We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully maintained and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Post Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Post Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Post Hotel was everything we expected and more! Set beside a flowing river with gorgeous little Alpine cottages and impeccable flower arrangements, the hotel's staff is very keen on a high level of service and catering to your needs. We spent three nights at the hotel and enjoyed breakfast, dinner, and dessert. If you don't want to eat at their restaurants, you can easily cross the little bridge over the river to a bunch of stores and restaurants. The front desk assisted us with travel plans and things to see--very helpful. Our room was quite beautiful yet comfy; my request would be for a small fridge in each room. Also, if you choose a room next to the parking lot, beware of the freight trains! They are long, noisy, and run at all hours. We requested a fan in the room, which cut down the noise level.

Room Tip: If you don't like the sound of trains, best to choose a room not on the B side or parking lot. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    93
    39
    31
    15
See reviews for
102
274
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here in August of 2013. Flew into Calgary and drove to Lake Louise on our way up to Jasper. Unfortunately, we only stayed here one night, but very much enjoyed it. The room was comfortable with a nice balcony overlooking the river. But it's the overall hotel grounds, the river, etc. that we really liked. It's just a beautiful looking hotel, beautiful river, beautiful views of the mountains. Ate at the pub our one night there, which was good. I would definitely recommend it as a beautiful peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Possum Brush
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Such a treat to stay in this old hotel, with its lovely room and beautiful grounds. The bed was comfort plus, the room warm and the bathroom had all the supplies we needed. Dining in the restaurant was a great experience and the breakfast was fabulous. Door, reception and restaurant staff were all very helpful and welcoming. It was all quite expensive but it was worth it for the experience of this traditional hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

She likes: The proximity to the village (for different breakfast options), the room away from the train and by the river (pay the extra $30-50/night for this), and the friendly and excellent hotel staff

He likes: The pub is connected to the hotel (excellent beer and burgers!!), the afternoon happy hour with coffee and desserts, and this hotel reminds him of his European heritage. He also likes the wet sauna, the swimming pool, and the hot tub-> perfect after a day of hiking and walking.

She's happy; he's happy! Both happy -> what else do you want?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the end of May 2014 for just one night and we were more than happy with everything at this lovely hotel. From our arrival to check out, we were made to feel very welcome and as if nothing were too much to ask. The first room we were alocated was on the parking lot/railway track side of the hotel and it had a very pretty view of the mountains from the balcony. However, when the first train went past, we were both rather shocked at just how loud it was and, as we always like to sleep with our windows open, were concerned about the impact that this may have on our night's sleep. We went to the front desk, mentioned this to the receptionist and she immediately offered us a room on the creek side of the hotel. Our suitcases were moved for us with minimum fuss and the non-feather bedding that I had requested before our arrival was also changed efficiently. We found the beds to be very comfortable and the two armchairs in the room really meant that we could chill out and look through our photos during the evening. The bathroom was very luxurious, with a spa bath and fabulous toiletries, including bath salts. Initially we had issues connecting to the wifi, but in our second room, which was nearer to the lobby, we connected at all and had great connection speed. We didn't eat in the hotel, as we felt it was a little on the expensive side, but we did have cocktails in the lounge bar and found the ambience and service to be exceptional. All in all, we were very happy with our time at the Post Inn and would love t have stayed longer. Maybe if we had been on the side of the parking lot, we would have felt differently, but our room with a view of the creek, as well as the comforting sound of the rapids, made for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Unless you are prepared for some rather loud train noise, I would definitely recommend a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

So it a nutshell:
$260 a night is ridiculous for what you get. My husband and I have no problem spending for nice hotels, but this was beyond basic. Bathroom is OK, room basic and outdated, can't control the temperature yourself and it was noisy. The hotel also seemed pretty deserted (we stayed May long).

We wanted to try the pub here for dinner as we had looked at the reviews - it wasn't open during our stay.

Hotel staff were friendly enough.

I honestly have no idea how this place is rated #1. We went to Fairmont Chateau for dinner and that place is wonderful. Beautiful hotel, great service and great food. I wish I hadn't listened to the reviews and we had stayed there instead!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The bathroom was the nicest part of this room. It had a jetted tub and nice tile work. The room was very dated, stuffy, with a very hard uncomfortable mattress. The balcony over looked the parking lot. The walls were thin and we heard a lot of noise from the room next door. For $260 I expect a lot more.

Room Tip: Don't over look the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.