We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque mountain lodge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Deer Lodge to your Saves list
Deer Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Grand Manan, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Picturesque mountain lodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Deer Lodge has a lot going for it....great location, helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms and bathrooms. On-site restaurant food and service were top-notch. However, our room was very small, and the heat was on full-force, and uncontrollable. Bed was definitely not the most comfortable. It was amazingly quiet after 9:30 pm, surprisingly, because there is not a lot of noise-proofing. However, it is quaint, and the short walk to the Fairmont and the 2013 Ice Carving Festival was very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    213
    166
    145
    104
See reviews for
92
424
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular view, amazing location, beautiful space. This is the place to be in Lake Louise. Perfect for relaxing, getting away from the hustle and bustle (unlike The Fairmont), and exploring.

We came for a New Years getaway. The staff was helpful with trail maps and directions. However, as it was New Years, the lounge and restaurant were doing a set menu, which was quite expensive so we opted out.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for spending the new year with us at Deer Lodge. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the many trails around our lodge. I understand the set menu on New Year's Eve is not for everyone and hopefully you will get the opportunity to try our excellent dining room on your next visit.

Thank You,
General Manager
Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for a night just before Christmas 2012. Lots of snow; a winter wonderland. Good spot for winter activities that is less expansive than staying in the nearby Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise (and is a 5-minute walk away). If you are skiing or taking advantage of the activities on and around Lake Louise, it is a nice base. We did not try the restaurant unfortunately, as we have heard it is good. The room is on the rustic side, but for the price in that location it was fine. Hallways are a little noisy due to wood construction. Would be wonderful in the

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and for us it was enough. Don't get me wrong we loved this hotel but if you are not skiers there is not a lot to do. We came here to see snow and boy, did we get snow! It is breathtakingly beautiful and I didn't tire of looking at the scenery. It is a very short walk walk to the Fairmont which has a bit more to do there..ice skating, snow shoeing etc. We ate at the restaurant at Deer Lodge and the food was wonderful especially the Christmas dinner. It is a lovely quaint hotel and if you are into snow sports or relaxing then this is the place for you.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I recently worked out west, and decided to stay at the deer lodge before starting my work at a close hotel. The location is perfect. you dont have to spend the crazy amount to stay right on the lake with the Fairmont, when you can stay a 2 minute walk away, maybe even less at this hotel. The room that I stayed in with my mother, had 2 single beds. It was quite small really, only had the beds and the bathroom and a desk. But then i went over to my uncles room and saw how big it was. It had a nice little sitting room, and a lovely queen bed. So it all depends on what room you are looking for and how much you want to spend. Dont get me wrong, i loved our room, it was cute, but if you want something bigger it is available. We ate breakfast at the hotel as well, and it was not included, but was delicious. I had a meal that had a whole bunch of different meats to try. Yum. One thing to remember is that they always have coffee available free in a different room, so dont waste your money buying it at the restaurant. also, one of my favourite things is the hot tub. It is located on the roof outside and gives you a view of the mountains and lake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This place is a gem! Surrounded by the proverbial "Winter Wonderland" we were shown to our authentic 1920's Tower Room. No lifts but a lovely staffer bounded up the stairs with our 2 big bags. And speaking of staff we were attended to at every turn by excellent people - the 3 who looked after us were all from Australia. We parents in Australia have done a good job with our exodus of 20 something's who have migrated to Canada for the Winter work! Thanks Samantha & the boys from Adelaide. Gavin, you're doing an excellent job at Deer Lodge. Whatever you're doing, keep it up!
The rooftop spa in the minus 10 temps was a treat as well.
PS Don't come here to watch TV, there isn't any. Come for the ambience, the charm & the snow!
Cheers
Brenda & Michael Connelly

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night and enjoyed our stay. The price for accommodation was fairly high but in line with other hotels in Lake Louise. The roof top hot tub was superb and we were lucky enough to enjoy it to ourselves. We enjoyed an evening in the lounge area and ate in the bar area rather than in the main restaurant. The food options were okay with a nice informal setting. In hindsight we probably would have rather spent another night in Banff rather than in Lake Louise but in general the hotel was really nice.

Of note (which has already been mentioned) your card is charged $100 on check in to cover damages etc. This is not a financial issue for us as we know we would get it back but it does kind of leave a sour taste in your mouth when you are checking into a Lodge like this. If I was checking into a budget motel that has all kinds staying there then I could understand why this may be required, but for a decent Lodge in a National Park – come on? Really?

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.