We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moraine Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Moraine Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff was most helpful and professional, the dinner was spectacular, chef Steven Lay 's dinner menu was a very pleasant bonus for the accommodations. The lodge is in a secluded location, so the rooms are expensive and very small but the view is unbeatable. The experience was worth it, after all, you are experiencing the Canadian wilderness and you cannot expect the Four Seasons in the middle of the Rockies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    92
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
59
321
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent three nights in the main lodge while travelling through the Rockies.
We had a reasonable, albeit small, room, and everything that you would expect from a good quality hotel.
The Lake view was nice (at certain times of the day), but be prepared that the Lodge is adjacent to the main public car park for access to the Lake and trails. Consequently hordes of visitors roll up in coaches, campers and cars to this location.
The cheaper eating place (the cafe) is not open during the evening and, with nowhere of any note to eat at Lake Louise village, the restaurant almost has a captive audience. The food was superb but overpriced. The wine list showed a lot of imagination – mainly in the pricing of domestic BC wines!!!!
Still a great place to stay (and eat) but be prepared.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This lodge operates only 4months in a year and is located in a relatively secluded location, away from crowds and in the midst of serenity and beauty. Room lodges are on the high side but worth it for the good service and comfortable lodging. Amenities are excellent. Breakfast was good. Dinner available at the dining room was great. I would recommend it for the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here as a last min decision as we were traveling thru lake louise. When i booked the room online it was described as a room with a wood burning fire place, but had a gas burning fire place when we checked in.. it also advertized online the room included canoe rental but while we were there the canoes were not in service. It is a beautiful clean place to stay and the view was amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The service here was fantastic. They put firewood and kindling in your fireplace for you each day and it is ready to go...just light the match. The room we had was very nice with a view of the lake. Our room was in a separate building from the main lodge, so we had to put on a coat each time we went to eat in the restaurant, but that wasn't that big of a deal. The only negative I can say is that there is nowhere to put your stuff. No drawers and no closet. We had to sit our suitcases on the floor and live out of the suitcase while we were there. It had a very nice bathroom with a vanity area for toiletries. The soap and shampoo provided was very nice quality. The help was so friendly. We went on a guided hike, which was free for guests, and we went to an evening talk on bears which was also included for guests. We absolutely loved the food in the restaurant, although pricey, the quality and flavor was excellent. Breakfast was included, which could use a little improvement, no hot cereals available. It did have one hot dish and bacon and sausage, the rest was toast or cereal and danish which was just ok. Every afternoon, they had complimentary tea and cookies, but the cookies were from a package. It would be nicer if they were home baked. The lake is absolutely beautiful and the room very cozy and comfortable, even though it was small. We loved our stay here and would definitely come back. This was our favorite hotel out of five on our trip through the Rockies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Being able to stay at this gorgeous lake and be on location before sunrise is worth the expense, as is the food: best beef tenderloin I have ever had! With close proximity to other great landscapes, this is an ideal base in the Rockies. Deluxe cabin delivered, and there is always a great fireplace nearby whether in your room or at dinner. All staff were warm, accommodating and offered great hiking advice.

Room Tip: Deluxe king cabin #6 worked for me! Great sitting area with fireplace, good view although one direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We loved this place, it is as simple as that. We had a room with a wood burning fireplace, and although they are small they are cozy and cute. But, really, how much time do you spend in your room, when you have Banff National Park and Moraine Lake right outside your window? By the way, every room faces the Lake, so you cannot have a bad view. But it is the staff that truly makes MLL rank above the rest, and makes it the best. As soon as you walk into the little reception area, you are surrounded with warmth and a hospitality that can't be beat. We have traveled a fair amount, and MLL ranks above among the best for its staff. No request is too small or too big; every single person is there to make your stay outstanding. I would mention the names of wonderful staff, but I would have to mention each and every person we interacted with. Kudos to Michael Clark for his marvelous team! By the way, try to go to an interpretive talk in the evenings. They,too, are wonderful and you will learn so much from Nadine and Joel, husband and wife naturalists. Also, do yourself a favor and eat dinner in the dining room at least one night: delicious. Breakfasts are complimentary, with a hot option, fresh fruit, cheeses, peanut butter, yummy pastry. If you come to Lake Louise (just ten minutes down the hill) or visit Banff, there is no question about where to stay, MLL is simply fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.