We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just phenomenal,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Post Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Post Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just phenomenal,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The service was amazing, food was incredible and view was spectacular! I will definitely be coming back soon! There is a really nice village full of shops and cafes within a km. The hotel has a very comfortable library, with a fireplace, books and games. The location is very close to so many trails and a river.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a deck or patio if in summer, the view is unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    93
    39
    31
    15
See reviews for
102
274
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

You cannot beat the setting of Post Hotel. It is nestled among beautiful mountains right in Lake Louise. The hotel is more on the expensive side but they have nice little touches. Hotel staffs were very friendly and helpful. Hotel staffs were nice enough to let us know the weather is expected to rain next day, so we rushed and viewed the major sites quickly on the first day. The only drawback is hearing the train rumble on - but can't be helped.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is in a great setting with views up to the ski slopes of Lake Louise. Our room had an open log fire that was prepared for lighting every day, along with a large water jet bath tub in the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and not just attentive but anticipated your needs. Came back from a run and was offered bottled water by the doormen. When leaving they helped load the car and offered coffee to go. Afternoon tea (free) served daily in the comfortable reception area. Great Spa treatments.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This is not a hotel for budget travellers. If you reserve one of the standard rooms you will be disappointed and not be getting your money's worth. They will put you in a room on the main floor facing the parking lot and you'll wonder why it cost 300.

If on the other hand you are willing to spend enough to get one of the rooms on the third floor with a fireplace on thepreferred side, you will love this hotel.

Otherwise the hotel is lovely with great amenities. The people are helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the tea in the lounge (tea is free and pastry is extra).

I would avoid eating at the outpost. It wasn't bad but you can do much better at the station restaurant. We did not eat at the dining room as children were not welcome (most of the people staying at the hotel were well over 40).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I vacationed here in May for 4 nights (solo), and it was everything and more than I expected. It's a lovely property situated in a most idyllic setting: you could not ask for a hotel with a better view in any direction! From the moment the attendant opens the door for you, it's clear that the management put a premium on meeting the customers' needs. My room was well-appointed, which included a wood-burning fireplace which was carefully stocked and ready daily - very cozy! Don't look for a surfeit of amenities, but it was more than adequate and the room was clean. I especially appreciated the elegant bathroom. The rail line is adjacent to one side of the property, so do choose the "preferred" side (as I did) if you're sensitive to moderate train noise. The hotel is in Lake Louise Village, with a choice of restaurants and shops nearby. Note that breakfast is not included, so you'll pay $20-25 CAD per person in the elegant restaurant on the premises. For a cheaper option, a small cafe just a stone's-throw away in the Village serves all standard breakfast fare for half the price of the hotel. I found the hotel staff not only very professional and attentive, but also very engaging on a personal level. I think this is THE place to stay in the Lake Louise area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent one night at the Post in late May of this year. We had a lovely 2nd floor room with a wood-burning fireplace and a balcony overlooking the lovely, fast-running creek and cabins. Although it was too cold and damp to sit out, we still got to enjoy the view and the sounds through a slightly open door. And the cool temperatures helped to keep our wine chilled to perfection out on the balcony. The fire was prepared/built perfectly and roared to life with only one match. When it needed replenishing it was easy to add a log from the basket of logs stored under the hearth. The swimming pool was large enough to really be able to swim in and had great changing facilities with a suit drying machine as the coup de grace. Service was spot on, although the room service burgers were not the best we've ever had. Over all it was a lovely respite for our trip through the Canadian Rockies and we would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor, preferred side, and it offered a most idyllic view and ambiance as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We love staying at the post and return every year. From the amazing food to the cozy fireplace in the lounge and in our room. It is a beautiful romantic setting where you can relax. Service is impeccable but not pretentious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.