We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Moraine Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Moraine Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge, September 22rd through the 26th. It is a great location for hiking and canoeing the lake, as well, as hiking surrounding areas. We stayed in Cabin 16 which was near the water's edge and enjoyed the spectacular view. The accomodations were very nice and the food was excellent at the Lodge. We didn't feel dinner at the restaurant was overpriced (and we are fairly conservative in what we will spend for a meal) but we also didn't order an appetizer, dessert, bottle of wine, etc. We had a glass of wine each, with an entree and felt the $100 was appropriate. My only comment is that I do feel the Lodge is a bit overpriced. I would go back to the area but would find an accomodation a bit less pricey. I am not sure it was worth the $350 a night, although I realize I was paying for location. All in all, a nice getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    92
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
58
319
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Moraine Lake is one of those pristine places that you can't believe exists until you actually see it. We stayed at the Lodge two nights in September in the main lodge which is rustic and cozy. From the moment we checked in until the checkout the staff was most accommodating. Erin's bright smiling face and friendly demeanor was welcoming. Rory always made sure firewood was plentiful in the common areas and one night when the kitchen staff has left one of the range vents on (kitchen was below our room) he kindly found out the issue and turned it off. Louise waited on us for most of our meals and she was outstanding. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety which should please anyone and our dinners were very tasty.

We found the educational evening explaining the history of the area was quite informative and we enjoyed it. I'm an Alberta resident and my mom was visiting from Texas and we both would recommend the lodge. We had two beds in our room in the main lodge which was a bit small but we weren't in the room much anyway. It was a bit cold and it didn't seem that the heat could quite keep up but it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for three nights 25th to 27th September in a room in the Queen wing with a balcony and wonderful lake views. a comfy bed and good sized bathroom. We lit the fire each evening which was lovely but could not keep it burning for long! Moraine Lake was very popular with tour buses arriving by 9 in the morning(or earlier) to see the 'golden larches' and to catch the sunrise hitting the peaks but we didn't find it intrusive. Breakfast was included and very good. We enjoyed the led walk to Consolation Lakes. The restaurant seems pricey but the food, service and ambience made it worth it and compared to some of the other prices we experienced in Canada it was good value. As guests we had free canoeing on the lake. On one evening a local wildlife expert gave a talk about wolves which was very entertaining.

Room Tip: Rooms in Queen wing (away from the hotel main building) are on two levels. Our room, 21, had ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Moraine Lake Lodge defines rustic elegance. We had a deluxe king cabin and loved it. You enter into a small hallway with the bathroom on your left and then walk into the king bed area. From there you can either walk out on to your balcony that looks out over Moraine Lake, or go down two steps to your sitting area, also with a full length window on to Moraine Lake. The sitting area is comprised of a sofa, one chair and a wonderful fireplace. The entire area is not expansive but it is "just right." The room is cozy and comfortable and additional firewood and kindling is stacked right outside your door. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom functional, with an excellent shower and tub. The setting could not be more beautiful. Moraine Lake, with the mountains surrounding it, may be the most beautiful lake we have ever seen. We actually found Moraine Lake more beautiful than Lake Louise, and if given the choice, would rather stay at Moraine Lake Lodge than the Fairmont. It is rustic, but at the same time it is serene, quiet, peaceful and elegant its own way. The staff could not have been friendlier, with most coming from across Canada and Europe. The restaurant, with its daily continental breakfast was also extremely good. The lake and lodge are about a ten minute drive from Lake Louise Village and close for the winter. However, next season, if your plans include coming to this part of Canada, we would highly recommend Moraine Lake Lodge and the beauty of Moraine Lake.

Room Tip: Request a cabin that has a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in cabin 18 and had the most amazing view of Moraine Lake. Our room was smaller than I expected, especially the bathroom, but nothing that couldn't be dealt with. The room was very clean upon our arrival. We loved the wood fire, kept us warm all night! We enjoyed tea and biscuits in the library in the afternoon. The use of the canoes is included in the price and something I highly recommend for people to see another side of the lake. We ate at the restaurant for dinner, and although pricey, it was the most delicious meal I've had in a while! Breakfast was included in the price also, and this was ok. All of the staff were very friendly and courteous. We loved staying here, I only wish we had of stayed for more than one night!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights 22 - 25th September. Our room with a balcony and view by the lakeside had a fairly limited view of the lake: the room had an aircon system which was disturbingly noisy and we were unable to turn it off. We asked for this to be looked at, but no improvement was achieved. So we had 3 nights of disturbed sleep, with aircon and other clumping noises from the heating system. Staff were not very friendly and the hotel was priced according to the location, certainly not in line with the service it offered. Very disappointed and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We scheduled a stop at Moraine Lake Lodge for 2 nights to give us a bit of a break from travelling. Oh how we wishes we had booked longer!. The place is magical and just right to rekindle your batteries and rest. We arrived on a cold wet day and dropped by our coach driver at the bottom of the drive. Two minutes later our cases were carried on a little wagon directly to our room. The rooms are a bit on the small side but were warm and welcoming with a real log fire. Spectalur views of the lake and mountains from our balcony. There are no phones or televisions in the rooms - perfect! The only downside was that the room could have done with a small table or something for small personal objects.

Woke up on the first morning to snow falling, absolutely beautiful. Spent a restful day just walking and relaxing and throwing logs on the fire. All the staff from the manager down to the "house maids" were brilliant. They should be commended. Had two terrific meals in the restaurant, although pricey were excellent - you must taste their bread and butter pudding - delicious! Forget the Chateau on Lake Louise - try this place. The smell of wood smoke will forever mean Lake Moraine Lodge to us.

Room Tip: Worth paying that bit extra for lake view and log fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.