We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Addams Family Holiday Home” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Deer Lodge to your Saves list
Deer Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Addams Family Holiday Home”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

Deer Lodge Lake Louise. Well what can I say about this hotel? I have heard about 4A hotels but this was more like a 7D hotel
D - dark
D - dingy
D - dreary
D - dilapidated
D - dirty
D - diabolical
D - down right dangerous.
a) We arrived, via the back door (the only entrance). The steps down were broken and uneven and there was a whole in the concrete paving you could have lost a small child down.
b) The reception area was dark and unwelcoming as were the staff. Once we had checked-in and before we even saw the room the receptionist was insistent that if we wished to eat in the dining room that night it was necessary to make a reservation. She was quite pushy about this. Later on that evening we looked into the dining room and there was only one couple there.
c) The room they showed us was tiny. One double bed that you could barely walk round and a table a chair that looked like had been purchased at a garage sale. They told us most emphatically that this was their superior grade of room. (I dread to think what their basic room looked like!). Needless to say this was unsatisfactory. We were advised that they were trying to
‘re-create lodge living of the 1920s’!!!!!! hence the style of the accommodation. We were offered an alternate room in the new part of the building. This alternative room was more like the standard that I would expect in North American hotels.
Although I say this room as acceptable (we were only staying one night) it still had many faults, .................. to name but a few
Large dirty stain on carpet
Floor lamp only worked if you held onto the switch
Lot of mould on the bathroom tiles
Soap-dish was rusty and cover in mildew
Bathroom ceiling cover in a lot of damp spots
Room did not lock from the inside. There was however a safety chain but as ladies traveling alone this did not fill us with any confidence.
d) The main lounge and dining looked fairly respectable however the rest of the public rooms in the hotel were definitely from the Victorian era; the piano room was a joke, the Lady Agnes Room (where breakfast was to be served) was painted in dark blue and the tables and chairs looked was through then can from a factory cafeteria. There certainly was no sign of comfort or ambience here, not even table covers.
e) The corridors were ill lit, dark and dreary. A preverbal ‘rabbit warren’ with corridors and stairs leading off in all directions. A point of safety here……….. all fire doors were pinned open.
Didn’t take breakfast here (by this time I was already searching my bags for the anti-depressant pills!) so can’t comment on the quality of food.

I have seen better back packers’ accommodation.

The one good thing about this hotel is its location, only a hundred meters from Lake Louise. Other than that the best way I can describe it is the holiday home of the Addams Family!!!!!

Keep clear of this dreary place.

  • Liked — Nothing other than proximatey to Lake Louise
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    241
    188
    155
    118
See reviews for
115
469
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

We have just spent one night at Deer Lodge. The twin bedded room we were given was more like very basic hostel accommodation. It was so small that we only had room for one of our suitcases!.The furnishing were dark,old and basic. The mosquito netting on the window had gaps all around it. The manager did give us another, not much larger room ,when we pointed out that we had in fact reserved a king size bed. He said he wanted us to be satisfied.The food in the restaurant , however, was first class.

  • Liked — The restaurant meal
  • Disliked — Basic accommodation, dark cororidors, lack of refurbishment
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRMarketing, Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I take comments such as these very seriously and please feel free to contact me directly at 403-522-4203 or email me at dlmanager@crmr.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

This place is tired, worn out and poorly maintained. We complained about the size of the room we had been given for three nights - only just big enough for the two single beds - and were promised a better room the next day. We had an overpriced meal in the restaurant - more expensive than anywhere else in Canada - which we sent back because it was cold. The cocktails were also expensive, hyped up and lacking in alcohol.
We suffered a disturbed night in this hotel that's advertised as a 'quiet retreat', there was partying until three am and early risers moving suitcases from six am. When we went to reception to arrange our room change, we were met with a surly manager who told us the central booking system had priority and there were now no other rooms. We complained and checked out after filling in a feedback form. We are seeking a refund. There was a collapsed drain on the ramp into the building; dangerous and unsightly, cola cans in the car park, no tea or coffee facilities, an open wardrobe with four hangers and a tiny bathroom.
This is a rip-off - suggest you don't go there!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Dingy and cramped - surly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARNSLEY ENGLAND
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

Staying for only one night in Lake Louise we were pleased that the hotel was so near to the Lake.
The hotel has some great features, and is classy in parts and tired in others.

Our room was small but o.k. with a great view.

Our concern with cleanliness after having read comments on tripadvisor were unfounded. Everything in our room was spotless.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — some parts of hotel need refurbishment
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

Deer Lodge is in desperate need of renovations. We stayed in a lodge room and paid for an upgrade to a larger room, but our room was still tiny and not worth the 200 dollars a night price tag. You are definitely paying for the location and the mountain view from the hot tub (which was one of the only good things about the Lodge). The carpets in the hallways of the building look like they have not been changed or cleaned for far many years. Our room itself was shabby and the bathroom looked dingy and dark with terrible tiles and mold in the corners of the walls. Worst of all, the water in the shower would switch from warm to scalding hot or freezing cold for no reason at all. When we notified the front desk, they told us there was nothing they could do because it was a very old building with old pipes and the whole place was like that, including staff quarters.

For an added 100 dollars a night, you can stay in a beautiful, clean and tastefully decorated cabin room at Moraine Lake Lodge (just 10 minutes down the road) with beautiful views of the lake and the Ten Peaks. That is where we will stay next time, and will never go back to Deer Lodge. It's a shame, because the Deer Lodge has so much potential to be a lovely and comfortable place to stay in Lake Louise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

If you're looking for a good website designer then check out the Deer Lodge hotel site. If you're after a hotel worth the money, head back towards Banff or go to the nearby Youth Hostel.

This hotel makes the most of its proximity to Lake Louise and rooftop hot-tub; I'd do the same as when we stayed there wasn't much else going for it. Our room was small by British standards, tiny by Canadian standards. Most staff seemed to be on work experience placements, with no sign of the manager that the hotel desperately needed to take charge.

Had we paid the same for this as our other accommodation in Canada we might not have been so bothered but we splashed out more cash on this in the hope that it would be special. This was the most disappointing hotel on our trip to the Rockies and Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRMarketing, Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2008
> "Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I take comments such
> as these very seriously and please feel free to contact me directly at
> 403-411-4201 or email me at dlfom@crmr.com.
>
> Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts strives to assure all our guests enjoy a
> wonderful experience and we receive many positive comments a year. Your
> experience with our rooms and pricing resulted in a negative stay and we
> would like to discuss this with you further.
>
> I look forward to discussing your concerns directly and hope to hear from
> you soon.
>
> Kindest regards;
>
> Deer Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Lovley , cosey lodge. Book a heritage room there is so much more room. Its in the grounds of the Fairmonte Hotel.
Eat at the saloon bar in the Fairmonte meals from $10.
No TV in the rooms, a great getaway.
Viv & George

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.