We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Post Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Post Hotel in Lake Louise was perfect in every way. Our room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Even though it was too warm outside to use it, we loved having the beautiful stone fireplace in our room. We ate breakfast and dinner in the dining room and the food and service were exceptional. We asked our server if we could see their award-winning wine cellar and they were happy to give us a tour. We also had dinner in their Pub one evening and it, too, was delicious.

The best part of the Post Hotel is it's staff. They all went above and beyond what was necessary and always in a pleasant and cheerful manner. Every single employee that we encountered was warm and friendly.

Our stay was in late June during the terrible flooding in and around Calgary and Banff. Since all roads to and from Lake Louise were washed out, we wound up staying at the Post an additional night. (What a wonderful place to be stranded!) The staff helped us out in every way possible from the doorman supplying us with umbrellas to the desk staff personally bringing us updates on the road conditions. They were phenomenal -- I cannot say enough!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at a beautiful place with that personal touch!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    85
    37
    29
    15
See reviews for
92
253
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisse
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel offers masses of charm and elegance. After more than 2 weeks of travel, we choose this hotel as our "indulgence". Our room had a large balcony with an awning that was designed to protect against both sun and rain. When lifted, the view towards the mountains was spectacular. The bathroom was bright and spacious with robes provided for guests to use. The hotel has many areas for relaxation and we started with a swim and soak in the hot tub. The spa area is light and inviting with large, forceful showers and thick towels. The dining room service was outstanding! We ordered the chateaubriand for 2 and it was perfectly done (medium rare) and presented beautifully. The wine list is huge. Dessert was equally memorable. We strolled to town via the 2 foot bridges that cross the river - having just reopened a few days previous after the flood waters had receded. When we returned to the hotel we sat by the fire in the bar area - a very cozy space. There is a pub on the lower level of the hotel (opens at 16:30) and the special for Saturday night is Prime Rib - a generous portion. The Caesar salad is enormous, comes with real anchovies, and masses of chicken. The train passes the hotel on a regular basis (+/- 4 hrs?) which might disturb some people but the railway is part of Canada's history.

Room Tip: We came to Lake Louise and area for the mountains and the view from our room offered those in abunda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We are one of the travelers who stayed at the Post Hotel during the recent June, 2013 rains and state of emergency during the Calgary and Canmore floods.
The hotel staff delivered exceptional service during a time of extraordinary rain that resulted in floods, changed plans, guest confusion, and closed roads. It is easy to deliver good service when everything is fine, but to deliver it when situations are not the best is the sign of good management and training.
Planning to stay two nights, we drove from Jasper only to be told at the Icefields Parkway restaurant a mudslide closed the road to Lake Louise. We called to cancel and the hotel understood. No penalty. Then, after waiting an hour, the road opened. We called and said we could make it and they said, great, we'll be waiting for you. We arrived only to find all staff members, even the chef with his hat, forming a line to sandbag the banks of the river. They wanted to protect their creek side cabins. After our stressful day, that evening we had a wine cellar tour, exceptional dinner, and dessert and coffee upstairs in the library while we played bridge with our friends. Looking out the window, the staff was still sandbagging. And, many of the staff had a long work schedule because some staff could not reach the hotel for work. You would never know it.
The next day we had to check out a day early because we needed to find a way to fly home. Calgary was in a state of emergency and there was no route anywhere to Calgary that was open. The Post Hotel staff graciously checked us out without penalty.
For all these reasons, the Post Hotel is a class act under any circumstances.

See YouTube and photos of Post Hotel from June, 2013 on my blog at www.myrenovatedfarmhouse.com

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were in Banff and Lake Louise this past June during the flooding and mudslides. We had to cancel a side trip to Jasper and switched to Post Hotel in L. Louise at last minute for a Fri and Sat night. (This was instead of the Fairmont Chateau on Sat/ Sun night which we had originally scheduled.) Upon checking in at Post Hotel we immediately were impressed with the friendliness of staff and classy country style facilities.
We ate dinner at Post Hotel both nights. The Chateau (Fairmont) wouldn't serve us, as they were conserving food for their guests. Prices for dinner at Post were expensive but expected given the nature of their menu and high level of service. The wine list was quite impressive. The wait staff was very knowledgable, very polite, and helpful. The first night's dinner was a highlight of our trip. The second night's dinner was also excellent, just didn't have the surprise punch like the first night since we were repeat customers. The caribou was a big hit for us and the couple traveling with us. My wife had a fish dinner that was prepared with Japanese flourishes which was excellent. (We were told the chef was Swiss and had a Japanese wife, and both styles came through in several of the dishes.) Wine glasses were Reidel, and each type of wine was served in the proper glass which exemplifies the attention to detail in the Post restaurant.
Our room had a fireplace which was pre-arranged for easy lighting and very romantic. We lit the fire each night and enjoyed lounging in hotel robes that were provided.
Overall, we were glad that we stayed at Post Hotel versus the Fairmont, and we highly recommend the Post Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. We had a king size bed. Friends had two queens. Whatever fits your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I read TripAdvisor quite a bit when choosing hotels, and I have never felt the need for myself to review before because someone else has always mentioned whatever it was I was going to say. However with the Post Hotel, so many of you are offering up poor advice when it comes to room selection. The preferred side of the hotel overlooks the back lawns, the cabins and the river. While it is a little quieter, it doesn't really offer a mountain view. The standard side is where it's at - the view of the Saddle and Fairview Mt. are incredible. If you look all the way left you can even see Temple Mt. Yes, there is parking lot, but you're in mountains - look up! And of course, there is the train. But Lake Louise village wouldn't exist without the train. Read up on some history people! The train was what spurred tourism in the Rockies. Every hotel in Lake Louise deals with noise - the Mountaineer also has the train behind it, the Lake Louise Inn backs onto the Trans-Canada Highway, and the Chateau has the never-ending packs of tourists, so pick your poison. I'll take an expansive (and reasonably-priced) wine list and view of Fairview, thanks!

(I have provided a view of my room on the "standard" and "preferred" side, for you to compare)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 15+ years ago, and at the time I told him that I hoped we could return someday. Last week was "the day"(actually 3), and we were not disappointed - it is still first class in every way - staff, room, cleanliness, restaurant, location. Stay on the preferred side and listen to the river rushing by - mesmerizing.

Room Tip: Choose preferred side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have just enjoyed 2 nights at the post hotel and spa in Lake Louise and thoroughly enjoyed it. When we arrived the porter, Andrew took us to our room, but unfortunately, it wasn't as nice as we were expecting, having thought we had booked on ' the preferred side' of the hotel, but we were facing the railway line, and the room was too dark. However, Andrew was intent on getting us a better room, and we were delighted with the time and trouble he took to ensure we were happy! Our room was gorgeous, facing the river with the most comfortable bed we' d slept in this trip, and a log fire set up ready for use. One tip, the 'pub' serves food that comes from the same kitchen as the fine dining restaurant upstairs, and is better priced and a more relaxed place to spend the evening. One of the waitresess told us where the best road to see a bear, and the next morning we were thrilled to see a black bear by the side of the road,having his breakfast! Would have appreciated a coffee maker in the room, given the class ( and price!) of the hotel, but made the most of the complimentary coffee available early morning and afternoon. Would definitely recommend the post hotel, and hope to return there for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Web site isn't that easy to ensure you get a preferred side room, e-mail hotel before you book t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.