We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience! Regretted staying for just one night.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moraine Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Moraine Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing experience! Regretted staying for just one night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed by the friendly staff once we stepped out of our car and checking in was a breeze. We were transported right to our cabin door steps and given an orientation of the room and lodge facilities. The king cabin had everything to keep us comfortable, right by lake as requested, incredibly cosy and had magical views of Moraine Lake. We had snow fall that evening and we lit the wood fireplace which was already set for us, the room ambience is simply extraordinary. The experience of sitting at our private balcony in the quiet evening facing the lake and mountain peaks to experience the tranquil and peace here is indescribable. You have got to experience this yourself. We booked a few months in advance and the Manager Michael Clark handled all our reservation queries and requests efficiently and gave us all the information and assurance needed for this stay, the staff we encountered here were all extremely warm and welcoming, simply commendable. Do yourself a favor if you are visiting Moraine Lake or Lake Louise area, stay here to experience this magical place.

Room Tip: Go for the King cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    92
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
58
319
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Canadian Rockies for the first time recently. Moraine Lake (with the remaining ice receding daily and the water level rising) and the surrounding mountain peaks were majestic. I can't imagine a more beautiful setting. Our king cabin accommodations were very nice, with the bed, fireplace, and deep soaker tub all big pluses. Staff was helpful, and the dinners were quite good. We enjoyed an entertaining presentation by a retired park ranger / naturalist one evening. Crowds of day trippers didn't detract from our experience, but as the summer season warms up, some of the quaint isolation of the location may be lost. We hope to return again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel itself is a delightful cabin with bespoke rooms, relaxing lounge and great dining room with a good choice of meals and wines. We stayed on the upper floor just for one night and found it very peaceful. However take seriously the comments about the tourists in the day time from 10am the coaches arrived and as the hotel offers a cafe and gift shop they are naturally attracted to it. So you will get peace but not all day tranquility that you may expect from the hotel literature. This isn't a negative though just something to be aware of especially in the summer and for the price.

Room Tip: I'd avoid the ground floor in the lodge due to other tourists walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We had cabin 18 which overlooks the lake. And what an awesome view it was even though still frozen. The cabin was superb - the bed big enough for three or more ;). A real log fire (obviously UK 'elf and safety hasn't discovered Canada). The breakfast was good but the evening meals were superb. Excellent cuisine and service.

Only negative points were that the cabin wardrobe space was limited and the bathroom was tiny. They also had the weirdest shower curtain that made me feel I was showering in bed.

But these were minor issues and anyone considering staying at the awful Fairmont in Lake Louise should stay here instead. Unless you like a Disney/Las Vegas inspired hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the lodge for two nights( which was not enough) on the 1st and 2nd of June.
Everything about the lodge was excellent, from the amazing service, the fine dining restaurant, to the beautiful room with the view that made it hard to leave our room to go exploring.
We have been lucky enough to travel and stay in some great spots including lake louise,we both agree this one will be hard to beat. Would highly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: We had a queen lake view room. Which gave us an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 days at the Moraine Lake Lodge last September, not because we cannot stay longer but because they are very fully booked during the summer season and we have to stay somewhere else for the rest of our visit to Banff. We were deeply impressed with the natural setting, namely the ultra serene and beautiful lake Moraine and the surrounding valley of the ten Peaks. It is so picturesque that you feel yourself living off a postcard and no less. Our room is a lodge on the hill side with big picture window and a balcony overlooking the lake with log furniture and a "wood burning" fireplace which we were too happy to use the first night and the ambience was fantastic. A stroll around the lake in the morning was extremely refreshing and indeed if one is more adventurous, they do have guided tours into the mountains and free canoeing. Their restaurant also served good food. It is a great place to rejuvenate yourself and renew your relationship with your partner or family members. It is also quite conveniently located although up in the hills and Lake Louise, Banff Town Cenre and other lakes and attractions are all within driving distance. But do book well ahead and the road up to the lodge I believe would be closed after September because of weather conditions.

Room Tip: I believe most of the lodges would have view of the lake but do make a request when you book so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed at Moraine Lake Lodge last september for one night. Of course, the views at the lodge are just magical. It was a special experience staying overnight at one of the most beautiful lakes in the world. We had a cabin with a king bed. the cabin was really cozy, you have a nice fireplace, and the bed is super comfortable.
Breakfast was included, and very good. It's always nice to have the breakfast included when you stay at a hotel. This was a plus for us.
The only thing that bothered me was that the employees always seemed rushed. I would expect a more attentive service from them, for the price you pay.
I would recommend staying at least two nights at the lodge to fully enjoy the surroundings. One night was not enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.