We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moraine Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moraine Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Moraine Lake Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A real retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for three nights 25th to 27th September in a room in the Queen wing with a balcony and wonderful lake views. a comfy bed and good sized bathroom. We lit the fire each evening which was lovely but could not keep it burning for long! Moraine Lake was very popular with tour buses arriving by 9 in the morning(or earlier) to see the 'golden larches' and to catch the sunrise hitting the peaks but we didn't find it intrusive. Breakfast was included and very good. We enjoyed the led walk to Consolation Lakes. The restaurant seems pricey but the food, service and ambience made it worth it and compared to some of the other prices we experienced in Canada it was good value. As guests we had free canoeing on the lake. On one evening a local wildlife expert gave a talk about wolves which was very entertaining.

Room Tip: Rooms in Queen wing (away from the hotel main building) are on two levels. Our room, 21, had ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    96
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
62
337
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Moraine Lake Lodge defines rustic elegance. We had a deluxe king cabin and loved it. You enter into a small hallway with the bathroom on your left and then walk into the king bed area. From there you can either walk out on to your balcony that looks out over Moraine Lake, or go down two steps to your sitting area, also with a full length window on to Moraine Lake. The sitting area is comprised of a sofa, one chair and a wonderful fireplace. The entire area is not expansive but it is "just right." The room is cozy and comfortable and additional firewood and kindling is stacked right outside your door. The bed is very comfortable and the bathroom functional, with an excellent shower and tub. The setting could not be more beautiful. Moraine Lake, with the mountains surrounding it, may be the most beautiful lake we have ever seen. We actually found Moraine Lake more beautiful than Lake Louise, and if given the choice, would rather stay at Moraine Lake Lodge than the Fairmont. It is rustic, but at the same time it is serene, quiet, peaceful and elegant its own way. The staff could not have been friendlier, with most coming from across Canada and Europe. The restaurant, with its daily continental breakfast was also extremely good. The lake and lodge are about a ten minute drive from Lake Louise Village and close for the winter. However, next season, if your plans include coming to this part of Canada, we would highly recommend Moraine Lake Lodge and the beauty of Moraine Lake.

Room Tip: Request a cabin that has a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in cabin 18 and had the most amazing view of Moraine Lake. Our room was smaller than I expected, especially the bathroom, but nothing that couldn't be dealt with. The room was very clean upon our arrival. We loved the wood fire, kept us warm all night! We enjoyed tea and biscuits in the library in the afternoon. The use of the canoes is included in the price and something I highly recommend for people to see another side of the lake. We ate at the restaurant for dinner, and although pricey, it was the most delicious meal I've had in a while! Breakfast was included in the price also, and this was ok. All of the staff were very friendly and courteous. We loved staying here, I only wish we had of stayed for more than one night!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights 22 - 25th September. Our room with a balcony and view by the lakeside had a fairly limited view of the lake: the room had an aircon system which was disturbingly noisy and we were unable to turn it off. We asked for this to be looked at, but no improvement was achieved. So we had 3 nights of disturbed sleep, with aircon and other clumping noises from the heating system. Staff were not very friendly and the hotel was priced according to the location, certainly not in line with the service it offered. Very disappointed and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We scheduled a stop at Moraine Lake Lodge for 2 nights to give us a bit of a break from travelling. Oh how we wishes we had booked longer!. The place is magical and just right to rekindle your batteries and rest. We arrived on a cold wet day and dropped by our coach driver at the bottom of the drive. Two minutes later our cases were carried on a little wagon directly to our room. The rooms are a bit on the small side but were warm and welcoming with a real log fire. Spectalur views of the lake and mountains from our balcony. There are no phones or televisions in the rooms - perfect! The only downside was that the room could have done with a small table or something for small personal objects.

Woke up on the first morning to snow falling, absolutely beautiful. Spent a restful day just walking and relaxing and throwing logs on the fire. All the staff from the manager down to the "house maids" were brilliant. They should be commended. Had two terrific meals in the restaurant, although pricey were excellent - you must taste their bread and butter pudding - delicious! Forget the Chateau on Lake Louise - try this place. The smell of wood smoke will forever mean Lake Moraine Lodge to us.

Room Tip: Worth paying that bit extra for lake view and log fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had decided to spend one night here because I am a photographer & wanted to be close to Moraine Lake (which is beautiful) in the evening and early morning when all the tourists would be elsewhere. For that reason alone I don't regret spending so much. At most lodges and cabins you can drive directly to your cabin. Here you cannot and I had to wait a while to get someone to take my luggage on a golf cart to my room. My room with a small sitting area was lovely but a little smaller than I expected. I did have a small balcony. I had a dinner in the restaurant and the fish was excellent. I am not a gourmet and some of the other things on the plate I didn't even know what the heck they were and didn't care for the taste.The restaurant has many excellent reviews so you probably should ignore this one as from someone with a questionable palate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, MO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nts. in the main lodge right next to the library (room 25). While the walls were paper thin (we could hear the guy right next to us shave every morning), we were lucky that the other guests seemed aware of that and behaved accordingly so we didn't really have to listen to heavy footsteps & loud voices. The room had a feel of rustic elegance. I didn't mind not having a TV or radio. My husband is addicted to the TV and would have driven everyone around us crazy with it turned on every minute we were in the room. The beds were tall, a little too tall for a 5'1" person like myself. I would have had trouble climbing into bed every night had I not brought along a small collapsible foot stool that I use on the plane. The view of the lake was very nice, but it was a little too chilly in the evening to sit out and enjoy it. Besides, a short person sitting in the patio chair tends to look out straight into the railing rather than the lake. We enjoyed the complimentary features such as breakfast, guided hike with Kevin & the evening lecture in the library. Dinner was nice but also very pricey. I don't mind spluging occasionally, and our overall experience in Banff & Jasper National Parks was that you will spend more money than you care to. But this place is really expensive. If you ask me, I was ok with spending $429 a nt., but if you ask my husband, he would have chosen something less expensive (and with a TV). At least we had wi-fi (albeit very slow) to stay connected with the outside world. Oh, and it's true about the hordes of visitors. There's nothing private about the place. You share the view with tons of day trippers who are strolling through to take in the beauty of Moraine Lake. I overlooked that because we did the same thing to the guests staying at the Fairmont Lake Louise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Moraine Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moraine Lake Lodge

Address: Moraine Lake Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0l 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moraine Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moraine Lake is the iconic lake pictured on the old Canadian twenty dollar bill. Many visit Moraine Lake, the lucky ones stay at the only accommodation on the lake, Moraine Lake Lodge. Located in Banff National Park, 15 minutes away from Lake Louise, Moraine Lake is known as the Jewel of the Rockies. Steps from their rooms, guests staying at the lodge are treated to the stunning beauty and pristine splendor of the iridescent turquoise-coloured lake and the Valley of the Ten Peaks. Each guest receives a complimentary package that includes guided hiking, naturalist presentations and canoeing on Moraine Lake. Moraine Lake Lodge is also renowned for its cuisine, with signature dishes such as buffalo carpacchio with roasted pine nuts and deer tenderloin with juniper berries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Moraine Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moraine Lake Hotel Lake Louise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moraine Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.