduction were perfect but why add yellow bell pepper and a tomato, this did not show understanding of culinary balance. Desserts were generally poorly made and oversweet.
Despite some minor criticism we would still recommend staying here over any other venue in Banff National Park.

Room Tip: Cabin #9 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We first stayed in a room in the lodge, which was delightful. When we decided to stay an extra night, they only had a cabin overlooking the lake available. That room was absolutely amazing! We could lie in bed and see only trees and lake - it was like being in a tree house in the most beautiful natural setting. The meals in the restaurant were excellent. We went on one of their naturalist guided hikes to Larch Valley, which I would highly recommend, and also attended a nature talk, held in the library, by Joel Hagen which was informative and extremely entertaining. Make sure you make time to experience these events. The only thing that could be improved was that the bathrobes were a bit skimpy for my over 6' husband.

Room Tip: Worth the money to get a cabin facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

This has to be one of the best in the Rockies and was our favourite. A beautiful hotel in a stunning location overlooking Lake Moraine. Not overdone or exploited like Lake Louise or busy like Banff & Jasper. This is much more subtle. There are tourists in the day but they are not there in the morning or evening and its like having a lake and mountain to yourself. Early morning walk is just wonderful and silent. You get a lodge of your own with a fire and a sitting area looking over the lake. Yes, it is quite expensive but its a special place to stay. The restaurant is fabulous, the staff are lovely.

Room Tip: get as good a view that you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.