We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quieter Alternative To Lake Louise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moraine Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Moraine Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Quieter Alternative To Lake Louise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Travelling from Australia, choosing Moraine Lake over Lake Louise was difficult but as avoidance of large crowds was a main criterion, we both think we might the right choice, having visited both. Access is by car, about 15 minutes off the Trans-Canada Highway, and a beautiful drive. The Lodge is a charming timber built structure, with a few rooms inside (we were in one of these), whilst most visitors stay on the adjacent modern cabins. The views from just about anywhere there are superb and Moraine Lake and its walks are a 'must' for anyone coming to the Banff region. The Lodge arranges evening talks by experts and guided walks - we took a 2-3 hour one to see the golden larches which were just coming into full splendour in early September. There's an excellent restaurant attached, and a cafe and boutique shop that is open to the public. Yes, the buses come here in numbers too, though nothing like as many as go to Lake Louise 15km away, but residents have their won quiet sitting room, afternoon tea, and as much peace and quiet as you want. It's an expensive place to stay but we thought of it as a special indulgence and enjoyed every minute of 5 days there.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main Lodge building avoid having to take a walk or a run through the weather and are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    92
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
59
321
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed in many different types of accommodation on a trip to Canada last year. This was by far the most expensive per night. It does include breakfast and the restaurant for dinner is lovely (not included in price), however I would say that the price is a bit too steep. You have use of canoes on the lake and there was a great naturalist one evening doing a great presentation which was free to guests. We also booked a Larch Valley trek the second day we were there which although pretty tough, brought superb views. Lake Moraine is stunning, better than Lake Louise in my opinion, as less touristy and more peaceful. Beautiful colours too.
You can visit for a day trip and access most things.
The rooms are lovely with log burners and balconies. You are set back from the lake and may not have a view of the lake unless you request this. I can not fault the accommodation for comfort and luxury and as they are not open all year I guess they need to reap in as much money as possible during their season.

Room Tip: We asked for a lake view room when we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Breathtaking views of Moraine Lake and we stayed in a beautiful cabin with fireplace. So glad we stayed here instead of the more touristy Lake Louise. We stayed for (3) nights and had dinner in the restaurant twice. Both meals were excellent. We had breakfast each morning in the dining room and also enjoyed it. I only wish I could go back again soon to enjoy some of the natural beauty of the area.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the private cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

After Banff we stayed two nights at the Moraine Lake Lodge and very extremely happy that we had pre-booked. Stayed in a lovely rustic cabin with a fireplace we lit both evenings to fall asleep as it was quite cold even though it was end of August - very romantic! Had read all the reviews before booking so we were aware that during the day hordes of tourists would be walking around the property and on the border of Moraine Lake. We were hoping that we could avoid them by going on hikes, unfortunately, there was a bear warning when we were there so, as we were a party of two, we stayed around the lake. We didn't mind the day-tourists so much as they left quite at the end of the afternoon and the scenery then takes over. The view of the lake at the top of the boulders is breathtaking and the water so blue, it reminded us of the Blausee near Kandersteg in Switzerland. Much smaller but also, as the name says, very blue in colour. The cabins are quite secluded and the higher up you are, the better the view and the further away from day-tourists. Breakfast (which was included) and Dinner are taken at the main building, which also has some rooms. We very much preferred the semi-detached cabins. Both breakfast and Dinner were very good and we were surprised about the quality of the food at such a secluded place. Very quiet at nights and due to the king size beds we slept like babies. Great experience and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Cabins higher up in the property and a bit further away from the Lake are more quite as less people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was our third trip to Moraine Lake and as we were celebrating a special anniversary we decided to stay at the lodge.

The staff were very friendly and attentive and in particular the UK contingent of students who were out for the summer gaining work experience, were excellent.

Accommodation was great, wooden cabins with a lovely quality finish to them. Not huge but perfect for the two of us. Being in the woods it allowed for a very comfortable and quiet sleep. The other benefit of staying on site was the fact that we had a parking space!

Whilst there we took advantage of the organised walks and joined Hannah in her hikes to Larch valley and Consolation Lake. Both were fabulous and although Larch valley is quite a hike, Hannah paced it really well for the mixed group that took part. She was an excellent guide,imparting lots of local information and wildlife knowledge enroute which made it even more enjoyable. In the evening after our meal, we attended the talk on birds, held in the library, something we wouldn't ordinarily do, but we found it very interesting and enjoyable and it added to the whole lodge stay experience.

The food at the lodge although appearing a little pricey, was actually on par to a decent meal out in the UK and the quality, presentation was great and very enjoyable. As was the breakfast selection.

The only comment would be that the Canadian restaurants focus heavily on alcohol consumption with a meal which is fine but on a three week vacation, eating out every night, it really isn't good to have a bottle of wine plus, every night! I would suggest they look into more interesting adult non alcoholic beverages not just coke or sprite or water. In Banff I helped a waitress to create a new, non alcoholic cocktail which she then put on the menu it was so good! Just a small thing but very noticeable.

in the past we have visited Moraine Lake from our Lake Louise accommodation but now we have discovered this place, I have no doubt we shall be back.

Moraine Lake is a busy place but by staying on site after about 4:30pm all the coach tours have been and gone. Also they only stay for a short period of time and therefore, do not have time to attend the bigger walks and so once you set off, within minutes you are away from the hustle and bustle. Having said that though, if I could only visit this spectacular place the once and on a coach tour, then it would still visit as it is one of those locations not to miss when touring the Rockies.

Thank you to all the staff at Moraine Lake Lodge who helped make our stay a very special and memorable one.

We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We only had one night at the Lodge as it was the last night of the season, but it was excellent. Our cabin was well furnished with a wood burning fireplace and plenty of wood stacked outside our door. There was an open deck with table and chairs for enjoying nature up close and personal. We had a light snow fall which just accentuated the ambiance. We dined at the Lodge and had great food, great service and a great view. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the Lodge, but if you have the chance to stay in a cabin, you'll not regret i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a very special place on earth and a one off !
A great place to stay, we loved every single moment.
The colour of this lake is the most amazing I have seen and the mountains that surround it are incredible.
The cabins are beautiful, the restaurant does amazing breakfasts and dinner.
The shop is really great and sells a lot of really nice gifts to remind you of your stay.
We canoed every day......hiked, watched all the wildlife, lit a fire in our cabin, had a cheese platter with ice wine and sat watching the light on the lake change.
This is a real treat and if you are going to the Canadian Rockies,
do not miss seeing this place and if you can afford it, stay here, this is a once in a lifetime type destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.