We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Moraine Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Moraine Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 70, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It's all about the setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was our second stay at this property. The setting is nothing short of magnificent. It is very expensive if staying during the high season. I recommend coming during a bridge season for cheaper rates and less crowds! It was MUCH more crowded with day trippers during late July. A porcupine or something got under our cabin the last night chewing on the floor or something and kept us awake all night! Didn't like that too much.

They need to work on parking lot control. The girl trying to handle this was in way over her head. She obviously needed much more help and more organization. I would return perhaps but not in July.

The restaurant and staff are good especially considering it is a seasonal property. A nice stay but getting too expensive for us. We paid almost $200 more per night than our previous visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    90
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
58
304
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Booked king room. Way over priced. Average stay. Breakfast was average to below average, but helpful due to location of the lodge.
Spider in our bathtub.
Staff behaviour was average too. There are not enough peddles and life jackets for the guests in case you want to canoe in the morning. Only three sets are available. Rentals open at 10 AM. Did not try the guided hiking tour.

Room Tip: Double bed probably is the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Lake Morraine is a 15km drive out of town. The road ends at this beautiful lodge which observes the lake and ten stunning glacier clad mountain peaks. Our welcome at reception was awesome. Our room in the main lodge was rustic, cosy and very comfortable, equipped with a gas free standing fire and all the amenities one could need. The room had no TV or phone. For this location, just perfect. Our balcony overlooked the lake and incredible peaks. Immediately outside the lodge are numerous trails either lakeside or up into the mountains. We dined in the restaurant on 2 nights. The service was splendid and the food exceptional. A fabulous place to spend a few nights and reach out to nature. An 11/10 experience.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodge as it has the best lake views, especially the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Let me begin by saying that this is a beautiful, small lodge located immediately adjacent to major trailheads leaving from Moraine Lake. The lake, itself, is beautiful with a color that must be seen to be believed. So, as you can imagine, the views from the small "cabins" are quite nice.

Our concern was not with the surroundings, but with the value of the rooms. Our cabin, for lack of better term, was so small as to barely accommodate our suitcases. When I say that you have trouble turning around in it, take my comments quite literally. Now, we're not expecting a 500 square feet suite in the mountains, but for the cost of the room, we did expect more. At half the price, it would have been a great deal.

The service at the lodge is very good...delivered by a young, enthusiastic staff who seem grateful to have a summer job in a pristine environment. They were delightful.

The food is good, not great. Again, we were in the mountains...so our expectations were tempered as were our needs. I would opt for breakfast, since it is included in your exorbitant room price, but consider other options for dinner.

Absolutely take advantage of the canoes on property. The lake takes on a very special charm when you are immersed in it.

So, like so many high-end national park properties, the surroundings are gorgeous, but the value of the room is questionable at the rates charged.

PS: Be sure to hit the trails by 9:00 a.m. unless you want to be part of the "pack." My wife and I like a bit of solitude when hiking, which is hard to find in peak-season.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardedeu, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Amazing Lodge in front of the lake.
I had the dream to visit that astonishing place at first second I got a puzzle with the Moraine lake landscape on it when I was a child. It's worth it.
Lodge's staff is young on average, with many boys and girls that do their best to attend, advise and help guests with anything.
There's a canoe rent service that is free if you are staying at the lodge. A very kind guy and a beautiful girl will help and teach you if you want to try canoe out.

Room Tip: Cabins might be expensive, but they are the best deal for a romantic night for a couple. Sights to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The view is beautiful. Everyone should visit Lake Moraine but stay elsewhere. No TV and No wi-Fi in room but spotty wi-Fi in library. The room over our room was burning their fireplace and the smoke was coming down into our room. We had to open all our windows to air out our room at 11pm. Very noisy if on ground floor. If it rains, there is nothing to do.....you better like to read.
Restaurant is very expensive. Breakfast that was included in room price, was mediocre and they kept running out of food.
Not worth the price. Overpriced.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed six nights at the lodge. It was a splurge, but worth every penny (and then some). The staff treated us like absolute royalty! The buffet breakfast every morning was phenomenal. The view from our room...spectacular. We took advantage of the kayaks and were often the only ones on the entire lake. We didn't realize that last Sunday was a Canadian holiday, but it did not feel like it because Moraine Lake limits the number of tourists at the lake. Devin did an amazing job leading our hikes. He is very knowledgeable and it is refreshing to see a young man so enthusiastic about his job!! We will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 23. It was extremely quiet and had a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: PO Box 70, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;