We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Number One Thing To Do In The Canadian Rockies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Divide Day Hikes

Great Divide Day Hikes
Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
403-522-2735
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great Divide Nature Interpretation provides informative guided hiking and snowshoeing in the Lake Louise and Banff areas. Nadine Fletcher and Joel Hagen have over 20 years experience and are certified “Master” interpreters. In summer, full day and half day walks/hikes. In winter, half day snowshoeing trips.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Beverly Hills, Michigan
1 review
“The Number One Thing To Do In The Canadian Rockies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

By far, the most exceptional experience we had on our 8 day trip to Banff was our day hike with Nadine Fletcher to the Valley of Ten Peaks above Moraine Lake. The views were breathtaking, Lake Moraine stunning, and Nadine was a complete delight. An extraordinarily knowledgeable naturalist, Nadine is charming, warm, witty and entirely unpretentious. She is a gifted teacher, who presents a wealth of information about the area flora, fauna, forest ecology and geology in creative, funny and memorable ways. Our 10 year old daughter was completely captivated -- as were we. Even after our hike was over, Nadine was generous with her time and gave us many recommendations for other Canadian Rocky hikes. Nadine was the perfect guide for the perfect hike!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Absolutely LOVED our hike with Nadine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I just spent 11 wonderful days in the Rockies, and one of the highlights was our guided hike to Eiffel Lake with Nadine. Of all of the hikes we did, I chose this one as a guided hike for one reason: BEARS! I knew that hiking from Moraine Lake we would need to be in a group of 4, and rather than risk us not being able to hook up with another couple, I decided a guided hike was the way to go. Well, was it ever! Nadine was so warm and friendly, and you can tell she absolutely LOVES what she does for a living. She had such passion for everything she was telling us that it was infectious. We learned about the wildflowers, ants, the different trees, forest regrowth and most importantly...BEARS! We didn't see any, which would have been both fun and scary, but Nadine educated us very well on what to do if we ever encounter one. She is a great guide. She went at a steady pace, especially uphill, and took frequent breaks to educate us about the environment. We sat for lunch on a hill overlooking Eiffel Lake and it was gorgeous. This hike gives you such magnificent view of the ten peaks. Everywhere you looked it was just stunning! It was considered a moderate, full-day hike. We started at 9:30 AM and were back by 4:00 PM. That may seem like a long time but I assure you, the time just flew by! I highly recommend a hike with Great Divide. You will not be disappointed. Thanks, Nadine. We'll definitely hike with you again if we ever get back to the Rockies! :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFlagens, Owner at Great Divide Day Hikes, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for this great review! We hope we do see you again here. Happy trails, Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great family hike with Joel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We went to Saddleback Pass with Joel. Kids(son 11+ and daughter 9) were dreading the "long" hike (7+ km and 2000 ft elevation) but Joel went at a steady pace which was good for all of us and we took frequent short breaks. The explanations about the fauna and flora was interesting for everyone and captivated the children who didn't complain once during the whole 5 hours. Quite a few things (e.g. where we would see a pika, where there had been an avalanche or a fire, amazing characteristics of plants and animals) would have escaped our attention had we been on our own. This was definitely our most interesting hike and well worth it, thank you Joel!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful guided hike of Emerald lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a week's vacation in Lake Louise, Alberta Province, Canada. One of the great attractions was a half day hike around the beautiful Emerald Lake in Yoho National Park about a half hour drive from Lake Louise. Our guide was Nadine Fletcher co-owner of the Great Divide Day Hikes based in lake Louise. The hike lasted four hours but the time went by quickly since it was so enjoyable. The lake itself and the surrounding mountains offer spectacular views but having Nadine describe in great detail all of the flora and fauna made the hike even more memorable. Nadine is truly very knowledgeable about nature in the Canadian Rockies. She not only knew about every tree, every flower, every bush, every bird, etc. we saw but also expounded about the environment, the climate, the geology and how the mountains were formed millions of years ago. Even before we reached Emerald Lake while following her in our rental car along the road to the lake from the Trans Canada Highway (Route 1) she pulled over and led us about 40 feet from the road to see and learn about a plant with a very beautiful red flower it being one of the last of its species still blooming. Besides explaining about everything in the environment Nadine also had a folder with pictures of the animals that inhabit the area so we could learn about them even though we did not see them personally. We did see a Wood Frog which caused Nadine to relate an amazing story that in order to survive the long winter the frog completely stops its metabolism becoming essentially an inert block of ice for several months. In addition to her extensive knowledge Nadine also had a very engaging personality telling stories with a lot of humor. By the time our hike ended we felt we had found a dear friend and left her with a grateful hug. At the end we had a nice lunch at the Emerald Lake Lodge. Nadine said that Yoho, the name of the national park we were visiting, means WOW in the language of the Cree Indians who once inhabited the area. Our experience of the guided hike can best be described in one word, YOHO.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“How to enhance a fabulous mountain hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Have someone accompany you who has extensive knowledge of the natural and human history, flora, and fauna of the area. Be sure they are warm, friendly, and humorous. They must also be attentive to your individual interests and physical capabilities. Combine those with some of the most spectacular mountains on earth and you have a hike with Joel or Nadine of Great Divide!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Divide Day Hikes also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Great Divide Day Hikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Divide Day Hikes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.