We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Post Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Post Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oustanding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We did not stay at the Post Hotel while in Lake Louise, instead opting for the Chateau Lake Louise itself. Our room was terrific but, the food was very disappointing.

We were told to go to The Post for dinner and our party was not disappointed at all. The hotel is wonderful. Like a big log cabin.

The dining room was romantic with a wood burning firelace, a spectacular wine list and our server (Karl) was a true professional. He was courteous, informative, picked a wine we enjoyed immensely and even picked our dinner for us. Our group was impressed and we are rarely impressed. Ask for him.

Our only negative was the Dining Room Manager. Not much of a personality but, otherwise it was a delightful experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    79
    35
    27
    15
See reviews for
85
244
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Took some guests for lunch
Pretty average food for 240$ for 3 people
Post Hotel glory days are over
Wont survive current recession
Earls in Banff is better food at 1/3 of the price
Looks like a hotel on a financial cliff

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wow! This trip to Lake Louise was simply outstanding. The hotel is perfectly charming and elegant. You feel like you are on important ground when you stay here and if you can afford the $$$ you won't regret it. The food has to be some of the best we have ever had. The atmosphere is calm and quiet and we felt alone despite it being a very busy weekend. You won't regret a trip here and be sure and do the hike above the lake.
(if you are deciding between this and the Chateau Lake Louise... this, hands down... no comparison)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here one night on a recent trip to the Rockies, out of the eight hotel we stayed at during the trip this has to be my favourite. It is set in beautiful grounds along side the Pipestone river, it has a lovely atmosphere and the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is next to the rail tracks but we booked a room on the preferred side overlooking the river so we didn't experience any noise from the trains or the parking lot. The room was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable with a seating area with comfortable armchairs and a balcony. Towelling robes were provided as well as Aveda toiletries and a decent hairdryer, the jacuzzi bath was great after a long day of hiking. I really didn't want to leave. Yes it is expensive but so is everything else in the area.

Room Tip: Book a room on the preferred side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is my dream spot for a romantic getaway, especially if you choose one of the log cabins overlooking the water. The setting is utterly gorgeous, and their restaurant is spotless. The buffet breakfast could use some work, but their a la carte menu compensates very, very well. The food is fresh, well-prepared, and served hot by a dedicated server who clearly knows her business. She provided us a selection of jam and marmalade in little jars, and urged us to take some of the unopened ones home with us. She was prompt in pouring excellent hot coffee, and the price for the fare was actually quite reasonable. I cannot recommend this place enough, and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have just returned from our third trip to the magnificent Post Hotel & Spa in the extraordinarily beautiful Canadian Rockies. For us, the experience combines the best of nature with the art of caring for people at the highest level. The hotel is set on beautiful grounds alongside a rushing river. The rooms are beautifully appointed, many with stone fireplaces, balconies, spectacular views and thoughtful, well planned amenities. Individual cottages along the river are also available. The service from a largely international staff is impeccable. The food and wine are second to none. The wine cellar is legendary and one of the top in the world. In addition to the main dining room, the Outpost Pub offers absolutely excellent food in a more casual setting. We love the roaring fire in the Bar area and the fresh flowers which abound everywhere. There is such attention to detail here and the entire hotel and grounds are immaculately maintained. The Post Hotel offers so much and the Front Desk staff are so very helpful in planning excursions. We love the Spa too. For me there is nothing like greeting the day with breakfast in the Dining Room - with crisp linen, crystal, silver, fresh squeezed orange juice, and a choice of delicious breakfast foods. One recommendation: the Eggs Benedict - perfectly poached eggs with a silky hollandaise sauce. Now that's perfection on a plate. The special homemade, flavorful and crusty rye bread is not to be missed. To be at The Post Hotel is a special and elevated experience in a comfy and pampering environment. Quality all the way - simply the best. We are already making plans for our next visit.

Room Tip: Call ahead and speak to the helpful Front Desk Staff - there are such choices of accommodations - ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Firstly, let me just clarify. I honestly think the view of Lake Louise is one of the most, if not the most stunning vistas I have ever seen. It's worth (in my case) the flight to Canada alone. However, the town that has built up around this natural wonder is an incredibly efficient well oiled machine designed to part you with your cash. Everything here, from hotels to restaurants is four times the price of everywhere else.

This hotel is very good, although not worth the price. Service is very good and the fitness centre and indoor pool are superb. The fireplace in the room is lovely and the bathroom is excellent. As is the view of the mountains from the room.

In terms of negatives (other than the price, which is not particular to this hotel, it's the town generally) are that it's right by the railway line which is incredibly noisy and wifi in the rooms is terrible, to the point of useless. You would have thought at these prices they would invest in a decent wifi network.

In conclusion, lovely hotel, but you're better off staying in Banff and day tripping up to Lake Louise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Post Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel & Spa

Address: 200 Pipestone Rd, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Post Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.