We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winter Getaway Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Post Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
Scottsdale, AZ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Winter Getaway Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We checked in Sunday for 2 nights, the place was very quiet and it was like we had it to ourselves. This is was our second time here, and we requested the King with fireplace on the "preferred" side. It is certainly quieter than the "train" side. We did the "Gourmet Package" which included a 6 course tasting menu with wine, and 2 breakfasts (and a 500ml bottle of wine and fruit basket in the room). This is a great value since gratuities and tax is included in the package price. The jacuzzi in the room worked great (bath salts are a nice), plenty of wood, and the higher-end soaps & shampoos were a nice touch. You also get robes and slippers. It's also nice that they have a coffee station on each floor, so you can just go get a cup of coffee or tea (no other options, and there is not a coffee/tea maker in the room).

6 Course dinner & wine was amazing. We were disappointed in the breakfasts, they chef doesn't know how to poach eggs medium. One morning the whites were runny, the next morning they were way over cooked. If your going to charge $17 for eggs, you better know how to poach and egg!

We hit the pool, spa, steam room in the afternoon, and we were the only people there. The pools sparkled and were very clean (& the hot tub was perfect after a day of skiing). Tip: They keep their steam room off, so make sure you turn it on when you get there, since it takes >30 minutes to heat up.

Bring your skates, the hotel has a skating rink right off the main lobby. We did visit the Pub one night, but just left, they only had 2 beers on tap. The Lobby bar was great for drinks, and had a roaring fire with comfortable seats. They also have a limited menu, we ordered a pizza, but the dough wasn't cooked through, so it was soggy and doughy. The main lobby has tea time from 2-5pm, but we didn't partake.

If it wasn't for the improperly cooked eggs and the under cooked pizza, I would have rated this 5 stars. The rooms have the "rustic" feel, but they were very comfortable and having a real fire was very nice. Great place to go for a romantic getaway, since the dining room was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    80
    34
    25
    15
See reviews for
83
243
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel welcomes us back each year like we are family ! It is just a special place! Staff is professional but friendly. Dining is excellent. The bar is so inviting with the fire going and the beautiful scenery. We love the Post Hotel and Spa so much !!!

Room Tip: choose the preferred side of the hotel unless you are going in winter....train and parking lot on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My family and I stayed here to celebrate my mother and I's birthdays. This is our 2nd or 3rd time at the hotel, however the last time we were here was over a decade ago! My parents had fond memories of this hotel, and it was still as excellent as in the past!

The staff are absolutely wonderful! Very helpful and sincere. My father dropped his phone in the parking lot and the staff were quick to return it. We had a couple requests for the room (extra toilet paper, etc.), and it was brought to us quickly. Of course, those who were working the restaurant were amazing, and brought back the old school feeling of proper European hotel service.

The rooms are simply gorgeous. Rustic wood panelling, quaint furniture and one of the most gorgeous bathrooms I've seen. Our only complaint was the hardness of the mattresses... all of us had sore backs in the morning! Also, we couldn't turn down the heat in the room, and so my parents did not sleep as well. The TV also only had 25 channels, and we were hoping to catch a particular show that wasn't available. However, most people aren't there to watch TV!

Of course, the place was impeccably clean and well taken care of. Someone even came in that night to turn down the sheets and put chocolates on the pillows!

The Post has thought of other things too, like a ski and snowboard rack at the entrance so people don't track mud and water into the hotel. You can wander the hotel and see beautiful professional photos and old paintings. It really is a gorgeous little hotel.

We can't say enough about the food! Dinner was fantastic! Very expensive, but for an event like a birthday, it was well worth it. They added a great little birthday touch to our dessert as well.

Overall, great hotel! Would definitely recommend for travellers or quick stays. This is a pricey hotel though, but such are the hotels in this area of Alberta/BC!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Post is nestled in a beautiful forest with a spectacular view of the mountains. When I opened the door to the room, I was pleasantly surprised to find a roaring fire, fruit basket and bottle of wine.

The next morning, we had a delicious breakfast. The servers are quite friendly and attentive.
The front desk staff was informative and exceedingly patient with us as we asked about a hundred questions about skiing, skating and where to rent gear.

The real show-stoppers were the spa masseuses and the restaurant staff. I felt absolutely spoiled with a 7 course meal with special wine paired to each course! The wait staff pulled out all the stops for us that night, including an extra glass of champagne!

All of the staff we encountered were eager to serve and genuinely concerned with our stay. Steve at the front desk went on a crusade to find nail clippers and I broke a nail skiing!

In short, with the delicious breakfast, gorgeous vistas, exemplary spa staff, 5 star restaurant and proximity to Lake Louise, how could I say no when my boyfriend proposed?

Truly a magical and enchanting weekend that I will never forget. Thank you Post!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask the front desk for ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary at the Post. My husband was first dazzled by the Post when he celebrated his 18th birthday dinner there close to 20 years ago. He vowed to take me there one day and it was worth the wait as it met all expectations. The setting is gorgeous and service is top notch. We loved that it honoured old world charm rather than the modern monstrosities of today. The cozy room with working fireplace (prepped nightly by staff) and to-die-for linens made it the perfect place for our romantic getaway sans kids. The food and wine was extraordinary and we felt was largely wasted on the kids wandering about. We loved our time and will be happy to share it with our kids on their 18th birthdays!

Room Tip: Ask for the "preferred side" when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I go to the Post Hotel once a year, and love the staff, service and this hotel.
Sure the train is loud but you are in the Rockies and the railway system is part of the history.
We have a Condo in Canmore and guess what- the trains are loud there as well.
The railway station (now a restaurant) is within walking distance and the drive to Moraine lake is awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had been RV camping and decide on the Post for a nice meal out. We were not in our Sunday go to meeting clothes but we were in no worse turn out than any of the other diners. The Maitre d' was stuffy, pretentious and unwelcoming. The waitress was stiff but attentive if not well informed about the food she was serving. The menu is extensive and although not imaginative presented itself as first class. The food was disappointingly ordinary. Seasonal vegetables were a mound of over cooked yellow beans with bacon. The roasted potatoes were dry and appeared to have been kept in a warming pan too long. My husbands buffalo was fine but my fillet did not have the reduction the menu said it came with. The wine list is excellent. My coffe was luke warm but the waitress kindly made me a fresh pot. At $250.00 the bill was ridiculous. At that price I don't want to afford a second chance.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.