We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Post Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Post Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary at the Post. My husband was first dazzled by the Post when he celebrated his 18th birthday dinner there close to 20 years ago. He vowed to take me there one day and it was worth the wait as it met all expectations. The setting is gorgeous and service is top notch. We loved that it honoured old world charm rather than the modern monstrosities of today. The cozy room with working fireplace (prepped nightly by staff) and to-die-for linens made it the perfect place for our romantic getaway sans kids. The food and wine was extraordinary and we felt was largely wasted on the kids wandering about. We loved our time and will be happy to share it with our kids on their 18th birthdays!

Room Tip: Ask for the "preferred side" when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    91
    39
    31
    15
See reviews for
100
273
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I go to the Post Hotel once a year, and love the staff, service and this hotel.
Sure the train is loud but you are in the Rockies and the railway system is part of the history.
We have a Condo in Canmore and guess what- the trains are loud there as well.
The railway station (now a restaurant) is within walking distance and the drive to Moraine lake is awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had been RV camping and decide on the Post for a nice meal out. We were not in our Sunday go to meeting clothes but we were in no worse turn out than any of the other diners. The Maitre d' was stuffy, pretentious and unwelcoming. The waitress was stiff but attentive if not well informed about the food she was serving. The menu is extensive and although not imaginative presented itself as first class. The food was disappointingly ordinary. Seasonal vegetables were a mound of over cooked yellow beans with bacon. The roasted potatoes were dry and appeared to have been kept in a warming pan too long. My husbands buffalo was fine but my fillet did not have the reduction the menu said it came with. The wine list is excellent. My coffe was luke warm but the waitress kindly made me a fresh pot. At $250.00 the bill was ridiculous. At that price I don't want to afford a second chance.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the Chateau and the concierge recommended dinner at The Post. I was so pleased, I couldn't have had another meal in the Saloon Bar. Dining options at the Chateau at this time of year seem to be limited.
Dinner at The Post is at the other end of the spectrum....it was magnificent. My son had a bison steak, my husband had caribou and I had salmon. All beautifully prepared and cooked. Lovely atmosphere, open fire, great staff. Our waiter Stefan was knowledgable about the wines (the cellar is incredible...25,000 bottles) and the menu. The dinner was a highlight of our trip, we loved it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochrane alberta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a very expensive hotel. I paid over $300.00 for a very average room. I was looking forward to a Jacuzzi bath in the morning but it was not working. The beds are hard, the trains are loud and I should have spent a few dollars more to stay elsewhere. I won't be staying again, nor will I be recommending this overpriced very average hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here over Christmas, it was expensive but worth every penny. We had a lovely room with terrace and fire on the top floor with a fabulous view through the snow covered trees to the skihill The public areas were beautifully decorated and the staff excellent. This place has a personal charm that the Chateau certainly does not. It was nice to visit the Chateau but lovely to return to the Post knowing our snug room awaited us. We had a beautiful meal (one of the best I have experienced) on the 28th and were very well served by Michael including a visit to the amazing wine cellar! Thank you for making our stay so special,My only gripe was the pub which we visited for dinner on Christmas Day where the special was turkey Unfortunately this was slices of meat atop mashed potato with a few sprouts, nothing else! well if that's how you celebrate Christmas in Canada I am staying in London!!

Room Tip: The top floor at the back had a stunning view and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent 6 nights at the Post Hotel - my previous three stays were more than 6 years ago. The Hotel is frankly amazing. The decor, maintenance and attention to detail are extraordinary. While the rooms are well furnished, there are wonderful public places to hang out in, including a well equipped library with fireplace, many books and games. Housekeeping is thorough; the turn down service can include, if required, a full redo of the room - towels, cleaning, etc. The front desk is very helpful with ski and sightseeing arrangements and has a huge collection of excellent dvd movies if the satellite offerings don't sate. Breakfast options are excellent - though the cold buffet could use a little higher quality fresh fruit and $10 for oatmeal is a bit much. Afternoon tea by the skating area is a delight - with the beverages complimentary. The dining room is one of Canada's finest and lives up to its reputation with very well executed food, discreet service and excellent wine choices. The informal pub in the basement shares the same kitchen, has solid offerings, though the service when we were there was spotty. The hotel has an immaculate pool, hot tub and exercise room. The proprietors are on site a lot and seem totally on top of it; it means a lot in this era of soulless luxury hotels.

Years ago when one US dollar equalled 75 Canadian cents the Post Hotel was a deal. Now it is just good value for a great experience.

This was a family trip so we did not take advantage of the man cave accessed from the restaurant for cigars, scotch, after dinner drinks. The setting and ambiance suitably impressed my teenage son and drew after dinner guests from the Fairmont up at Lake Louise while we were there.

Room Tip: There is a variety of room options, inlcuding loft suites for families with working fire palces. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.