We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Post Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
cochrane alberta
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a very expensive hotel. I paid over $300.00 for a very average room. I was looking forward to a Jacuzzi bath in the morning but it was not working. The beds are hard, the trains are loud and I should have spent a few dollars more to stay elsewhere. I won't be staying again, nor will I be recommending this overpriced very average hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    89
    38
    31
    15
See reviews for
96
261
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here over Christmas, it was expensive but worth every penny. We had a lovely room with terrace and fire on the top floor with a fabulous view through the snow covered trees to the skihill The public areas were beautifully decorated and the staff excellent. This place has a personal charm that the Chateau certainly does not. It was nice to visit the Chateau but lovely to return to the Post knowing our snug room awaited us. We had a beautiful meal (one of the best I have experienced) on the 28th and were very well served by Michael including a visit to the amazing wine cellar! Thank you for making our stay so special,My only gripe was the pub which we visited for dinner on Christmas Day where the special was turkey Unfortunately this was slices of meat atop mashed potato with a few sprouts, nothing else! well if that's how you celebrate Christmas in Canada I am staying in London!!

Room Tip: The top floor at the back had a stunning view and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent 6 nights at the Post Hotel - my previous three stays were more than 6 years ago. The Hotel is frankly amazing. The decor, maintenance and attention to detail are extraordinary. While the rooms are well furnished, there are wonderful public places to hang out in, including a well equipped library with fireplace, many books and games. Housekeeping is thorough; the turn down service can include, if required, a full redo of the room - towels, cleaning, etc. The front desk is very helpful with ski and sightseeing arrangements and has a huge collection of excellent dvd movies if the satellite offerings don't sate. Breakfast options are excellent - though the cold buffet could use a little higher quality fresh fruit and $10 for oatmeal is a bit much. Afternoon tea by the skating area is a delight - with the beverages complimentary. The dining room is one of Canada's finest and lives up to its reputation with very well executed food, discreet service and excellent wine choices. The informal pub in the basement shares the same kitchen, has solid offerings, though the service when we were there was spotty. The hotel has an immaculate pool, hot tub and exercise room. The proprietors are on site a lot and seem totally on top of it; it means a lot in this era of soulless luxury hotels.

Years ago when one US dollar equalled 75 Canadian cents the Post Hotel was a deal. Now it is just good value for a great experience.

This was a family trip so we did not take advantage of the man cave accessed from the restaurant for cigars, scotch, after dinner drinks. The setting and ambiance suitably impressed my teenage son and drew after dinner guests from the Fairmont up at Lake Louise while we were there.

Room Tip: There is a variety of room options, inlcuding loft suites for families with working fire palces. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We love the Chateau at Lake Louise but this was even nicer. $380 a night gets you a nice room with a wood-burning firplace, a nice view of the mountains, and great service. If you want to have a special dinner the restaurant there is superb (somallier and all), yet the pub is also fun. Some nice nooks and crannies where you can relax. Wish they had skates you could rent to try out the ice rink out front. The entire staff was very friendly. Just a short trek to the Bow River for a wonderful hike. Had a great couple's massage. We definitely plan to come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting the Lake Louise area, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. From the moment we arrived to the time we left we experienced wonderful service that was warm and friendly. Our room was clean and spacious and the food at the restaurant was first class arguably some of the best food I have ever tasted, my only regret was that we did not spend longer in the Lake Louise area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had a great time here despite some staff.
Stayed over new years so most likely did not have the A team on front desk or breakfast.
Came back early from skiing to find no one in the hallway but found our room door wide open with door wedge. Nothing was missing but after hanging out in our room for 20 minutes with still no staff in sight we called front desk. nothing was done so we left do not disturb sign after that.
Meals were nothing to write home about, but not bad. At breakfast when we asked for the bill and a to-go cup for my tea we were forgotten about. Once my tea was cold we walked out and paid at the dinning room entrance.
We did the spa afternoon. Lovely atmosphere. facial was good. Only issue was that Husband burned his foot in the steam room so watch as steam vent is right beside door at foot level He mentioned this to two young staff in spa but he got doe-eye looks and no response or no offer of ice or anything. Service Beyond the norm was not that great here.
Front door staff and others were very friendly.
Hot chocolate and sleigh ride was a nice touch for the afternoon.
Overall it was a nice few days. Training for exceptions of staff would be my only feedback as when you spend $1500 for three days and two nights you expect good service and we had fair to good service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I recently stayed and dined at the Post Hotel in beautiful Lake Louise, the hotel itself is charming and well appointed. The dining experience was second to none. We had the pleasure of being looked after by Michael, he was knowledgeable about not only the fine cuisine that the Post offers but also very helpful and informed about the wine menu. It is very rare these days that my wife and I ever experience good service, this was exceptional service, I cannot recommend the Post more, a world class destination for the discerning traveller.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.