We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Save Saved
You added Moraine Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moraine Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 70, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The log cabins were wonderful right on the lake. Ours had a wooden fire with loads of wood supplied. We went the last week of the 2013 season and there was no decline in the cleanliness nor attention to detail. With it being the end of season (May to October) the rates were very acceptable

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    72
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
49
256
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The lodge (cabins) are right on Moraine Lake surrounded by huge peaks - fantastic view from our cabin, lovely wood fire place, comfy bed and huge ceiling to floor windows - could lie in bed and enjoy the wonderful view.

The restaurant was reasonably priced and the food was good.

Breakfast was included - a buffet which was a little tired by the time we got to it - ok but not great.

Only spent 1 night which was not enough - if you have the time allow atleast 2 nights to wallow in this spectacular wonderland

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our relaxing stay at Moraine Lake Lodge. The cabin was very comfortable and had a great view of the lake.

There wasn't much to do though, we didn't want to go outside as there were too many tourists, the canoes were closed so we couldn't go out on the lake, and there were no further activities provided (not even a simple board game in the room). The huge window had a blind to stop the tourists from looking in but closing that meant we couldn't look out at the view that we paid to stay there for.

Dinner was disappointing. I paid a fortune for the lamb dish and was only given a tiny amount of meat. The presentation was great, the food was nice, but it was greatly overpriced for the minuscule amount that was given. We went 20 minutes down the road to Fairmont the next night and had a great meal that we couldn't finish (due to the large amount of food) for a fraction of the cost.

The cafe staff weren't helpful at all and quite unfriendly.

Overall, the only positives we took from staying here were the cosy cabin and the beautiful scenery surrounding it. I would definitely recommend paying that little bit extra to stay at Fairmont, it offers much more for your money.

Room Tip: If you're choosing a cabin, ask for a cabin higher than 10, these are closer to the lake and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molokai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had been to Lake Moraine on other occasions and consider it to be the most beautiful place in the world. So what better place to stay for asking my then girlfriend to marry me? The lodge is very nice, staff is friendly and helpful, food at the restaurant was great... The only issue I had was the price of a nights stay....

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a cabin along the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A stunningly beautiful lodge with glorious views. The rooms are immaculate with high quality furnishings and linens. Our room had a verandah which looked out right over the lake. We loaned a canoe which is free to lodge guests and paddled the lake alone, bliss. We enjoyed rising early and climbing the 'rock pile' to watch the sunrise, so tranquil and serene. We ate in the restaurant and were very happy with the food and service. We would love to visit here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Chose this lodge because they have an on-staff naturalist who leads hikes (my husband didn't want to hike, and I needed a group - they require a "tight" group of 4 to hike in Banff). Did two great hikes w/ Heather, one of those to Larch Valley - a great sight to see in the fall. Everytime my 65-year-old body thought I couldn't go another step, she magically stopped, and said, "Let's take a break for a minute". Thank you, Heather! Scenery here is second to none in the world. We stayed in a cabin on the lake - loved having the wood-burning fire place (had snow while we were there). Restaurant was great - a little expensive, but you are in the middle of nowhere, and should expect to pay more. All the staff were enthusiastic and friendly.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the cabin on the lake - wood-burning fireplace - if you're there when it's col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a beautiful place, with stunning views from the main lodge and the cabins. The room was wonderful with a verandah overlooking the incredible lake and mountains. We went on an organised hike with the resident naturalist who was incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about the wildlife and the area in general - we thoroughly enjoyed the morning spent hiking with her. We also enjoyed the nature talk given one evening. Breakfasts are good and the restaurant excellent (slightly pricey). This is a very special place which we will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: PO Box 70, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.