We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Deer Lodge to your Saves list
Deer Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

About the only thing this place has going for it is location. It's right next door to the Fairmont which is right next door to Lake Louise. Otherwise, it's old and tired. And expensive. No bell service--had to drag our luggage up and down stairs. We had paid extra for one of the "renovated" rooms--I can't imagine what one of the unrenovated rooms would be like and I don't want to know. Breakfast, which is not included in the expensive room rate, was good. I wouldn't stay in Lake Louise again, I'd make it a day trip from Banff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We appreciated all feedback as it allows us to continually improve on our offering. We would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us, specifically that there was no offer to assist with your luggage as this is standard protocol at the lodge. We would encourage guests to speak with a hotel representative when booking your room to ensure the room booked does meet your requirements. Regardless we would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Manager at Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    243
    191
    157
    119
See reviews for
120
476
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Deer Lodge. The location is superb, only a short walk from Lake Louise. The building has lots of character. We were given a spacious room with mountain view. It was quiet and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast choice was extensive with a wide aray of items on the hot and cold buffet. The evening meals were also very good and again there was a wide choice on the menu. Dinner was available from early evening the lounge which particularly suited us. The lounge is in two parts, an area for relaxing in arm chairs and a dinning area with proper tables and chairs, every bit a good as the Dinning Room which opened a little later.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the lodge including dining with us on site. We do have a Lounge and Dining Room on site which serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. We hope to welcome you back again to stay in the future!
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Manager for Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Staying at this hotel was not an enjoyable experience. The hotel has a good location but that is about it. When we checked in the girl at the front desk was surly and made us feel like we were an inconvenience. The hotel itself is old and historic but has not been well maintained. There are no tv's or mod cons - but that was to be expected. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed was comfortable. The main problem was the noise. Our room was right between the wooden stairwell and the outdoor spa. So when we first checked in we had constant noise from people lugging their own gear up the stairs (no elevator) - then the spa noise kicked in. Around midnight and onwards till dawn the hotels heating system kept us awake. If it had been one constant noise we would have gotten used to it, but this kept changing between different noises so kept us awake. If I planned our trip again I would have booked somewhere else. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the lodge, and for the noise in the night. We are continually working on upgrading the lodge as it is a historical property. With the fluctuating temperatures in the fall (warmer days and colder nights) the heating system does turn on as needed to moderate the temperature in the lodge – which I believe was causing the noise disruptions. Regardless we would like to sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Should you visit again in the future we hope that your stay would be the experience that we strive to provide.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I am really surprised by the mixed reviews of this hotel. We loved it when we stayed one night in October 2012. I wish we could have stayed longer. Okay so the corridors could do with some sprucing up. But our room was gorgeous. The lounge was very charming. The restaurant was great, we had a lovely meal, very good food. It looks good from the outside too.
Service at the check in desk was excellent.
The location is great for Lake Louise. I would much rather stay at Deer Lodge than at that awful Vegas-style place.
My only disappointment is that we didn't have time to go in the hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The location and appearance of this hotel really do make for an interesting combination. The hotel is very close to the lake, ideal if you're not planning on stumping up the cash to stay in the Chateau.

The lounge and dining areas are a real treat - it was great to sit by the fire on a cold evening after a great meal. The hotels restaurant was great, the food and service were superb.

The only real negative of the hotel was the general maintenance/upkeep of the building. It's in dire need of some modernisation, the rooms are very basic and have little to no sound insulation. Any talk or running in the corridors is clearly heard from the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Two of us from Calgary stayed at Deer Lodge last weekend. We booked a double bed room for a special rate but in retrospect, it wasn't good value even at that rate. The room was so small that there was hardly any walking space around the bed. It was sparsely furnished with one dresser and a night table, not even a chair to sit on! It is obvious when a hotel is penny pinching and cutting corners to the guests' detriment. The overhead light was so dim and made the walls look a sickly green. The bathroom was also small and had no fan so the room steamed up like a sauna after our showers. Don't be fooled by the lure of a rooftop jacuzzi. The "jacuzzi' has no jets and the water temperature was lukewarm. I stayed in there a total of 5 minutes! I asked the reception whether the jacuzzi was turned on to which they replied it was but their jacuzzi doesn't have jets. I wonder why they call it a jacuzzi then? Reception seemed defensive toward any questions/comments made by guests, and unwelcoming. This is definitely not the level of hospitality that should be offered for the rates they charge. Big disappointment! There are better places to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

There was a horror movie filmed at the Deer Lodge and when walking down the dimly lit corridors of the lodge, it's hard to believe the film was fiction. As we walked down the labyrinth hallways and stairs, the place reeked of decay. The lodge was built in 1919 and you would be hard pressed to find any evidence of improvements made since that period.

Literally every thing about this place is creepy. Everything is poorly lit - likely to hide the horrors lurking in the corners. The room we had was partially under a stairwell and 100 square feet of dirt and stains. The floors buckled underneath each step and the ceiling creaked eerily as other patrons (or perhaps ghosts) moved about above us.

The hot tub does indeed have fantastic views, but you'll need the courage only a stiff drink can bring to brave the narrow stairway leading to the roof.

The restaurant was tired and dingy. Even broad daylight couldn't stop the tingle of dread creep up my spine as we sat down to eat. The food itself seemed to have been made at the same time as the hotel was build, and somehow kept in a (mostly) undead state ever since.

We ended up complaining about our room and were upgraded to a room in the new wing. This room was the one shown in the booking pictures and was definitely warm and cozy. However it was hard to shake the feeling of unease knowing that not 100 feet away, real people were being subjected to he terror if the "old wing" of the lodge. The front desk upgraded us so quickly that it seems like that is a very common and expected practice now. Seduce an unsuspecting tourist with nice pictures, then lock them in a 100 square foot cell and hope they don't complain. And if they do, quickly offer an upgrade.

So if you're unlucky enough to stay at the deer lodge, make sure to stay in one of the new rooms. And if you're in an old room... I pray for your soul.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Manager at Deer Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Deer Lodge. We would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like to assure guests that all food we serve on property is fresh, with majority of the game coming from our own farm just outside of Calgary. We would encourage guests to speak to a hotel representative when booking your room to ensure the room booked does meet your needs. We do have a variety of room categories at the lodge ranging from our standard Lodge room to our upgraded Heritage Rooms.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Manager for Deer Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Deer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge

Address: 109 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Deer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Hotel Lake Louise
Deer Lodge Lake Louise
Lake Louise Deer Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.