We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome way to end our road trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moraine Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Moraine Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome way to end our road trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We had cabin 18 which overlooks the lake. And what an awesome view it was even though still frozen. The cabin was superb - the bed big enough for three or more ;). A real log fire (obviously UK 'elf and safety hasn't discovered Canada). The breakfast was good but the evening meals were superb. Excellent cuisine and service.

Only negative points were that the cabin wardrobe space was limited and the bathroom was tiny. They also had the weirdest shower curtain that made me feel I was showering in bed.

But these were minor issues and anyone considering staying at the awful Fairmont in Lake Louise should stay here instead. Unless you like a Disney/Las Vegas inspired hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    92
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
59
321
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the lodge for two nights( which was not enough) on the 1st and 2nd of June.
Everything about the lodge was excellent, from the amazing service, the fine dining restaurant, to the beautiful room with the view that made it hard to leave our room to go exploring.
We have been lucky enough to travel and stay in some great spots including lake louise,we both agree this one will be hard to beat. Would highly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: We had a queen lake view room. Which gave us an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 days at the Moraine Lake Lodge last September, not because we cannot stay longer but because they are very fully booked during the summer season and we have to stay somewhere else for the rest of our visit to Banff. We were deeply impressed with the natural setting, namely the ultra serene and beautiful lake Moraine and the surrounding valley of the ten Peaks. It is so picturesque that you feel yourself living off a postcard and no less. Our room is a lodge on the hill side with big picture window and a balcony overlooking the lake with log furniture and a "wood burning" fireplace which we were too happy to use the first night and the ambience was fantastic. A stroll around the lake in the morning was extremely refreshing and indeed if one is more adventurous, they do have guided tours into the mountains and free canoeing. Their restaurant also served good food. It is a great place to rejuvenate yourself and renew your relationship with your partner or family members. It is also quite conveniently located although up in the hills and Lake Louise, Banff Town Cenre and other lakes and attractions are all within driving distance. But do book well ahead and the road up to the lodge I believe would be closed after September because of weather conditions.

Room Tip: I believe most of the lodges would have view of the lake but do make a request when you book so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed at Moraine Lake Lodge last september for one night. Of course, the views at the lodge are just magical. It was a special experience staying overnight at one of the most beautiful lakes in the world. We had a cabin with a king bed. the cabin was really cozy, you have a nice fireplace, and the bed is super comfortable.
Breakfast was included, and very good. It's always nice to have the breakfast included when you stay at a hotel. This was a plus for us.
The only thing that bothered me was that the employees always seemed rushed. I would expect a more attentive service from them, for the price you pay.
I would recommend staying at least two nights at the lodge to fully enjoy the surroundings. One night was not enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Travelling from Australia, choosing Moraine Lake over Lake Louise was difficult but as avoidance of large crowds was a main criterion, we both think we might the right choice, having visited both. Access is by car, about 15 minutes off the Trans-Canada Highway, and a beautiful drive. The Lodge is a charming timber built structure, with a few rooms inside (we were in one of these), whilst most visitors stay on the adjacent modern cabins. The views from just about anywhere there are superb and Moraine Lake and its walks are a 'must' for anyone coming to the Banff region. The Lodge arranges evening talks by experts and guided walks - we took a 2-3 hour one to see the golden larches which were just coming into full splendour in early September. There's an excellent restaurant attached, and a cafe and boutique shop that is open to the public. Yes, the buses come here in numbers too, though nothing like as many as go to Lake Louise 15km away, but residents have their won quiet sitting room, afternoon tea, and as much peace and quiet as you want. It's an expensive place to stay but we thought of it as a special indulgence and enjoyed every minute of 5 days there.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main Lodge building avoid having to take a walk or a run through the weather and are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed in many different types of accommodation on a trip to Canada last year. This was by far the most expensive per night. It does include breakfast and the restaurant for dinner is lovely (not included in price), however I would say that the price is a bit too steep. You have use of canoes on the lake and there was a great naturalist one evening doing a great presentation which was free to guests. We also booked a Larch Valley trek the second day we were there which although pretty tough, brought superb views. Lake Moraine is stunning, better than Lake Louise in my opinion, as less touristy and more peaceful. Beautiful colours too.
You can visit for a day trip and access most things.
The rooms are lovely with log burners and balconies. You are set back from the lake and may not have a view of the lake unless you request this. I can not fault the accommodation for comfort and luxury and as they are not open all year I guess they need to reap in as much money as possible during their season.

Room Tip: We asked for a lake view room when we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Breathtaking views of Moraine Lake and we stayed in a beautiful cabin with fireplace. So glad we stayed here instead of the more touristy Lake Louise. We stayed for (3) nights and had dinner in the restaurant twice. Both meals were excellent. We had breakfast each morning in the dining room and also enjoyed it. I only wish I could go back again soon to enjoy some of the natural beauty of the area.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the private cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.