We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience @ L/Louise Inn - good alternative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Louise Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Louise Inn to your Saves list
Lake Louise Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   210 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0E0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Dubbo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good experience @ L/Louise Inn - good alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We only stayed 1 night on route to Calgary. The king room is pretty good value and the hotel is clean with friendly staff. First snowfall of the season today, lots of tourists but it still felt like a quiet place as it's fairly big. Had a good experience at the restaurant as well, with good wait staff, food & prices. They suggested we take the uneaten pizza with us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    307
    277
    180
    127
See reviews for
296
436
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you are headed to Banff and cannot stay at the Chateau on the lake, Lake Louise Inn could be a nice alternative. Just off the freeway (a bit of freeway noise can be heard at night in the rooms on the north side of the property--ask for a room closer to the Lodge), it is easy to get to from Calgary or other places. Very nice room, once we were able to get in! Doors open outwards, not inwards, which was a surprise and no one suggested it. Had to get someone from the office to let us in! Room was very cozy and warm, looked out over pine and fir under a snow cover which was gorgeous. Large bathroom, nice furnishings and a balcony. Only 20 minutes from Lake Louise on a very well-groomed road. Spent lots of time at the Chateau as well, in rooms which were gorgeous! But the Inn was nice as well. Saved hundreds of dollars. Town is small, but has restaurants and grocery and gift shops. Only 36 miles from the town of Banff, which was very fun to visit and walk up and down the streets and shop in touristy places.

Room Tip: Stay as close to the Lodge as the road can get noisy and you can hear it through the doors in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cadiz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in july this summer. We had 2 rooms so i feel i can speak about the cleaniness or lack of it. The hotel is dirty, on arrival the garbage bin at the front door was full to overflowing and the glass on the front door was filthy with grease and hand prints. For the three days we stayed the garbage just mounted up and the door was never cleaned. The breakfast staff uniforms were so dirty, there aprons were caked in grease and dirty. I noticed all the staff wore uniforms that were not ironed. The rooms were surface clean. The carpets in the rooms were just plain dirty and smelt dank. A real shame as the hotel could be such a joy to stay in if only it was clean.

Room Tip: the rooms in the main building are cleaner that those outside in the separate buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Come to Good, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our first trip Banff National Park. The area is absolutely beautiful. We stayed at this location because this is where our meeting were. I believe we had a superior suite. The ammenities in the room were great. We had a full kitchen, living room, and a gas fireplace. The room was clean and quiet.

We did have a few issues. After traveling over 12 hours, we were ready to get unpacked and settled in our room. After making three trips to the front desk because the key would not work, maintenance had to open our room and reprogram the lock. The bathroom was very small. There was no counter space for toothbrush, makeup, etc. I would sit on the couch in the living room and do my makeup. The room had a odor. The sliding screen door had large holes in it, so we could not leave the door open to let fresh air in. We were surprised to see a murphy bed in our room. We did sleep very well, but beware of the corners. I did bang my foot into it one morning. The shower was awesome. Great water pressure and hot, hot!! It was nice to have a kitchen as there were many mornings we left the hotel early to photograph the sunrise. We ate at all three restaurants on site. All three had excellent food with good service. The hot tub and pool area was very nice.

We felt the Lake Louise area, as a whole, was very expensive. We did check on the prices of a few other hotels in the area. One of the locals, working at another hotel in the area, said it like this, "The Lake Louise Inn is one of the better ecomony hotels in the area." We intend to visit this area again next summer, and will consider staying here again. I want the best value for my money. My reasoning for coming back to this area is to enjoy the beautiful scenery and hike the trails, not sit in the hotel and watch TV.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were foolish not to book ahead and investigate our options fully , lesson learnt!. We had checked in here because we had already checked 2 other places and they could not fill our needs for a family of four in 1 room . The room was small , very hot and I could not get the cooling to work . initially when I sat on the bed , I thought oh this isn't too bad , but as the evening wore on I realised this was because the very hefty douvet was masking a real problem. The beds were an absolute nightmare - which ironically I would have been pleased to have because it would have meant I was at least asleep. Every move you made resulted in another spring slowly grinding it's way into your spine. I would have been better throwing the douvet on the floor and slepping on that . Never again would I stay here. The staff themselves are freindly and efficient , check in and check out was smooth. The meal we had was very nice and reasonable value . Lake Louise is an amazing place and this hotel is in a lovely spot covering well kept grounds with delightful paths winding their way through the various buildings. much of the decor in the hallways is dated and in need of some work . the room we had looked as though it did have some work done on it recently . the drapes and soft furnishings were lovely and the bathroom was a good size and a really good shower with plenty of hot water ( which i used to massage the many knots and kinks in my spine ) I think they may be better spending some money on really good beds and sacrifice the soft furnishing for the time being . You can live with 80's decor as long as you can get a decent nights sleep. overall very dissapointed by this

Room Tip: ask to check the bed first for comfort , they may have better beds in some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hams
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed during the week 14th September. Conveniently located for Lake Louise and the rooms we had were of an acceptable standard, but faced inwards to the indoor swimming pool which required drawn curtains and lights on to ensure privacy and ability to read etc.

We ate at the downstairs restaurant for a buffet supper and breakfast the following day, both of which were of a very poor standard. Food lukewarm when accessed from the heated containers
and the desserts were very obviously inexpensive gateaux quality. Very insulting to the guests as assume the management have no interest in pleasing short stay guests. but opt to feed a roomful of people as cheaply as possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

pictures etc decieve on the net..entering the reception was very nice and recieved a warm welcome.entering our room my wife sat on a bed and it flicked up (before any comment my wife is petite so there).after reporting we had to wait 40 minutes before getting dealt with so left to stand around..we were in a superior room which was a bit musky and stains on the carpet but coming in from outside straight onto it is understandable if people dont take their shoes off...it could do with some brighter decor and the guy whom brought us a new room key wasnt impressed with the place..the block across the way was worse so he said,people were asking to be moved...we accepted a $25 per person dinner,all i can say is in 6 years ive never heard my brother complain about food,three of us left the cslvsry sfter a couple of bites,under cooked and cold beef etc,maybe you like it like that,its an opinion of choice..,my wife found the salad ok (a salad for $25?)
my sister in law complained about the food and value for money..eventually they gave us a breakfast(which was nice,different chef )they say others dont complain,maybe to busy running to the toilet to stop.
lake louise itself is a great place to visit..i wont say dont stay here but theres better across the way..all except the dining manageress all the staff were very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: buy a tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Louise Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Louise Inn

Address: 210 Village Road, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Louise Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Louise Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Lake Louise Resort
Lake Louise Bed Breakfast
Lake Louise Hotel Banff
Inn Lake Louise
Lake Louise b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Louise Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.