We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in Lake Louise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Post Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Lake Louise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Post is simply one of the finest resort hotels one could expect to find. Rooms are tasteful, clean and well appointed. Staff is always helpful and very responsive to any need. The restaurant is exceptionally good with well designed meals, GREAT wine options and attentive owners. My wife and I have stayed here many times over a 20+ year period and simply will not stay anywhere else in Lake Louise.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a "view" room, but even if you cannot get one, the rooms that overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    89
    38
    31
    15
See reviews for
96
262
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We took the 'gourmet' package at The Post to celebrate a special occasion - two nights, two breakfasts and a 6 course meal with wine pairings. I would highly recommend this. Our room had been upgraded which was a surprise. It was a large one bedroom with balcony and view of the rushing river. Breakfasts were fair. But the dinner was outstanding. Can't say enough about the quality, service and dining experience. This was topped off with a tour of their world class wine cellar. Lake Louise is a special place.

Room Tip: River side view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Post is a remarkable hotel! We came here after eating at the restaurant 5 years ago (staying on Lake Louise then). Lived the restaurant so much and the fireplace in the tavern, we knew we had to stay here on our return. As a hiking trip, close to grand hikes and views, but with luxury after the hike. Pricey, but worth every penny. We stayed in 102, a cabin on the river. Turn down service, the river lulling you to sleep, the fire set up for easy start, chairs for lounging by the river, hot tea after hiking and a comfortable bed! The bathroom was a bit small, but the other amenities make up for that. We'll be back. Cannot imagine staying in a more perfect setting at Lake Louise (and avoiding the crowds at the Chateau).

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile


Wifi:  Free, in room and you just select in - no log on, no code and works at a useable speed.

We had a ground floor room overlooking the gardens towards the river.   Its a fair sized room, with quite a lot of furniture in it, including a desk looking out to the gardens and a comfy sofa and chair.  The wardrobe has a safe.  There are no tea/coffee facilities, but you can get coffee "to go" from the restaurant and at times from reception.  The bed was comfortable.

Bathroom
 This is spacious, with plenty of towels.  Bathrobe (just one, oddly, but very luxurious) and slippers.  The sink is inset in a spacious surface, with shelves underneath containing additional towels and the hairdryer.

The bath has a jacuzzi option and the shower is powerful.  The only drawbacks are that 1. it is fixed the wall and there is no handheld shower should you just wish to wash your hair and 2. shower curtain - personal pet hate of mine, as they can't be cleaned between visits  
 
I used the spa, which was very nice - little touches like disposable razors and shaving foam in the showers.  There is a nice sitting room to enjoy before / after your treatment and I thought that the price was reasonable.  

There is a nice bar / snug just past reception where you can enjoy your afternoon coffee looking out to the river.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here on our wedding day and the hotel and all the staff made sure it was absolutely perfect.
We booked the Gourmet package which was for 2 nights with breakfast and a six course meal with wine pairings - well worth the money as the meal alone would have been $105cad before tax each - the food was fantastic quality and the service was impeccable.
We paid $50 extra per night to be on the preferred side with garden, mountain and river views, again definitely worth it.
From the moment we checked in all of the staff did everything possible to make our stay special - they sorted out and extra room so I could get ready without seeing the bride - we were also given a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as a surprise when we got back to our room.
We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lake Louise, this place is the best!

Room Tip: Rooms on the preferred side have better views and less noise - they cost around $50 cad extra per ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This was a fine hotel. The room, on the preferred side, had a great view of a red roof. The pub is very charming even if the food is nothing to write home about. It is away from the action of Lake Louise which is either a positive or negative depending on what you're looking for. Very costly for what is unquestionably a mediocre place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed 3 days, the great thing about this place is location, you're away from the crowds, which Banff is now often a crowded place these days, Very nice part of the Rockies, much to like about this place, as with most places in its peers the staff are delightful. But I consider this a top dollar establishment for a good, not great establishment. Would stay again although one does not get full value.

Room Tip: Ascertain room type, floor, view etc. at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.