We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Post Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very comfortable old style hotel. Generous room with balcony and well equipped bathroom. No fridge in room but ice available on each floor and complimentary tea and coffee in morning and afternoon. Top quality restaurant as well. Friendly staff, excellent service.
Only 2 minutes walk from Lake Louise town and 4 km from The Lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    320
    79
    33
    24
    15
See reviews for
83
240
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a F room...lovely large suite...all amenities included. Room service prompt. Excellent service and attention to detail. Bit of a hike to actual lake but preferable to large and commercialised Fairmont

Room Tip: Preferred side quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

if you are sophisticated and knowledgeable about European ambience and relaxation, The Post is for you!!It is a true gem of a hotel without having to go to Europe! we have stayed at the Post every year for over ten years and have never been disappointed. The owners treat us like family and we look forward to our visit each year! the staff is professional and caring about your needs. the Spa is
Over the top ! the menu is carefully planned and varied. Although expensive it is exceptional and never disappointing! It can hold its own in New York! this hotel is a jewel....don't expect glitz... Expect European comfort and ambience and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose the preferred side if you area light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelsea
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

There are two luxury properties in Lake Louise. They are the Chateau Lake Louise and the Post Hotel. We have spent a significant number of nights in both properties. In our opinion, no experienced traveler would consider staying at the Chateau. What follows is the basis for this opinion.
LOCATION The one thing that the Chateau has going for it is its location at the edge of Lake Louise. The view from the public rooms and lawns is unsurpassed. However, in every other aspect, the Post is a much more desirable venue.
ROOMS To begin, the rooms at the Post are far more comfortable, many with wood burning fireplaces and jetted tubs. It is also of note that on a square footage basis, rooms at the Chateau are much more costly. We paid $595 for a suite at the Post on the same date that the Chateau was charging $999 for a similar room.
FOOD With respect to food, there is no comparison. The dining room at the Post Hotel is the finest in the Banff/Lake Louise area. The menu is extensive and well delivered. The wine cellar is recognized as one of North America’s best and there is always a sommelier present to assist you in making a choice from the extensive selection. While the Chateau has a number of restaurants, we have found none of them to be very satisfying, either in terms of food or service.
SERVICE AND GENERAL AMBIENCE The post is a smaller hotel with an outstanding staff. The place is so beautifully kept that we often found ourselves walking up stairs just to see beautiful flower arrangements found on every floor. In contrast, the Chateau is a larger hotel and is frequently overrun by the busloads of tourists that flood through the property. While the property has many excellent staff, it is far more uneven than is the case with the Post. As noted earlier, however, the Post has an outstanding view.

Room Tip: We like the F Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Its not very often that I come away from a hotel feeling ripped off (I cant actually remember the last time) but I definitely had that feeling leaving this hotel.

I stayed one night at a rate of $455 /night plus taxes so call it $500 (breakfast was not included). That rate was for a very dark room on the preferred side (which is the river side and not the railway) but we had no view of it. The location is down the hill from Lake Louise itself between a river, a railway line and a road. Most rooms dont have a view so dont get your hopes up.... although there is an excellent view from the parking lot!!. The room was old and tired looking and also dark, the thermostat did not work and the bathroom was tiny with a tub that was far too big resulting in a cramped bathroom.

On the plus side, the staff were friendly and the restaurant is outstanding. The restaurant has an amazing wine list and the food was all excellent - the restaurant is definitely worth a visit but the hotel itself is way overpriced for what it is. Unfortunately you dont have many options in Lake Louise - my advice would be to pay the extra and stay at the Fairmont which is on the lake and has a spectacular view. Otherwise, prepare to be gouged on price by paying $500 for a $200 room, probably with no view.

Room Tip: Stay at the Fairmont instead
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful 5 star hotel--wonderful swimming pool. However, I thought it was expensive considering we were awakened several times during the night by trains next door. Nice location to the lake with transportation available.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

PROS
-Housekeeping was excellent, very clean

-The beds were comfortable

CONS
-Situated surprisingly close to train tracks

-There was no laundry bag, iron or ironing board in our room

-The hair dryer provided was broken

-Ventilation left a lot to be desired. The corridor and our room on the first floor in the main building was stuffy. The back door was propped open, presumably to alleviate the situation.

-The front desk did not provide us with wireless access info on check in and did not resolve the situation when asked for it.

-The restaurant host was extremely rude and unhelpful when approached for info on dining at the hotel.

OVERALL
The service was not what I expected of a hotel in this price range. On our 10-day vacation, we had a better experience at budget hotels than our night at the Post Hotel and Spa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.